Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Ferrule Wax

Extend the life of your fly rods with Orvis Ferrule Wax. Eliminates friction and wear when putting fly rods together and taking them apart. Lubricates the ferrule as it flexes during use and prevents undue wear and tear. Allows the ferrule to engage deeper and more firmly, eliminating loosening and potential damage. Lubricate the male end and insert with a 90 degree twist for best results. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Review 1 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice container, but.....,
July 8, 2014
By: Smudgefly
from Tarheel Land & Sky, NC
"I could have used regular paraffin and got the same result. I did use it. It was a hard whitish disc that only applied wax to a small area of the ferrule. Rubbing it, to warm and soften it, seemed to cover the ferrule. Then put rod sections together to check for excess wax.
I really think Orvis could find another supplier for ferrule wax."
Review 2 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performs as intended,
May 28, 2014
By: nicholasblixt
"There are only a few types of ferrule wax on the market, and this is my favorite. Applied, it has a feel most similar to candle wax, and it offers a secure fit without any sticky residue. I've found the residue issue to be a problem with other brands."
Review 3 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ferrule maintenance,
May 20, 2014
By: TStanley
from Florida Emerald Coast
"A great product for ferrule maintenance on all rods for a small cost."
Review 4 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
March 26, 2014
By: lappy1
from Wisconsin
"orvis ferrule wax improves the fit of your ferrules and prevents excess wear . Very easy to carry and use."
Review 5 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have.,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"This is a must have if you have a fly fishing rod. Gives you a much better feel when putting your rod together or taking it apart. Now I am not afraid of breaking my rod, especially when taking it apart, and all the pieces stick better together when fishing. it is almost like a rod insurance in a small green box. Get it!"
Review 6 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Ferrule Wax,
August 4, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Orvis provides a container of ferrule wax and an instruction booklet with new graphite rod purchases; I highly recommend its use. If you have not tried this wax, it is a worthwhile and inexpensive investment. For best results, I first clean the male ferrule end with a lint-free cloth, and clean the female end with a Q-tip. I then apply a thin layer of wax on the male end only. Doing so regularly helps to seat the ferrules when assembling the rod, improves casting performance and eases release of the ferrules when taking the rod apart. Please note that I do not recommend using this wax on Orvis bamboo rod nickel-silver ferrules. On bamboo rods I use denatured alcohol to simply clean the male and female ferrule ends."
Review 7 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
July 10, 2013
By: Out4Fsh
from Jupiter, FL
"Orvis Ferrule Wax is a must have for any Fly Fisherman. This product does just what it says. It allows for your rod's ferrules to have a much tighter fit, resulting in greater rod performance. Comes in a convenient little container that can easily be storred in a pocket or pack."
Review 8 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not find this anywhere.,
June 11, 2013
By: ChrisFromPA
from Saylorsburg, PA
"Not an exciting or flashy product but works as advertised and locks the ferrules in tight. The rod sections connect smoothly with no fear of getting them stuck."
Review 9 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"This stuff is great. I got it with my Clearwater rod and it is awesome. I even use it as a dubbing wax (I would not recommend for dubbing wax). It is really great and I was surprised when my rod came with it. Great stuff."
Review 10 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasts Forever,
June 6, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"One of the first things I was taught about fly fishing was to protect the rod's ferrules - and waxing the male ends is a key part of that.
Orvis includes a container with its rods. So if you buy an Orvis rod you get one for free!"
Review 11 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waxed all my Ferrules,
May 20, 2013
By: snobird23
from Sandy ,Utah
"Got all my fly rods out a waxed the ferrules.
Wish it was a little softer so I good get a more even coat on each ferrule."
Review 12 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
About time!,
February 6, 2013
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"My Orvis rods range from brand new to 35 years old. They all go together and come apart easily now. One seats the furrules deeper and the others come apart without fear something will break.
So simple and so good."
Review 13 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Keeps the ferrules held together better than using nothing and prevents the sections from seizing together. Very important to use on rods that endure a lot of torque: switch and spey rods and 7-wt.+ rods. One container will last forever."
Review 14 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
save rods,
January 24, 2013
By: maupinman20
from St. Joe river
"short an simple you get better use out of your rod with this. The best example is this, when skate boards are grinding on things they put down wax, the ferrules grind when put together so put some wax on em."
Review 15 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wax,
January 1, 2013
By: ICHItheKILLER
from Seattle, WA
"This works great on my seven hundred dollar fly rods, holds secure and rods slide together smoothly,and there's plenty of wax to last for a long time. My spinning and bait cast rods all have been waxed also and now feel nice and smooth on assembly and disassembly."
Review 16 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Allows Break Down of Rods,
October 25, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"Keeps the ferrules of my rods from getting stuck, especially in the cold morning hours. Does NOT cause them to be too loose."
Review 17 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to apply, made a world of difference.,
October 16, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"It's a hard wax, so it stays right where you apply it. One little tub will last me a lifetime."
Review 18 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Atta way,
October 8, 2012
By: Bhsf58
from San tan valley az
"The wax is the best for any fly rod. Fish streamera alot and with the mends and downstream mends, had the rod come apart several times, only to panic a little before i fetched halh of a 700.00 rod. Never happened again after using the wax. Great purchase for rhe money.. May eventually save a rod"
Review 19 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A life(rod) saver!,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"I didn't realize how much this wax helped until I fished my Access for the first time without applying it. While at the car, I was scared I was going to break my rod because the ferrules just did not want to come apart. I had to sit there for minutes gently pulling and twisting. After applying the wax I've not had any issues with my ferrules. They fit in snug, but do not get jammed in there. You must make sure you do not over apply it though. If you do you will find your rod sections slipping a little(I LOADED it on my Hydros the first time and had slipping issues until I rubbed some off. Definitely something everyone should have if they plan on taking care of their rod in the long run."
Review 20 for Orvis Ferrule Wax
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so good,
June 16, 2012
By: AlistairG
"The wax is too hard - actually just the same as a candle. I had orvis wax previously and it was softer and much better, but you might as well save your money and use a candle as use this."