Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat

This hat will help you stay comfortable—and dry—when weather threatens. Waxed pure cotton offers water repellency and handsome looks that only improve with use. The stretch interior headband ensures a perfect fit. Leather hatband. Men's waxed-cotton hat in dark khaki. Waxed pure cotton. Wipe clean. Imported.Sizes: M(7-7⅛). 2¾" brim.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Review 1 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the look & Love the fit,
February 6, 2014
By: Richbary
from St. Clair, MI
"I'm normally not a "hat guy" but I neede a hat to go with my recently purchased Orvis rain jacket. Not only a perfect fit, but it looks awesome. I received many compliments. Afte this, I might just become a "hat guy". Thanks Orvis!"
Review 2 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Color problem,
February 12, 2013
By: Coggs
from Dayton, Ohio
"The photo shows this hat as a beautiful tan. The hat I received is instead a dark brown. I sent it back. It turns out that the color photos on many merchant websites (and in their printed catalogues) are grossly in error these days. You'd think that after getting a lot of returns, they'd start paying attention to that."
Review 3 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It works,
December 28, 2012
By: DHMNYC
from NYC
"The hat is comfortable and keeps my head dry in a storm. The only complaint is it's asymmetry. I'm referring to the brims extra widths in the rear and relative narrowness on the sides. The differences do not appear to be particularly useful for protecting my back or sufficiently narrow on the sides to improve upward vision."
Review 4 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hat,
November 8, 2012
By: Boy1398
from Portland, OR
"It hasn't rained much yet, so I can't be sure of its water proofness, but it looks OK and doesn't fly off my head. However, I have trouble telling forward from backward. Maybe it doesn't matter."
Review 5 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Odd hat,
October 25, 2012
By: Albanypark
from Indianapolis IN
"Material was very thin, and crown was not lined (better hats of this kind may be lined). "Leather" band is not leather and does not stretch. The brim is odd - it's more ovoid than round, meaning front and back (but not sides) are extended. Might be a good idea in theory but I did not like the look."
Review 6 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
October 16, 2012
By: teacherbill
"I really like this hat and I will tell my hat wearing friends about it"
Review 7 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but ...,
December 8, 2011
By: PerfictLightning
from Calgary, Canada
"It's a nice hat and I got it on a return so the service can't be beat but ...
The description is wrong, the hat band is not leather, it's some kind of plastic, which is great for ecologists maybe, but not even because it's not biodegradable, and it kind of ruins the authenticity, I don't think it will be as durable or functional, Plastic and leather both will get wet but at least leather breathes.
The hat looks great, comfortable, proly waterproof ...
Would be 5 stars if the description matched, but just on principle I can't give it more then 3."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice hat!,
October 5, 2011
By: HDYEAGS
from PA
"My hat came and size was just right. The hat looks a little different than pictured. Has 3 stitches around brim plus the one on the outer edge of brim. Also, darker than pictured. Not sure if Orvis sent me the right hat or not? Still a nice hat."
Review 9 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat!,
August 30, 2011
By: DC50
"This hat arrived just in time for hurricane Irene. I was in and out of the weather all day and it kept my head dry as a bone."
Review 10 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
crushed,
July 22, 2011
By: Squashed
"I really like this hat.
It's an Oak Harbor, not a Cape Flattery.
It came terribly crushed and wrinkled. Though it's an informal hat, it looked terrible enough that I thought of returning it. However, since I could see the potential for this hat, I tried to work out the wrinkles, ha ha, myself. It took several days of blocking and misting, but looks quite respectful now. Should be shipped in a box.
Arthur."
Review 11 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built to Last,
October 27, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this hat about 8 to 10 years ago, and it is still in great shape. Although not as sytlish as some of the shaped hats that I have, it is great to roll up and put in your pocket when heading to a football or soccer game, or other events in rain or a chance of rain. It is stylish enough to work in social settings as well as on the river."
Review 12 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance meets style.,
April 30, 2010
By: hillbillyTJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I found this hat on sale for 29.99 and I would pay 50.00 now that I have worn it! keeps me dry all day in the wet weather and cool from the sun on hot days on the river. Comes broken in from the day you get it! on the plus side my wife says it is very handsome hat."
Review 13 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat for walking the dog in the rain !,
April 15, 2010
By: Bigduke
from Chicago, IL
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was fishing for rock bass down in Tilghman Island ...in the rain..and a friend of mine had a hat just like this. I have been looking for one like this for about 10 years. Great hat for fishing in the rain, hunting in the rain or what I do most....walking my chocolate lab in the rain. Well constructed...and it comes in an XXL size for those of us with big noggins. The XL fit me fine but I know from experience that waxed cotton usually shrinks up a bit after repeated wearings in the rain. I find the hat to be well worth every dollar I paid for it."
Review 14 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish & Dry Head,
April 13, 2010
By: Edster
from Southern Hemisphere
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Practical as it keeps your head both dry & warm if there is any wet weather around. Also looks good as a bonus!"
Review 15 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best rain hat,
April 2, 2010
By: UUarren
from Washington State
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is an interesting hat. The waxed cotton has a very different feel, somewhat stiff, than other fabrics, but is very effective in keeping dry, which is important here in the Pacific Northwest. The downside of the material is that as it crumples the wax finish along the crumple lines changes to a lighter color, so it does not have a particularly smooth appearance. The instructions that came with the hat advised touching up the wax finish but it does not appear that Orvis sells that product, so I will have to research where to buy it. As others have noted, it is on the expensive side, but all in all I think it is a decent value for what you get."
Review 16 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Disappointment Rectified,
February 18, 2010
By: Smarty
from Lutherville, MD
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased my Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat last fall and was pleased from the start. It is relaxed and reliable, like an old friend. My lady friend commented that she would like to have one. When she opened her Orvis Christmas present and the hat wasn't inside, she was truly disappointed. So, among the other presents for Valentine's Day I included the Cape Flattery hat -- much to her delight."
Review 17 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great hat,
January 10, 2010
By: jclock
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very please with the hat.I worn the hat yesterday,it was 29 degrees and the hat kept my head warm.Very comfortable after many hours of wear.Should last many years."
Review 18 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat!,
January 7, 2010
By: mlnvy
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hat was purchased for my father-in-law in England. The weather is not always cooperative when he takes his daily walks or works outside. We thought this hat might help, and we were right.
The hat is sturdy and waterproof. A bit pricey, but still worth it if my father-in-law enjoys it.
Orvis has always done a great job with outdoor gear!"
Review 19 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
December 23, 2009
By: scootersdaddy
from massachusetts
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow, great hat. Nicely constructed, my kind of shape, the size large fits me perfectly, color is superb. Even better than my old favorite, the Filson Packer hat! Can't wait for fishing in the Spring."
Review 20 for Cape Flattery Waxed Cotton Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Go to" foul weather hat,
December 9, 2009
By: RY18
from NH
"This has quickly become my favorite hat for wet weather. It fits well, and has an informal, unstructured appearance that suits my style for hats. I'd much rather wear it than the "Indiana Jones" hat, which I also have, or a sports cap."