Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper

This jumper style has been long favoured for its handsome, masculine looks and universal comfort-perfect for strolling the grounds on cool days. Thanks to fine merino wool, it's also remarkably soft and comfortable. There is no substitute for merino wool. Merinos are regarded as having the finest and softest wool of any sheep in the world. The jumper is accented in washable genuine leather with shoulder patches, elbow patches, and zip trim. Quarter-zip styling offers the ability to vent the jumper depending on activity level. Waist, sleeve, and neck are ribbed for a finished fit. Merino wool/acrylic. Washable. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.366 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
0
32 of 41(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Review 1 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Choice,
June 12, 2014
By: JonM
"I am happy that I purchased this sweater. It is classy-looking and made well. The patches on the shoulders and elbows match the green color well and add to the quality of the garment. I am well satisfied with the purchase of this sweater."
Review 2 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Buy,
May 5, 2014
By: Maury
from Anchorage, Alaska
"This is a well made and handsome sweater. Runs true to size and the green color is right on. It is warm and comfortable to wear. Looks great and draws complements. A quality but."
Review 3 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
April 29, 2014
By: cdwesq
from Dover, NH
"The sweater is everything I wanted. Awesome green color and leather patches. Sturdy construction."
Review 4 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
April 9, 2014
By: Pappyz
from Cedar Grove WI
"I purchased the blue version of this sweater. Its perfect for the brutal Wisconsin winters. Outstanding craftsmanship and detail.. I received lots of comments on how great it looked. It works well with jeans or dress pants. When I saw the green version on sale it was only logical to add it to my wardrobe. I'm sure I will get years of service from both of them."
Review 5 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice sweater,
March 7, 2014
By: ClassicBimmerDriver
from Charotte, NC
"Even before opening it, my first impression was how heavy the package was. This is a substantial sweater. There are several things about it that I like very much, the first being the fit. It is broad at the shoulders without feeling snug while at the same time narrow at the waist so as to perfectly hold the garment just below the belt line. The 51% wool, balance acrylic fiber blend lends some weight to it, but on the first late winter evening that I wore it outside, it did its intended job under my black leather sport coat as the sun dipped below the horizon. Secondly, the styling is really cool. The four patches on the shoulders and elbows ar very high quality, buttery soft leather. They provide just the right touch of panache without being ostentatious. And lastly, I have to say I'm thrilled with the overall quality as well as and the uniqueness of the garment, right down to the micro-font sized word "Orvis" on the zipper pull."
Review 6 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
February 15, 2014
By: nikki44444
"I got this for my husband for Valentine's Day and he loved it. Very classy."
Review 7 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not exactly,
February 7, 2014
By: Livindadream
from Vienna VA
"While the quality and general style are vintage Orvis, the leather patches are shiny and look cheap. They are a distraction, not a style enhancement, IMHO. Will return it this weekend."
Review 8 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NICE SWEATER,
January 27, 2014
By: Outdoor4Life
from Ohio
"This is a very well made heavy duty feeling sweater. The sizing is a great fit. I'm giving it 4 stars do to the color...Way Off on the forest green, more like an olive/sage ! Can't comment on the durability, it's new. Shoulders seem a little high but will probably flatten out with use. Overall I would consider purchasing again."
Review 9 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of all sweaters,
January 20, 2014
By: Aurobindo
from Lorton, VA
"This is the best of all the sweaters I have. First I had navy and like it so much I purchased the second one. It has very unique design and fits me perfectly. It is very smooth and warm that you don't need any jacket over it. Thank you Orvis,"
Review 10 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fab Quarter Zip!,
January 5, 2014
By: BigJimmy
"Best quarter zip sweater - high quality, durable, good looking, great price."
Review 11 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome,
December 30, 2013
By: ace66
from virginia
"Good Looking sweater with a mix of acrylic for good bounce and less pilling. Fits true to size, but a bit larger in the shoulders due to the leather patches (almost a padded shoulder effect). . Both colors are very nice. The blue is more like a steel grey blue. Leather patches are high quality."
Review 12 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater ever,
December 20, 2013
By: Regimente
from Upland, Ca
"The sweater is a beautiful tight and heavy knit. Strikingly beautiful and makes a wonderful gift."
Review 13 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wrong Color,
December 18, 2013
By: Stove
"I had to return. It was pictured in the catalog as forest green. The sweater arrived in a sage green, not what was pictured in the catalog. I bought a different sweater in the right shade."
Review 14 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 17, 2013
By: Fatherknowsbest
from Maine
"This sweater is comfortable, fits true to size and looks great."
Review 15 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this sweater!,
November 29, 2013
By: Oxy65
from Duarte, CA
"Not a lot to say: looks great, fits like it should. I got it in blue which I think will go well with about anything. It is a very dark navy blue almost black. A warm sweater is a necessity here in chilly Southern California. Yesterday it never got out of the mid 60s."
Review 16 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
November 29, 2013
By: Paul444
"Great gift, full of quality and history. My friends will enjoy this very much"
Review 17 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice sweater,
November 28, 2013
By: walleyeslayer
from Mason City, Iowa
"Bought this for a very fussy brother-in-law, its his favorite sweater now!!"
Review 18 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Better Sweter,
November 8, 2013
By: GTofNH
from Laconia, NH
"This is one of the products that looks as good, if not better, when it's worn than the catalog picture (definitely masculine). It's a little heavier than I expected but it's warm and comfortable. However, I recommend a light long sleeve under layer. I usually fall between a M and a L and the M filt is perfect. Time will tell about how well it holds up when worn frequently but the quality is great: Good material and leather elbow and shoulder patches."
Review 19 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Marino? Yes but only 51%\49 acrylic,
November 4, 2013
By: Scott5
"" Marino " wool is what caught my eye in the description and one of the major reasons for my purchase. When I first put it on it seemed heavier than I thought it would be and not as warm. When I looked at the label it is marked 51% wool and 49% acrylic. Just 2% more acrylic and it would have to be labeled an acrylic sweater. It was on sale and price seemed to good to be true...I should have known better. that being said I do like the styling and the fit and the color is a dark grey rather than navy indicated but it is still attractive. Wanted to use it as a heavy outdoor sweater but don't think its warm enough and wouldn't have the warmth properties wool does when wet. Disappointed. Will read more closely and call to get the exact mix of any wool garment if I order again."
Review 20 for The Quarter-Zip Estate Jumper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Do not like it at all,
August 9, 2013
By: Andycanon
from Moscow
"There are three things I don't like in this sweater: color, fabric and fit. The color is advertised as Navy Blue and I did saw this navy on the monitor. In real life it look dark gray, very dull color. The fabric is stiff, not soft at all. I have a dozen wool sweater including merino ones, all of them are soft unlike this one. But the worst of all these shoulder leather patches that makes shoulders looks square, that is really looks ugly."