Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater

It's the sweater that conjures up images of crackling fires and snifters of fine cognac. Knitted from a wool/nylon blend for premium warmth and long-wearing durability, this classic button-front shawl cardigan sweater for men is tailored with two lower patch pockets and detailed with faux-sueded elbow patches for a distinctive touch. Wool/nylon. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Review 1 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traditional Jumper Perfect Present,
November 23, 2014
By: TpSalt3008
from Brighton UK
"Usual yearly purchase of jumpers came across this it's perfect as great quality which always comes from Orvis. Lots of comments when worn. My favourite buy this year."
Review 2 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
November 21, 2014
By: Noodleman4
"The fit and styling are excellent along with the quality. My only grip are the bottons ( I would've preferred leather buttons ) and a hook or button to hold the shawl closed."
Review 3 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 17, 2014
By: Cincy9
from Cincinnati, OH
"I stopped at my local Orvis store to buy this sweater. They did not have it in stock. That is when I had a flashback to a time that retailers actually provided "service" to customers. My sales person, Todd, called the catalog service and we ordered one that was delivered to my home, within days. The sweater is great, fits well, looks like it was custom made. I will make Orvis a regular stop!"
Review 4 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
November 13, 2014
By: 261street
from Morristown, nj
"I ordered this sweat after looking at it in the catalogue for months. I called to discuss with a representative prior to ordering as there are 2 similar versions and I wanted to know the difference in the wool fabric. I was told that this is the "softer" better version and paid the up charge. the problem is although the sweater looks classic and refined in the photo, it is actually quite coarse and shapeless, Rather than being a dress option for a jacket, it was a rough, crude sweater. I am usually very happy with Orvis products but this needs better descriptive information. I resent that ow I have to pay to ship this item back as there are no local stores"
Review 5 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shawl,
November 12, 2014
By: Compsey
from Manchester
"Fantastic fit, great quality. Looks very impressive."
Review 6 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Sweater,
November 10, 2014
By: vistapay
"Though heavier that I thought, it will do it's job of keeping me warm, even in California"
Review 7 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband gushed,
November 9, 2014
By: Twocentsworth
from Tennessee
"My husband gushed over this sweater yes gushed. I'll look just like Rex Harrison in 'My Fair Lady'. I'm not so sure about that but it's style is a timeless classic. From the woven leather buttons and leather elbow patches to the soft wool it is exquisitely made. When you find quality such as this, the cost is a bargain."
Review 8 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy and Stylish,
November 3, 2014
By: Debadu
"Bought this sweater for my Son who is about to turn 18. Was surprised that he chose this style, but it looks great on him. It's warm, comfy and stylish."
Review 9 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
October 31, 2014
By: Jaygem
from France
"My partner described this cardigan and I thought I would never find it. He had not found it either, but when I saw this, I knew it was just right.. Then it arrived in the post and I was delighted. The quality is excellent, and the feel is very luxurious. I can't wait for Christmas as I know he will be overjoyed."
Review 10 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweater,
October 31, 2014
By: TheoleGeezer
from N.C.
"Love the sweater, but the shipping was a little steep as it came by Reg Post."
Review 11 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater could be a bit larger!,
October 31, 2014
By: Cherubino
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This is a great sweater but it's a little small for the XXL size. I have others like it made in Scotland and the XXL size is more generous. Great for casual wear at home or on weekends. Well made and good wool. Overall a very good purchase."
Review 12 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A Disappointment,
October 30, 2014
By: Terry913
from Rochester, NY
"I had been looking at this sweater
for a while, and when I received a
discount certificate, I decided to go for it.
Well, the size was correct, but the wool material was very itchy. If you are at all sensitive to rough wool, look for a different sweater. I returned this item."
Review 13 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the ticket for a cold night by the fire,
October 27, 2014
By: BigTXXL
from PA
"Nice and warm, loved the patches on the sleeves. Heavy weave just the ticket for a night by the fire with a glass of single malt."
Review 14 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hope,
October 18, 2014
By: guyinasweater
"I recently received the Oatmeal version. I really like the look and fit of this. I do find the faux suede a little thin looking. I want to keep this and also purchase in navy. However the sweater came with a oil-like odor, perhaps a cleaning agent or preservative. A bit distracting. I hope this will go away after a few wears outside in the breeze. If this is a common issue I can't recommend at this time"
Review 15 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm,
October 16, 2014
By: 2mnynotz
from Franklin NC
"My husband loves the warmth of the sweater and I like the look."
Review 16 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
October 15, 2014
By: Notch
from Alabama
"sizing is a little tight but acceptable. Sweater is exactly what I hoped it would be."
Review 17 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sweater!,
October 14, 2014
By: WillysMBMan
from Graham, NC
"Shipping was fast and the sweater looks great. Good workmanship and fit. Too warm to wear it now-can't wait for the cool weather to arrive!"
Review 18 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Good Orvis Buy,
September 19, 2014
By: KingDad
from Los Angeles, Ca
"The sweater has a good fit and the quality is outstanding. I highly recommend it."
Review 19 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Worth the Money,
September 17, 2014
By: donbo
from Long Island Motor Parkway
"This sweater is not as pictured online. Online, it looks lighter (cream) with brown specks. In reality, it's a twisted yarn with predominantly tan color, & some white.
Secondly, it's a rather itchy wool. I'm not allergic to wool, but it was rough on my skin.
Thirdly, it's not at all soft, like my other Orvis sweaters.
I sent it back for a refund, & found a much better value & a more comfortable cardigan elsewhere, for less money.
Not recommended."
Review 20 for Wool-Blend Shawl Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect bulky sweater,
January 5, 2014
By: BertramW
from Little Rock, Arkansas
"This is the warmest sweater that I own. I own several shawl collar sweaters and this is one of my favorites. I wear a medium. I am 5'6" tall with a 33 inch waist. It fits well. I do have to roll the cuffs about 2 inches (my sleeve length is 33 "). The length of the sweater is about 1 inch longer than the Orvis green lovat sweater. This is not presented as a problem but just for buyer information.I like the patches and find the pockets useful. The oatmeal color has light brown undertones. The color goes with about anything you might wear."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.