Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Waxed Cotton Strap Vest

Our most versatile all-season upland vest is now available with blaze orange for optimum visibility and safety in the field. Orvis-exclusive Easy Entry® closure at front pockets give you quick and easy one-finger open and close to get at shells fast. Wears comfortably over whatever layering the weather conditions demand. Indestructible shoulder straps and belt made of heavy-duty nylon webbing. Original rugged, waxed-cotton version in dark khaki, sheds water and dirt. USA.Sizes: M/L(chest sizes 40-44), XL/XXL(chest sizes 46-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.706 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 of 17(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Review 1 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and Well Made,
November 12, 2012
By: nybob
from NY
"Recently started using this item. Comes up to Orvis' standard of quality and is very well made. Folds easily for storage and is compact when not in use. Very adjustable to your particular size requirements."
Review 2 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The one for the warm weather,
November 9, 2012
By: Casillas
from Mexicali, Baja California.
"You can still have temperatures that can reach between 90 and 105 degrees in the Baja, Mexicali valley when hunting dove or pheasant, and the use of traditional vest is out of the question. For warm weather this is your best choice. True to fit, well made,"
Review 3 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 14, 2012
By: HunterMom
"This strap vest is very nice and very comfortable. I choose dark khaki because I will be able to add an orange shirt under it for upland and use it wilth regular camo for duck hunting. The pockets are large enough to have your shells in them and be able to get your hands inside, too."
Review 4 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strap vest beyond compare,
March 28, 2012
By: LegBand
from Hughson, Ca.
"The orvis waxed cotton SV (strap vest) is with out question the most well designed SV on the market the four pockets instead of the traditional two and the zippered back pack compartment make it much more acomidating for additional gear and versital in various field situations.There are a few suggestions I would like to Make first a D ring on both front straps or attach your collar transmitter , wistle or quail call would be nice low enough not to mar the finsh on the stock or forearm of a fine shot gun.
Second crossing strap bottoms in the water bottle holders so they don't fall through and end up under the birds in the bird bag.
Third a inner between attached to the mesh that divides the back pack and the bird bag to keep blood,stool and such off your jacket ,snacks or other items you might be carrying for the hunt. I was out 109 days during waterfowl, quail and dove seasons and have used many of the top name brands I think these changes would take a great product and make it better.
"
Review 5 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best upland vest I have owned,
January 15, 2012
By: duchtr
from Yuma AZ
"I dove hunted with this vest 4 seasons now , my usual habit is to put 1 1/2 boxes of shells in the right side snap open pouch and a 1/2 box in the other, the snap open one finger pouch is great , you have easy access to your shells Fast!, love it so much I bought the belt version also, great quality and built like a tank, I did sew on a piece of cloth to the left side front strap to clip my radio on , great vest"
Review 6 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not up to par,
November 17, 2011
By: DevildoginTex
from North Texas
"Spring pockets were uncomfortable and when they were opened they opened to toward your body as well as outward. The shoulder straps seemed to be sewn in the wrong place and do not lay flat but twist. Vest is fairly well made and would have been a winner if not for these things. I returned the vest."
Review 7 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bad design,
September 26, 2011
By: becasse
from Michigan
"I purchased this vest 3 years ago for my husband, which he never used (he is still using the oil cloth vest that is 10 years old) so it became mine. I have hunted 4 times with it (including this past weekend) the mesh pockets are falling apart! I don't carry that much ammo in them! Bad design, they oil cloth should have been used on the pockets instead of the mesh."
Review 8 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More of the same...,
September 20, 2011
By: MIGrouseGuy
from Royal Oak, MI
"Love this vest.
Like others, I think the mesh on the pockets is a design flaw. Just started my 2nd season and I can see a repair/reinforcement is going to be needed.
If not for this, I would also describe this as the best vest on the market. However, despite the crazy amount of Orvis stuff I own and my general preference for Orvis gear - from flyrods, to waders, to luggage, to casual attire, to briar chaps (just got these- and I am really liking them, btw), I have been perusing Filson, Macks, etc. for an alternative.
I like my stuff to last - and don't want to change up or mess around with it annually.
I would gladly purchase a new version with better pockets (please keep the spring opening!) - and would look favorably on an exchange. However, I really think this flaw needs to be fixed. It seems like a small manufacturing change - and then...perfection!"
