Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Ferrule Wax

Extend the life of your fly rods with Orvis Ferrule Wax. Eliminates friction and wear when putting fly rods together and taking them apart. Lubricates the ferrule as it flexes during use and prevents undue wear and tear. Allows the ferrule to engage deeper and more firmly, eliminating loosening and potential damage. Lubricate the male end and insert with a 90 degree twist for best results. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
30 of 33(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Review 1 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I needed!,
July 28, 2015
By: Rope66
from KS.
"A while ago,practice casting,the tip of my rod came off! Don't think I will have that problem again. Thanks."
Review 2 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
July 21, 2015
By: flyfishing2000ct
from Orinda, CA
"this is a great product, I am using it on my bamboo fly rod, and the ferrels fit together and separate perfectly."
Review 3 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Important graphite rod assessory,
June 29, 2015
By: SilverFox99
from Southern Tier NY/Northern Tier PA
"Spring salmon fishing in NB using 2-handed rods and heavy lines. The rod sections kept loosening. Some of the guys tried electrical tape to no avail...Noticing our problem one of the guys gave us some Orvis ferrule wax which solved all our troubles. Locks the joint in place and protects against wear...Highly recommended for all graphite rods...Great product!"
Review 4 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ferrule wax,
June 9, 2015
By: hopper
from San leandro califorina
"I purchased 3 ferrule wax a couple years ago in the San Francisco, gave two to my friends, I really like just as much as they do. It's firm, even when I keep it in my pocket. And the little plastic case it comes in is convenient. And it is also good for my rods."
Review 5 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every fly rod needs this,
August 5, 2014
By: DocDave
from Dyersburg, TN
"I ordered this to use on some fly rods I already have. I works great-no more stuck and broken fly rods."
Review 6 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice container, but.....,
July 8, 2014
By: Smudgefly
from Tarheel Land & Sky, NC
"I could have used regular paraffin and got the same result. I did use it. It was a hard whitish disc that only applied wax to a small area of the ferrule. Rubbing it, to warm and soften it, seemed to cover the ferrule. Then put rod sections together to check for excess wax.
I really think Orvis could find another supplier for ferrule wax."
Review 7 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performs as intended,
May 28, 2014
By: nicholasblixt
"There are only a few types of ferrule wax on the market, and this is my favorite. Applied, it has a feel most similar to candle wax, and it offers a secure fit without any sticky residue. I've found the residue issue to be a problem with other brands."
Review 8 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ferrule maintenance,
May 20, 2014
By: TStanley
from Florida Emerald Coast
"A great product for ferrule maintenance on all rods for a small cost."
Review 9 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
March 26, 2014
By: lappy1
from Wisconsin
"orvis ferrule wax improves the fit of your ferrules and prevents excess wear . Very easy to carry and use."
Review 10 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have.,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"This is a must have if you have a fly fishing rod. Gives you a much better feel when putting your rod together or taking it apart. Now I am not afraid of breaking my rod, especially when taking it apart, and all the pieces stick better together when fishing. it is almost like a rod insurance in a small green box. Get it!"
Review 11 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Ferrule Wax,
August 4, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Orvis provides a container of ferrule wax and an instruction booklet with new graphite rod purchases; I highly recommend its use. If you have not tried this wax, it is a worthwhile and inexpensive investment. For best results, I first clean the male ferrule end with a lint-free cloth, and clean the female end with a Q-tip. I then apply a thin layer of wax on the male end only. Doing so regularly helps to seat the ferrules when assembling the rod, improves casting performance and eases release of the ferrules when taking the rod apart. Please note that I do not recommend using this wax on Orvis bamboo rod nickel-silver ferrules. On bamboo rods I use denatured alcohol to simply clean the male and female ferrule ends."
Review 12 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
July 10, 2013
By: Out4Fsh
from Jupiter, FL
"Orvis Ferrule Wax is a must have for any Fly Fisherman. This product does just what it says. It allows for your rod's ferrules to have a much tighter fit, resulting in greater rod performance. Comes in a convenient little container that can easily be storred in a pocket or pack."
Review 13 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not find this anywhere.,
June 11, 2013
By: ChrisFromPA
from Saylorsburg, PA
"Not an exciting or flashy product but works as advertised and locks the ferrules in tight. The rod sections connect smoothly with no fear of getting them stuck."
Review 14 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"This stuff is great. I got it with my Clearwater rod and it is awesome. I even use it as a dubbing wax (I would not recommend for dubbing wax). It is really great and I was surprised when my rod came with it. Great stuff."
Review 15 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasts Forever,
June 6, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"One of the first things I was taught about fly fishing was to protect the rod's ferrules - and waxing the male ends is a key part of that.
Orvis includes a container with its rods. So if you buy an Orvis rod you get one for free!"
Review 16 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waxed all my Ferrules,
May 20, 2013
By: snobird23
from Sandy ,Utah
"Got all my fly rods out a waxed the ferrules.
Wish it was a little softer so I good get a more even coat on each ferrule."
Review 17 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
About time!,
February 6, 2013
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"My Orvis rods range from brand new to 35 years old. They all go together and come apart easily now. One seats the furrules deeper and the others come apart without fear something will break.
So simple and so good."
Review 18 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Keeps the ferrules held together better than using nothing and prevents the sections from seizing together. Very important to use on rods that endure a lot of torque: switch and spey rods and 7-wt.+ rods. One container will last forever."
Review 19 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
save rods,
January 24, 2013
By: maupinman20
from St. Joe river
"short an simple you get better use out of your rod with this. The best example is this, when skate boards are grinding on things they put down wax, the ferrules grind when put together so put some wax on em."
Review 20 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wax,
January 1, 2013
By: ICHItheKILLER
from Seattle, WA
"This works great on my seven hundred dollar fly rods, holds secure and rods slide together smoothly,and there's plenty of wax to last for a long time. My spinning and bait cast rods all have been waxed also and now feel nice and smooth on assembly and disassembly."