Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Pattada Shepherd's Knife

One of the most famous and useful Italian pocket knives made, handcrafted by knifemakers in the Dolomite Mountains of Maniago, Italy. Often used by Sardinian shepherds for its sturdiness and razor's-edge blade, this Pattada knife is completely handmade and its superior blade handhoned of stainless steel. Blond ox horn handle and solid steel bolsters and liners give a classic look and solid feel. Locally used for generations to carve bread, cheese, and sausage at picnics in the Sardinian forest, and to tend sheep and skin game. No lock, a true pocket knife. Genuine leather sheath.Closed length: 4¼".Opened length: 7½". with a 3¼" blade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
15 of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Review 1 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD KNIFE BUT,
December 17, 2013
By: SDDOM
from San Diego
"I was pleased with the overall quality and appearance of the knife. HOWEVER, as a knife collector I was completly turned off by the huge letters spelling ORVIS on one side of the blade. It was not shown or mentioned in the catalog or on-line. It made it look like a promotional item and not a custom Italian pocket knife. Even a small 'ITALY' stamp would have been okay. I returned the item.I think the name detracts from the value and beauty."
Review 2 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Less Quality Than Expected,
December 11, 2013
By: DoctorJoe
from Baton Rouge, LA
"This item appears to be much more substantial in catalogue than in reality. What appears to be bone in photograph, is actually plastic of some kind and the steel is very light in hand. If it weren't such a short time to Christmas, I would return it and look for a better product. Disappointing, surprisingly so, for an Orvis offering."
Review 3 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice gift,
November 15, 2013
By: bobyray
from Roseville Ca
"The knife arrived in good shape and appeared as advertised. My only dissappoinent was the :ORVIS: name stamped on the blade. Made a hand crafted Italian knife loo cheesy."
Review 4 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pattada Shepards knife,
March 12, 2013
By: PhilMc
"I was not happy.The rivets were not flush with the handle."
Review 5 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
December 29, 2012
By: JonathanC1979
"Amazing quality, bought as a gift for a boss. The boss in question spends a great deal of time in Europe and was quite pleased with the craftsmanship and the theme."
Review 6 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased two,
December 29, 2012
By: Stmimo
from Roanoke ,Virginia
"I purchased one knife as a gift and liked it so well that I purchased a second knife as a gift also . This is the second year that I purchased ORVIS knives as gifts which were received enthuiastically ."
Review 7 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
old school traditions,
December 29, 2012
By: jaguarfootball1
from new york
"amazing quilty knife ,reminds me so much of the one my Grandfather always carried"
Review 8 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most satisfied,
December 28, 2012
By: Meokiisu
from OKC, OK
"Beautiful piece! More than I expected. Fine blade and a very handsome handle. Great gift."
Review 9 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Prettier in person,
December 28, 2012
By: Princessdrew
"The knife was better looking in my hand than in the photos. My husband loves the feel of the knife."
Review 10 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
May 31, 2012
By: stewpot
from Manchester England
"A disappointing purchase.The knife was not of the quality I would expect for its purchase price,with many faults,inherent."
Review 11 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Knife,
March 6, 2012
By: KCKnives
"I really like this knife, the size, the balance but not the ORVIS on the blade."
Review 12 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Success,
January 3, 2012
By: mamadona
from Wy.
"My husband wanted a pocketknife for Christmas. He has very thrilled with this knife. It is very sharp and high quality. The handle is beautiful. He said it was a collectors item!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for !!!,
December 30, 2011
By: Boarhog
from Texas
"This Shepherd's knife is just the right knife to use for many purposes. It is well made and extremely sharp - has great sheath - and will be used in many of our fine steak restaurants to cut my steaks or thick chops."
Review 14 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great knife,
December 29, 2011
By: greenheart
from Pennsylvania
"I'm very pleased. The knife is solidly made with a nice edge. It's just the right size and heft for a working pocket knife. The leather case is very nice also."
Review 15 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disapointed,
December 27, 2011
By: PrairieTop
from Camdenton, MO
"The blade hinge pin extends past the bolsters approx. 1/32" on both sides. Polishing compound can be seen under the pin - pin isn't flush with the bolster. . . not the quality finish I expected from an Orvis product."
Review 16 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent,
March 26, 2011
By: Flyboy95
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This knife did meet my expectations in terms of the blade. My only problem with it was a little part of the handle. It seems that while choosing this horn, the maker discovered that there was a few small chunks taken out so he decided to fill them in with something which then added a bit of a rough edge to one of the sides. Other than that little flaw, which I am hoping I can rub down with use throughout the many years which I plan on using it, the knife is great. It lives up to my expectations from my past purchases. And just as a suggestion to Orvis, I would recommend another picture which shows the side which says ORVIS because when I bought the knife, I was actually hoping for no writing to be on the blade because it sort of takes away some beauty and adds some advertisement which I am not so interested in as much as plain beauty and functionality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Customer Service,
December 6, 2010
By: wcpatton
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The knife appeared used with scratches on the metallic part of the handle and appeared to have be opened and closed alot from the scratches on the blade.
Customer Service made it easy to return. Thanks!"
Review 18 for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than advertised,
August 17, 2010
By: chilira
from Chicago
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A beautiful piece and highly functional. A true pocket knife -- no locking mechanism (old school jackknife). Love this knife. High quality piece in a nice leather case."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pattada Shepherd's Knife
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2