Review 9 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but improvement needed,
March 24, 2011
By: ThePlain
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have used this vest for 5 seasons and it is the first vest(out of three)that I grab when leaving the truck. I have used it pheasant,sharptail,hun hunting in MT,SD,ND,IA,and MN. It is cool in the early season on the prairie and works great over a layering system in late season.
Improvement is needed on the pocket material. Get rid of the mesh on the pockets and upgrade to a heavier material on the outer wear areas(I have the blaze model). I have patched these areas to prevent shell loss.
It would be the best vest(my opinion)on the market with the above improvement.
"
Review 10 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gotta go with the strap vest,
January 24, 2011
By: FishandBirds
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the best style of hunting vest I have ever experienced. It is easy to layer up or down underneath it, it isn't bulky at all, and very comfortable and lightweight for long walks with your bird dog in pursuit of upland birds. I love the front pockets that stay open when you need them to and also close shut with an easy push. My only complaint would be that I wish the rear pouch was bigger so that I could carry more birds, specifically when it comes to large birds like pheasants."
Review 11 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
December 24, 2010
By: thechimneyguy
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I love the mesh back and spring loaded shell pockets. The velcro pockets are great for anything small you don't want to lose in the field; the game bag is large and easilly accessible.
Unfortunately I've had the same problem as others with worn out mesh in the shell pockets. Orvis needs to re-design the mesh pockets, with that exception it is the best vest I have ever used,
"
Review 12 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mixed review,
December 19, 2010
By: hunhunter
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The design and features of this vest are the best I have ever owned, The easy entry pockets with the front shell pockets are a great design. Quick secure access to transimitters, GPS, etc and two pockets to keep empty and live shells separate. The game bag is easy load and holds plenty of birds. That being said the mesh that is used is terrible. After one season I have gaping holes in the front pockets. I would love to get another one on these vests if it were more durable. Is there paln use cordura or all canvas?. I don't care if my shells stay cool and mesh is a poor choice for high stress areas."
Review 13 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible Mesh,
July 5, 2010
By: HSkeeter
from Kentucky
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I've been "breaking in" this vest at the sporting clays course for the past two months. It never has more than 50 shells in it, and BOTH pockets are tearing through at the corners. The spring loaded pockets are a wonderful design, however the mesh is extremely cheap, to say the least. It doesn't even feel like a fiber, it feels like plastic. I was assured these are good for years of service, but after a dozen uses, the sides are about ready to bleed shells. For less money, I've found more solid vests, but wanted to splurge on an Orvis. Sorry, last purchase."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that this vest didn't meet his expectations, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 14 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mesh Separates,
March 21, 2009
By: wingman4
from North Carolina
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The quick entry pocket system is the best I have seen. Nice looking vest. After only 5 months of use the mesh is tearing free from the waxed cotton pockets allowing my shells to fall out. I am sending the vest in for exchange or repair."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 7, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the mesh is tearing away from the pockets, leading to the loss of shells. Orvis thanked the customer for submitting this review and, naturally, offered a replacement or a refund. Orvis will gladly exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. The customer’s comments have been forwarded to the product developer so that the durability of the mesh and the construction of the pockets can be thoroughly investigated.
Review 15 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Scatch & Dent,
December 10, 2008
By: gambelinman
from Long Beach, CA
"Purchased this vest last year in the all tan for versatility for quail, pheasant and dove. I must say, the layout and access to pockets and game bag are excellent. The problem is the tin cloth covering the spring pockets has worn away at the inside corners, exposing the metal and scratching the stock of my gun. Unacceptable! This should not be a one season vest. The return process is already underway."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 15, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the cloth has started to wear away at the corners of this vest. Orvis also thanked the customer for providing such constructive and valuable feedback and offered an exchange or a full refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer’s concerns on to the manufacturer of this vest so that improvements to it can be implemented.
Review 16 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Light Vest,
August 24, 2008
By: kentt
"I have used this vest for 3 years now - It is great for hot weather dove hunting & and works very well over a heavy coat for cold weather pheasant hunting. The mesh is very durable and provides for good ventilation. Out of all of the vests that I have tried and looked at in stores - this has been the best one for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1