Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Scottish Driving Cap

A rakish driving cap of the finest Scottish 100% wool tweed, milled exclusively for The Orvis Company in the Scottish Borders region. Accented by a soft and supple leather brim. Two-sizes-fit-all. Stretch band inside. Men's tweed driving cap in olive. Pure wool. Pure cotton lining. Dry clean. Made in USA.Sizes: S/M(6¾-7⅛), L/XL(7¼-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 39(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scottish Driving Cap
Review 1 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Impressed but not what I thought,
November 1, 2013
By: FIAT
from California
"The caps' quality was definitely premium, the color was very nice and the fit was right on. I ended up returning the cap for the only reason that I felt it was too big, puffy in design. I have an average to small head/face and the cap size was over powering."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A terrific Driving Cap!,
September 13, 2013
By: Zoraster
from Mt. Clemens, MI
"This cap works great for me. The elastic keeps the cap in place even with the top down on my car and driving at highway speed.Cool and comfortable!"
Review 3 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made,
July 6, 2013
By: daBrick
"did not blow off while driving with the top down......color is a little quirky, but it works!"
Review 4 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even better than expected,
February 27, 2013
By: brooklynboy
from Washington, DC
"I wasn't sure of the pattern shown in the catalog and my local Orvis shop did not have it in stock. I ordered the cap with mixed feelings. When It arrived I was pleasantly surprised at how well it fit and how perfectly appropriate the pattern is. It is the usual quality standard that keeps me shopping at Orvis. Bravo"
Review 5 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Buy,
February 20, 2013
By: chainsaw
from Eagle River, Alaska
"Wow. The hat is of exceptional quality and has earned many favorable complements. It is very comfortable and a perfect fit."
Review 6 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy chapeau,
February 12, 2013
By: carpark
from Western North Carolina
"The material and the style of this cap make it a very nice addition to any wardrobe."
Review 7 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just wonderful!,
February 6, 2013
By: MrsLCM
from West Palm Beach, FL
"We are so pleased with the quality of this cap! My husband is proudly wearing it to the Senior Center every day. He does look "dapper", I must say. Thanks!"
Review 8 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great cover,
January 28, 2013
By: jac111
from amory,ms
"i bought this hat and am very pleased,it fits great and looks great!!! i would not have purchased it if it were not on sale,but i'm glad i did. it is built very well and i have had many compliments on it !!!"
Review 9 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cap for a Scott,
January 24, 2013
By: Ricster1963
from DC Metro Area
"Excellent cap; meets or exceeds expectations. Fit and finish are superb. Many compliments from friends, family and co-workers. (No, not all co-workers are my friends. LOL) I've been wanting a cap like this for years but couldn't justify spending the money on it. Now that I finally have one I wish I'd have done it sooner."
Review 10 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Codger Revamp,
January 20, 2013
By: CaptSteve
from Pasadena, Md
"The tweed is perfect and the first hat I reach for in the winter. The leather bill sets it apart from the one my father wears, to such an extent that it looks almost like a different hat. The head band gives it a custom fit and is the perfect snugness in all but the strongest of winds. I look forward to decades of use of my new cold weather favorite."
Review 11 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic!,
January 16, 2013
By: Brewster1
from Rapid City, SD
"This is an excellent cap. As with most Orvis hats though the sizing is a little off. Still, it is a good, recommended buy."
Review 12 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good looking cap,
January 11, 2013
By: Powys
from Boston, Ma
"I gave this cap to my husband for Christmas and he loves it.! Looks great with his leather jacket - a very nice update for our gentlemen."
Review 13 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Cap,
January 4, 2013
By: Knight046
from Phoenix AZ
"I would give this cap a 5 star rating, except for the sizing. This is a nice style of cap, the tweed and the leather really go together. There are only 2 sizing options (small/medium and Large/X Large) and if you are big guy, forget about buying the cap, it won't fit. I would hope that in the future this cap would be offered in all sizes (not combined sizes), at the very least small, medium, large and extra large. Maybe this is a way to save money and cut down on inventory. Orvis did offer to replace with the Irish cap and I would pay the difference, so I did, I just hope that I will like it as much as the Scottish cap."
Review 14 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best puchase ever,
December 31, 2012
By: Cardenas
"very nice cap, fits well in my head and can be combined with colors such as olive, navy blue, even red, highly recommend it"
Review 15 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor design,
December 2, 2012
By: mrgoodguy
from Burbank, California
"Like the style and pattern of the Scottish driving cap but the inside band was made of a heavy duty elastic which made it too tight and also rubbed against my forehead and actually broke the skin. Unfortunately, you returned the purchase price but refused to return the shipping charge even though I returned it to your store."
Review 16 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great selection,
May 1, 2012
By: brotherbutch
from Quesnel, BC
"I am impressed by the quality and the large selection of clothing at Orvis. I bought the Scottish Driving Cap which I just love!"
Review 17 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Looks Nice, uncomfortable,
January 27, 2012
By: Stan77
from Camarillo, CA
"Had a nice, quality look. Because it is sized in ranges (L/XL), there is strong elastic inside to make up the difference. This makes it uncomfortable to wear, and it was returned. It would be nice if it was sized with actual hat sizes."
Review 18 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exquisite Quality,
January 1, 2012
By: Maffie
from Amherst,NH
"Bought this as gift for Dad who loves hats! Quality unsurpassed ....unfortunately too big for him! He has a very small head and with sizes either sm/m. Or m/lg. Could't make it work! He even tried stuffing with tissue but, alas,no luck. Will be returning for a gift card so he can choose something himself."
Review 19 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Cap/more gold than green,
December 31, 2011
By: brie1
from Los Altos, CA
"The cap is high quality, great fit. But it had more gold/yellow tones than green - not what I expected from the description, and didn't work with my husband's coloring. Unfortunately we are returning it."
Review 20 for Scottish Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scottish Driving Cap,
December 30, 2011
By: GRB1
from Baltimore, MD
"Excellent product. Good fit, well constructed and warm. Looks good as well."