Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tab-Top Insulating Curtains

Sewn of dense and weighty cotton duck canvas, these tab-top insulated curtains have a back that blocks cold-weather drafts and keeps summer heat out of the home, reducing energy costs. Rod-pocket accommodates a 1¾" curtain rod. Each panel is 40"W. 100% cotton face, 100% acrylic back. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
24 of 30(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Review 1 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I was Looking For,
December 8, 2014
By: CeeRL
from Newport, RI
"I was looking for Insulating Curtains to put up on two internal doors in our 150 year old drafty house. These are working beautifully, keeping heat from the fireplaces in each room, and blocking most of the chill from the cooler rooms. (And they look nice too!)"
Review 2 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical AND beautiful,
December 6, 2014
By: Shunka
from bayside, WI
"These grommet insulated curtains were a perfect solution to enhance our decor (I'm an artist FYI) and reduce our heating/air cond. costs as we live in the Great Lake region."
Review 3 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value,
October 31, 2014
By: Foxc
from Florida
"I really like the looks of the curtains. However, I had a hard time getting the wrinkles out of them."
Review 4 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the curtains,
September 9, 2014
By: Linnie71
from Ohio
"This is the second time I have ordered this style curtain. I loved the first and I love the second. Very good quality, fast delivery and I look forward to the energy I will be saving."
Review 5 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Manufacturing Defects,
June 8, 2014
By: CyndiK
from California
"Bought three sets of these curtains. Two of them had painfully obvious manufacturing defects in the fabric that are so severe the flaw can be seen from across the room when the light shines through them.
Would not recommend to a friend and am very sorry we bought them. Will not purchase from Orvis ever again for anything."
Review 6 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best curtain,
June 1, 2014
By: GoBlueMack
from South Bend IN
"I bought my first set of curtains 10 years ago. They insulated this winter's weather. They are 90% light and 50% sound block out, even when i have a migraine. They are still beautiful, still hanging, and now I get another set! Yea!"
Review 7 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome curtains I ever had!!!,
May 21, 2014
By: wenpegcas
from Wyoming
"These tab top curtains are absolutely the greatest I have ever found! My TV is on a built in entertainment center that faces my very large windows. I have tried multiple thermal curtains, but none of them compare to these. I do not have the reflection from the sun on my TV now, not only that, but the thermal is awesome and in Wyoming, that is a must!! I would and have recommended them to a lot of people. Thanks Orvis!!!"
Review 8 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great curtains,
January 15, 2014
By: RIRhody
from North Kingstown RI
"These curtains are great insulators - blocking both intense summer sun and cold winter drafts. I puchased my first set of these curtains 13 years ago and I just replaced them with a new set."
Review 9 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 22, 2013
By: upstategal
from Cambridge, NY
"When we bought our home 8 years ago, I had asked the woman where she got the drapes that were being left in the house and she said Orvis. They are so well-wearing and easy care that when we added a new room, I went looking for the same. These curtains did not disappoint, still the same quality. A real help in keeping out heat, cold and light all while looking great."
Review 10 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sage Insulating Drapes,
June 24, 2013
By: SantaBarbara
from Santa Barbara, CA
"The issue I had with these drapes was the horrendous odor. I sprayed/drenched with Febreeze and even pet deodorizer to no avail. I laundered the drapes (adding white vinegar to the detergent). Fortunately, they washed beautifully and the odor was gone. I'm happy with the drapes now, but WOW it was quite the ordeal. BTW, I just ordered another set --- I will definitely wash before hanging."
Review 11 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MONEY SAVING CURTAINS!,
January 17, 2013
By: RLGRates
from Central Region of NY
"No joke here...these curtains do save you $$$ on heating bills. I've put them on all my windows...using a simple tension rod. No more drafts and I save over 200 gallons of fuel yearly! The curtains have paid for themselves."
Review 12 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice enough but,
January 8, 2013
By: bluehills2
"Serviceable, but not best quality, a few slubs and misweaves (not intentional). Cotton-faced and insulated. I bought these at a good price or I would have considered returning them."
Review 13 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great curtains,
December 10, 2012
By: Mulluck
from Lititz, PA
"I purchased these curtains because of the price, bit I was very impressed with the quality and would recommend them to anyone!"
Review 14 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality for the price,
November 12, 2012
By: Ann69
from Boston, MA
"Curtains were a very good price. They are substantial in weight and substance."
Review 15 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best quality but alright,
October 9, 2012
By: FredandSaffie
from Baton Rouge, LA
"I got these based on their insulating properties. They are not lined, instead they have a plasticky back side that provides the black-out or cold/heat barrier.
I was going to put them in my bedroom but they are too flimsy and thin. I put them in the study instead. Wouldn't buy them again but hopefully they'll keep my study warmer this winter!"
Review 16 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durable Quality,
September 24, 2012
By: swtnjc
from Minneapolis, MN
"These curtains are very good quality, heavier thickness and durable stitching and quality. Only problem was that I sent the wrong size (had to send back to Orvis)."
Review 17 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Insulated tab top curtains,
March 18, 2012
By: Patti27915
from Outer Banks, NC
"I purchased these curtains either 6 or 7 years ago for the beach cottage. I am so pleased with how well they wash up and still look great. The insulating properties help tremendously with the heat from the sun. I'd highly recommend these curtains."
Review 18 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
November 3, 2011
By: COHA
"I'm very pleased with the curtains I purchased. The color is true to the preview color. The quality of the fabric is very nice and we've already felt the positive effect of the insulating feature. I purchased the ivory curtains. An unexpected plus is that light is softly filtered into the room when the curtains are in place."
Review 19 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great curtains,
August 5, 2011
By: gama
"Color is perfect ,price is right and the delivery was less than a week!"
Review 20 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tab Top Drapes,
May 9, 2011
By: deedeelee
"These draped appeared great until I tried to iron them. Each panel had a slight horizontal tear that was obvious as well as needle marks in the fabric. They are difficult to iron as well as the wrinkles do not come out. I was disappointed to say the least."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 14, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the drapes arrived with a slight defect in the fabric, offering a replacement or full refund. Our goal is to make sure these popular drapes are absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.