Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Sapper Jacket

A multifeatured army-style jacket built in medium weight 6-oz. Sylkoil waxed cotton. Polyester insulation for warmth. Two-way front zip with studded front flap. Corduroy inner collar and cuffs. Stowaway hood in the collar. Four patch flap pockets on the front and an inner zip pocket. Inner-waist drawcord. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge. No soap. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32½" long in size large. Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
86 of 88(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Jacket,
December 9, 2014
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"I deliberated before purchasing this jacket due to the cost. No question about Barbour quality as I have enjoyed the Barbour Classic Durham Jacket. I did need a larger size in the Sapper for possible layering this winter. Bottom line, this Jacket provides excellent weather resistance in cold, wet, windy conditions. Wore it the first time in 38*F, rain w/ 15 knot North winds...kept me dry and warm in a cotton shirt. No regrets, outstanding Jacket!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking jacket,
November 26, 2014
By: Jsdone
from Greensboro, NC
"In black it looks dignified and rather dressy. Nice and warm and not bulky for the warmth it provides. About the only critique I can mention is it is an exact fit and to add a bulky vest or sweater may make it a bit tight but other than that is is a wonderful jacket. The 2 way zipper really makes this jacket even more comfortable and versatile."
Review 3 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing,
November 6, 2014
By: Hank66
from Virginia
"5 stars with an exception. Wanted a Barbour jacket. Needed an XXL (50-52). Tried on this jacket, but it was too tight to zip. Tried on every Barbour in the store. While quality is unmatched, sizing is a problem. Same results. All too small. XXL is actually an L, at best, depending on where the jacket is made. However, discovered the Cowen Commando Sapper jacket in an XXL. That's the one with the Union Jack on the sleeve. This one is made in Bulgaria. Fits like a dream. Big enough to layer. I would recommend a Barbour to anyone, but be very careful of the sizing."
Review 4 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ready for winter in Aspen,
November 3, 2014
By: AmandaJane
from Aspen, CO.
"Let me start by saying the customer service Orvis provides goes above and beyond any retailer I've ever used. They were so prompt with my exchange, and even gave me a discount that left me with some extra Orvis credit for my next purchase. I bought my boyfriend the Barbour Sapper Jacket in preparation for our first winter in Aspen, CO. Pretty sure he hasn't taken it off yet. It's so warm and durable that there's no doubt we made the right decision purchasing this jacket! Highly recommended!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 25, 2014
By: MF2209
"The product is great although I regret having to order it from Orvis. I will only purchase from Orvis if I can't find the product anywhere else. Fortunately, I usually can. Once you have free shipping, like most companies, I will order more from your site."
Review 6 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic and stylish,
February 24, 2014
By: Orvision
from New York
"Searched and searched for a men's jacket that is not blah - in black this is a handsome jacket with classic style. Debated about medium or large and in the end decided on the large even though the fit on the medium had a sharper appearance... just not quite perfect..only wish there was a half size in between."
Review 7 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Jacket,
February 14, 2014
By: Vp123
from New York, NY
"Jacket is on the heavy side, definitely good for late fall into winter. Looks good. Love the black hardware on black waxed cotton."
Review 8 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
people,
January 28, 2014
By: 1g8ju98id64n
"may let the arms out a bit but other than that this is a great fit .Im a 40 regular and the medium was perfect w room for a sweater.With the internal draws string this coat slims down perfectly .Im a skinny 6 '2 at about 180 .A friend saw it on and ordered one immediately .I went w orvis because the woman at the Pasadena store was very helpful without being pushy"
Review 9 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight jacket,
January 23, 2014
By: Dvillan
from Miami, Fl
"My first Barbour jacket ever. Well worth the price. Quality workmanship and kept me warm in Steamboat's winter. Won't be my last Barbour jacket."
Review 10 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Barbour Sapper Jacket,
January 18, 2014
By: mreyman73
from Montgomery Village, MD
"When I first saw this jacket, I wanted it immediately. I read all of the reviews before purchasing because I wanted a good idea of what size would be best for me. The reviews were a bit inconclusive, so I chatted with an Orvis employee and she, based on my physical measurements (6' 0", 185 lbs., 43" chest, 34/35 sleeve length), recommended the medium. I had a feeling that the medium, based on the measurements she provided, was going to be a bit small. So, in order to avoid having to ship it back in the event it was too small, I went to the closest Orvis store to try the jacket on for size. The store, unfortunately, only had one medium. When I tried it on, the sleeves were indeed too short. So, I ordered a large form their site and was apprehensive about how it was going to fit.
