Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat

Barbour waistcoats for men are tailored to fit properly and to add warmth beneath your sport jacket. 100% smooth polyamide with a handsome diamond quilt and 80-gram poly insulation. Button fastening. Two exterior besom pockets. Snap-adjustable waist cinch. Men's waistcoats in black, olive. Polyamide. Washable. Imported. Sizes: XS(30-32), S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). 24" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
19 of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Review 1 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solid product, solid customer service,
February 2, 2012
By: timbuktu
"I wear a 43R jacket and needed to exchange my original order for the xl (orvis cs was outstanding).
the piece is both warm and well made. looking forward to trying to wear it out."
Review 2 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GOOD TAILORING,
January 21, 2012
By: LONGINES
from VERMONT
"FOR ME-- BARBOUR THIS IS QUALITY -- EVEN MADE IN VIETNAM .CANT COMPARE WITH PURDEY OF COURSE - BUT IS --O.K."
Review 3 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warmth without weight,
January 11, 2012
By: bgreig
from Texas
"Barbour makes several vests and waistcoats as well as jackets from light, quilted material. This is one I can wear under a sport jacket for some extra warmth while not looking like I grabbed some of my hunting clothes on the way to the office. It is well made and reasonably priced."
Review 4 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Truth -- Absolute,
December 31, 2011
By: 213DAFS
from Topeka, KS
"This is fine garment with one exception, namely, it is too short.
If you are over 5' 5" tall you are wasting your money on this vest.
Mine is on its way to the charity bin."
Review 5 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic Waistcoat is a hit with my son.,
December 27, 2011
By: summer33999
from Massachusetts
"My NYC son (33) is very particular about his clothes, preferring vintage/classic looks. I emailed him another Orvis vest as an idea for his Christmas present but he quickly said that he wanted this tailored waistcoat. .He wears a Medium but we (his family) thought this Medium was cut a little small, especially under the arms. He happened to like the snug fit and thought the Large would be too baggy. My suggestion would be to go with a Large if you don't have a very slim, tapered build. My son loves the look and the light weight of the waistcoat and feels it will be a favorite layered under his winter cardigans."
Review 6 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Fit,
December 24, 2011
By: TSSCI
from Washington, DC
"The vest fits true to size and provides good warmth under both a International Motorcycle jacket and the Bedale and Beauforts.
A bit pricey, but what can I say?
"
Review 7 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and light,
December 19, 2011
By: Bron
from New York
"This is a great waistcoat. The material is just the right thickness for layering and feels great. Top notch quality and fit-and-finish too.
I like my purchase so much. I even received a compliment on one the other day.
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
English Excellence,
December 13, 2011
By: Plosch
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I ordered this waistcoat based on some previous reviews I read about it. I spend a lot of time outdoors, and Colorado gets pretty cold in the winters. This waistcoat has been great. It is warm, durable, and sporty. The size is true, so no need to order a size larger."
Review 9 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can't go wrong,
November 21, 2011
By: taxidog
"barbour makes good products and stands behind them if you have trouble later. a vest i had by them came apart and they repaired it at no cost to me."
Review 10 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Vest,
September 2, 2011
By: NOVA
"As others have noted, the fit of this vest is tailored. It fits true to size, but some might find it a bit short. I personally find the length to be spot on. The back snaps are a good touch to modify the fit through the middle. So far, the vest has held up well and the construction suggests it will be around for years to come."
Review 11 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Must be short,
September 1, 2011
By: Westall
"I'm 6'3" and this product just isn't meant for a tall person. It is a great vest but just not meant for someone over 5'9" - even going up a size didn't help with the length. Wish Orvis would carry a larger selection of products in tall sizes."
Review 12 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
February 14, 2011
By: RLMcKee
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I've had this waistcoat for about a year now. At first, I loved it - but the binding/edging tape used has shrunk so much, it bunches up the vest so it looks far more bulky than it is, makes the back of the vest hunch up very unattractively, and curls up the bottom. Since the tape goes all the way around the edges, the whole thing now looks misshapen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 1, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review—these hard-working folks are always striving to improve our products, and comments such as these help guide that process. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any purchase; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis items.
Review 13 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Quality,
January 2, 2011
By: Shooter60
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I shot pheasants in Scotland in December and this vest added the extra warmth needed on cold days. It lives up to Barbour's usual high quality. It's also very smart looking and I wear it with a sportcoat, as well. After washing it hold its size and shape."
Review 14 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As usual, Barbour does the job...,
December 30, 2010
By: freddd
from Maryland, USA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I first got to know Barbour clothing in the UK many years ago. I figured that no one knows how to make clothes for rotten weather better than the Brits, who have plenty of it. I was right, especially as to Barbour. My first jacket took me through briers in the hunting field, not to mention several trips to Bosnia, and I was very sad when it got beyond repair and finally had to be abandoned. Although times have changed, Barbour's quality has not. This waistcoat is an excellent example - a simple and practical garment. Note that it may be a fairly tight fit for you, even though Barbour tends in general to fit loosely for the stated size. In the case of this vest, though, you should expect a fairly tight fit, for that is what "tailored" implies, no?"
Review 15 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Small,
December 10, 2010
By: Carrera911
from Maine
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I ordered an XL and it was too tight, too short. Read the discription ...it is 24" long. That's too short for my use.
I ordered an exchange for the Barbour Polarquilt Waistcoat and that fits the bill."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 17, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the Barbour Tailored Waistcoat didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. Of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases
Review 16 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUst arrived,
June 23, 2010
By: Scimitar
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just received my waist coat here while on vacation in the US, it looks great. My wife likes it on me. Its a great piece when one wants to layer cloths for warmth but without the bulk. It arrived in its original Barbour plastic bag."
Review 17 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Barbour Qualithy,
February 4, 2010
By: JSquared
from Warner Springs, CA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Like just about everything Barbour makes this is a high quality waistcoat with superior attention to detail. It's comfortably warm, can be worn with jeans or a Sportcoat (I wear them both at the same time) and fits like it's custom made for me (L). Not for layering over a bulky cable knit sweater, but perfect over a turtleneck or collared shirt. The olive is dressy in a English gentleman's way and I love the Barbour logo on the buttons. $100 isn't cheap but again, it's a Barbour and worth the price."
Review 18 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just perfect,
January 15, 2010
By: Anis
from Quito
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"That it. Perfect! Nice, simple cut, light
and comfortably warm
"
Review 19 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful warmth and style,
January 4, 2010
By: RoughAcres
from NYC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love it - first received the medium as a gift, had to get the small instead - and gave the medium to a friend (reluctantly - my small hadn't yet arrived).
PLEASE do more men's clothing in small!!!!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Tailored Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very useful waistcoat!,
December 24, 2009
By: TheLoyalist
from Dumfermline, Scotland
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a very useful waistcoat, an ideal extra layer which adds warmth without weight or excessive thickness. I wear the thing most often over Tattersall shirts and under my Barbour Border, but this waistcoat looks right with tweed jackets, as well. The Barbour Tailored Waistcoat represents excellent value for town and country wear--highly recommended!"