Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Tab-Top Insulating Curtains

Sewn of dense and weighty cotton duck canvas, these tab-top insulated curtains have a back that blocks cold-weather drafts and keeps summer heat out of the home, reducing energy costs. Rod-pocket accommodates a 1¾" curtain rod. Each panel is 40"W. 100% cotton face, 100% acrylic back. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
18 of 23(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Review 1 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great curtains,
January 15, 2014
By: RIRhody
from North Kingstown RI
"These curtains are great insulators - blocking both intense summer sun and cold winter drafts. I puchased my first set of these curtains 13 years ago and I just replaced them with a new set."
Review 2 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 22, 2013
By: upstategal
from Cambridge, NY
"When we bought our home 8 years ago, I had asked the woman where she got the drapes that were being left in the house and she said Orvis. They are so well-wearing and easy care that when we added a new room, I went looking for the same. These curtains did not disappoint, still the same quality. A real help in keeping out heat, cold and light all while looking great."
Review 3 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sage Insulating Drapes,
June 24, 2013
By: SantaBarbara
from Santa Barbara, CA
"The issue I had with these drapes was the horrendous odor. I sprayed/drenched with Febreeze and even pet deodorizer to no avail. I laundered the drapes (adding white vinegar to the detergent). Fortunately, they washed beautifully and the odor was gone. I'm happy with the drapes now, but WOW it was quite the ordeal. BTW, I just ordered another set --- I will definitely wash before hanging."
Review 4 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MONEY SAVING CURTAINS!,
January 17, 2013
By: RLGRates
from Central Region of NY
"No joke here...these curtains do save you $$$ on heating bills. I've put them on all my windows...using a simple tension rod. No more drafts and I save over 200 gallons of fuel yearly! The curtains have paid for themselves."
Review 5 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice enough but,
January 8, 2013
By: bluehills2
"Serviceable, but not best quality, a few slubs and misweaves (not intentional). Cotton-faced and insulated. I bought these at a good price or I would have considered returning them."
Review 6 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great curtains,
December 10, 2012
By: Mulluck
from Lititz, PA
"I purchased these curtains because of the price, bit I was very impressed with the quality and would recommend them to anyone!"
Review 7 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality for the price,
November 12, 2012
By: Ann69
from Boston, MA
"Curtains were a very good price. They are substantial in weight and substance."
Review 8 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best quality but alright,
October 9, 2012
By: FredandSaffie
from Baton Rouge, LA
"I got these based on their insulating properties. They are not lined, instead they have a plasticky back side that provides the black-out or cold/heat barrier.
I was going to put them in my bedroom but they are too flimsy and thin. I put them in the study instead. Wouldn't buy them again but hopefully they'll keep my study warmer this winter!"
Review 9 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durable Quality,
September 24, 2012
By: swtnjc
from Minneapolis, MN
"These curtains are very good quality, heavier thickness and durable stitching and quality. Only problem was that I sent the wrong size (had to send back to Orvis)."
Review 10 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Insulated tab top curtains,
March 18, 2012
By: Patti27915
from Outer Banks, NC
"I purchased these curtains either 6 or 7 years ago for the beach cottage. I am so pleased with how well they wash up and still look great. The insulating properties help tremendously with the heat from the sun. I'd highly recommend these curtains."
Review 11 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
November 3, 2011
By: COHA
"I'm very pleased with the curtains I purchased. The color is true to the preview color. The quality of the fabric is very nice and we've already felt the positive effect of the insulating feature. I purchased the ivory curtains. An unexpected plus is that light is softly filtered into the room when the curtains are in place."
Review 12 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great curtains,
August 5, 2011
By: gama
"Color is perfect ,price is right and the delivery was less than a week!"
Review 13 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tab Top Drapes,
May 9, 2011
By: deedeelee
"These draped appeared great until I tried to iron them. Each panel had a slight horizontal tear that was obvious as well as needle marks in the fabric. They are difficult to iron as well as the wrinkles do not come out. I was disappointed to say the least."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 14, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the drapes arrived with a slight defect in the fabric, offering a replacement or full refund. Our goal is to make sure these popular drapes are absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 14 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
April 22, 2011
By: villager
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I purchased 3 prs of curtains (arriving at different times because of availability) The creases and wrinkles are such that it is impossibe to remove them regardless of one's ironing skills.The material is is substandard..There are pinholes through out the material, so that when the sun is shining on them, you can see the holes clearly. If I had not spent so much time on the first pair (120"X84") trying to iron out the creases, I would have returned all the curtains
Very disappointed.
"
Review 15 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value,
April 16, 2011
By: Pokemom
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good price and value but the beige color was too yellow. I needed them lighter more of an eggshell color would be better. Hung them for about a week and had to send them back."
Review 16 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the Job!,
October 8, 2010
By: WarEagle
from Roswell, Georgia
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Nice heavy weight curtains that will do the job. Not a lot of style but very functional."
Review 17 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
July 4, 2010
By: behappy
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I bought six sets of curtains for the house. At first I was delighted with the color and the warmth of the curtains, although taking out the wrinkles was a bit of challenge.
Today I was really disappointed after washing them. I've noticed some white lines on the curtains and afraid to wash the remaining curtains."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 7, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the curtains did not meet her expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these quality concerns. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 18 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice, as usual.,
December 12, 2009
By: Cordy411
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I also purchased 84" tabs for our family room. They are fabulous. Add sooooo much to the coziness we enjoy.
The 54" are of the same quality, but the color is off for our bedroom. My fault."
Review 19 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value,
November 13, 2009
By: Enapay
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered these curtains in the Terra Cotta color and was surprised and very please to see that the color was true to the color shown on the photo. The quality of the fabric is excellent. The fabric is weighty but not too heavy, just enough to know that they will last and are of excellent quality.
I've shopped around for an entire year for the right curtains and color and I've certainly found them here.
Thank you Orvis!"
Review 20 for Tab-Top Insulating Curtains
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very wrinkled,
November 12, 2009
By: chom78
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"After trying to iron, steam and any other way
I can't seem to get the wrinkles out of them,
however they do keep the room a little warmer.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer CareDecember 3, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that they were having issues removing the wrinkles from these curtains. We suggest hanging the curtains and using a wrinkle-release product to help remove the wrinkles after shipment. The insulation of these curtains is a feature that many of our customers have touted and we are pleased to hear that this customer has also experienced this benefit. You can always shop at with Orvis with confidence, thanks to our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.