Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thingamabobber

Fly-fishing strike indicators that cast easier, float higher, attach quicker, and stay in place and afloat! Thingamabobbers are super sensitive to detect the subtlest of strikes Super light. ¾" diameter ideal for short line, light line, and up to moderately heavy nymph rigs. 1" diameter ideal for heavy nymphs, big water. Revolutionary trapped-air technology. 9-piece assorted set includes three each of ½", ¾", and 1" indicators. Assorted colors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
41 of 45(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thingamabobber
Review 1 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best indicator,
March 15, 2014
By: willjon
from Carrphilly
"These are good value for money, easy to attach/move, highly visible and very sensitive. By far the best indicators currently available"
Review 2 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent indicators,
January 20, 2014
By: flymann
"Easy to install, move and remove. Works great...visible and durable."
Review 3 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There are other options...,
June 14, 2013
By: Bravocrossing
from Wessex, UK
"I bought this as a nymphing aid on chalkstream, allowing me to see the line but also regulate the depth of the nymph in the water.
First thing to say is that the simple pass-the-loop-through-the-eye and over the body of the bobber isn't sufficient to prevent it slipping down the tippet and up against the fly. Some more sophisticated knotwork is needed, or blocking the hole once the line is in. Note that further up the range is a bobber which has a plastic wedge that does this - a recognition that the simple thingumabobber has a problem?
So - either buy the more advanced product or put a large dry fly where the bobber is and increase your chances of a take?"
Review 4 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy purchase,
April 4, 2013
By: KevC
from Louisville, KY
"This pack of Thingamabobbers arrived as scheduled. This was my first Orvis on line purchase and it will not be my last. Honestly , I have not had a chance to try thingamombobbers out but they look like they will do fine. I saw a fellow fisherman using these and was impressed by the performance he was experiencing as far as howhigh they rode in the current as opposed to my yarn type indicators."
Review 5 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Get the Jam Stop Version,
March 25, 2013
By: JohnJA
from California
"I started using these two years ago when we had high water in the Sierra far into the season. It is a great indicator for fast water, and I could use the smaller size when using my ultralight rods with small nymphs. The only problem is that they don't stay put on the line. The tend to slide down a bit. The manufacturer must of figured this out. Now they make a Jam Stop version. I plan on picking some up. I'm confident the new version will work quite well."
Review 6 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product,
November 12, 2012
By: ranger3484
"Overall great product. It's a little heavier and what I normally use (foam float), but is nice to be able to install and take off without cutting all your terminal tackle off."
Review 7 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
October 15, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Best indicator out there. Very sensitive, floats high, light, and easy to cast."
Review 8 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seem to work pretty good,
August 24, 2012
By: JMS43
from Westchester, ny
"Just got these, they seem to hold in place, and are easy to move or remove. So far so good."
Review 9 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thingamabobber,
July 11, 2012
By: LeeJ5905
from Oklahoma
"Great product for slow and fast streams. I used the smaller sizes for slow and the larger for fast flowing streams."
Review 10 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent product,
May 23, 2012
By: Flyangler03748
from Enfield, NH
"Decent product. Makes nymphing much easier and even better as sundown approaches. HOWEVER...I've lost numerous flies and thing-a-ma-bobbers over the last week (since I purchased these) due to my line snapping where the thing-a-ma-bobber was attached. If you don't lash it down good it slides with slack causing variations in depth while fishing."
Review 11 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
April 23, 2012
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"These indicators really are great, but not perfect for every application. I tend to only use them on Fluorocarbon Leaders, as using weaker leaders WILL result in kinks in the leader that may or may not be able to be straightened, and may even weaken the leader some.
Some workarounds I've come up with to get around kinks are to slip them on the line and pin in place with a piece of toothpick (the newer versions of thingamabobbers come with a plastic pin!), or else take some Mono line and tie it into a small loop via blood knot. Then I slip the loop over the indicator. I then take the other end and loop it through the eye of the leader. You can't move the indicator doing it this way, but it works great for deeper pools."
Review 12 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Strike Indicator,
February 14, 2012
By: LMartin
from Pennsylvania
"Light, easy to cast, sensitive, this is one of the best SI's ever created."
Review 13 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ehh,
January 23, 2012
By: HikeFish
from Trout streams
"They work as described. Small are the way to go. Larger sizes can help you snap light tippets. Bought these for older students who's vision was not perfect when watching for trout strikes. They did the job. Small are perfect when the job calls for it."
Review 14 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality at fair price,
January 17, 2012
By: Pttsburghonthefly
"no reason not to pick up a package or two of these to have in your vest/pack.
well made, great price
"
Review 15 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thingabeliever,
January 12, 2012
By: caintgitenuff
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Being a dyed-in-the-wool "yarn chucker", I was a little reluctant to try these indicators. These Thingamabobbers are great! They are easy to put on your leader, easy to move up and down for varying water depths, need no floatant and they don't sink. What's not to like?"
Review 16 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indicator to see,
January 11, 2012
By: Stroker
from Henry's Fork, ID.
"I buy the pack of 9 for the verity
is great. The smallest I use on very slow water. The largest I will use in big water rapids. This package is great for the whole year.
"
Review 17 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stop kidding yourself,
January 11, 2012
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"I have tried all the "normal" indicators; the purist's yarn, pinch-ons, cork w/rubber band... These Thingamabobbers are the simplest to use, quick, and last a long time. I use the small ones in subtle colors for trout in all but the smallest streams in the east. Jump right up to the large for steelhead in big water with a lot of split shot. They stay in place, are easy to move, and don't sink. Oh, and they weight almost nothing and don't take on water so casting is not effected as much as other indicators.
I really mean it, I just cant figure out why you would use anything else as your main indicator. (Maybe in ultra small water, but then why use an indicator!)"
Review 18 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best indicator period,
January 3, 2012
By: steelheading
from Pacific Northwest
"Performs great and with all the different sizes, every situation is covered!"
Review 19 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
December 31, 2011
By: FlyFisher25
"I used these for steelhead fishing on 20 Mile Creek, North East PA and on the Falling Spring Creek, Chambersburg, PA. The assortment gave me the advantage to change sizes as needed."
Review 20 for Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
almost perfect strike indicator,
December 30, 2011
By: txdad2002
from Houston, TX
"I've always loved thingamabobbers because they interfere the least with casting. This size is really perfect for light nymphing. I gave four stars instead of five because this version does not have the "plug-in" type line stopper. When you set the depth shallow with a light leader it will slip a bit without the line stopper. Still a great indicator!"