The large does fit me fairly well. The chest is a bit roomier than I would like (perhaps I'm just accustomed to the really "tailored" fit that most clothes come in nowadays), but it doesn't look big. The sleeves on the large fit better than the medium had, but I still think they could be an inch or so longer. The Orvis online employee said that the difference in sleeve length between the medium and large is only about an inch, which seems negligible.
Out of the box, the jacket had a damp feeling to it, probably attributable to the wax that is applied for the weatherproofing. It seems a bit drier after a couple of weeks.
I really like the jacket. You can tell that it is a quality product. The lining is warm, so a sweater is not really necessary unless it's well below freezing. Haven't tried out the hood yet.
I think Barbour could have added another inside pocket (there's only one), especially for the price you pay. How difficult or costly could that possibly be? Also, for the price, a one year warranty seems a bit insulting.
I still gave this product five stars despite these minor "issues." I would buy it again knowing what I know now."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Jacket!,
January 17, 2014
By: MNMitch
from Wayzata, MN
"I've been thinking about getting this jacket for a while now. The cost is high, but after wearing it for a month... it's worth it.
The wax cotton is a really great feature and different from other jackets. Pockets are good. Warm enough for Minnesota winters too."
Review 12 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
January 14, 2014
By: pvcshrink
from Lloyd Harbor NY
"great jacket able to wear in many types of weather (snow-rain-sunshine) Jacket is adaptable for most temperatures and you remain comfortable.
Jacket serves the purpose for all around everyday use. Not to dresses and not to plain
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hip but Classic,
January 13, 2014
By: Kathy197
from Athens, Georgia
"After looking at tons of jackets for my 24 year old son we came across the Sapper. So many of the jackets are very bulky and frumpy looking - The Sapper offers the young man a hip but classic looking jacket with trim lines and plenty of warmth. Well worth the money!"
Review 14 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favourite Jacket,
January 3, 2014
By: Mordecai
from UK
"Had this about 3 months now and wear it all the time. Looks good, nicely cut, fairly light weight but enough insulation for most UK weather, and waterproof too. Used online chat for advice on fit, and it was spot on."
Review 15 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a winner!,
January 2, 2014
By: Sweet1
from Sonoma County, CA
"Bought this jacket for my 18 year old son for Christmas. He loves it!
He is 5' 10" and 165 lbs. I bought the medium size and it is a perfect fit. Thank you Orvis for carrying this jacket!
"
Review 16 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is obsessed,
January 1, 2014
By: MargaretEB
from Alabama
"I gave this to my husband for Christmas and he hasn't taken it off! A great looking, WARM jacket."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket !!!,
January 1, 2014
By: MJN267
from Union, NJ
"Finally found the Barbour 3 season jacket that I've been searching for and the fit is perfect too!
I previously purchased and returned the Barbour Field Marshall size medium (way to small) & large (still a bit snug) and Bedale Jackets sizes 44 & 46 (Just didn't like the fit). The Barbour Sapper Jacket blew me away.I love the style and fit. I'm always at a loss when it comes to sizing and purchasing clothing from Orvis, which can be annoying at times, especially if they deduct $6.95 return shipping costs from your credit. I am 5'10" ; 182 lbs. Sometimes medium is perfect and other times I've had to bump up to a size large. In general there is no consistency when it comes to sizing, which ismy only gripe with Orvis.
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat with a few faults,
December 27, 2013
By: Rswanso2
from Rochester, NY
"The coat fits well and is well made.
However, the zipper is hard to get started, and will probably require some getting used to. Also, the coat could benefit from some pockets that you could easily slip your hands into without undoing a snap.
"
Review 19 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Coat,
December 27, 2013
By: shoeshopperdress
from Hampshire
"This is a really stylish coat. It covers the bottom so looks fabulous on taller men and has really lovely detailing. Very happy with this choice
as it looks good for town use or country pursuits.
"
Review 20 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Jacket,
December 21, 2013
By: Mitchavus
from Alexandria, VA
"The Sapper coat has quickly become my "go to" all around coat. It works well in urban as well as rural settings."