Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Sapper Jacket

A multifeatured army-style jacket built in medium weight 6-oz. Sylkoil waxed cotton. Polyester insulation for warmth. Two-way front zip with studded front flap. Corduroy inner collar and cuffs. Stowaway hood in the collar. Four patch flap pockets on the front and an inner zip pocket. Inner-waist drawcord. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge. No soap. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32½" long in size large. Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
113 of 115(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great jacket,
June 18, 2015
By: RPalter
from Chestnut Hill MA
"This is the second Sapper Jacket that I have bought. It is handsome, well made and fits my lifestyle.
The many pockets are a boon to me as I find myself carrying all sorts of items, eye glasses,cellphone, house and car keys. I find that I can wear it in most of the seasons that are part of the Boston climate.
"
Review 2 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eureka! The search is over!,
May 16, 2015
By: GeoSports
from Warren County, NJ
"My long search for the perfect Barbour jacket is at an end. In the past few years, I've tried out several other models with no success, usually because Barbour sizing is smaller and slimmer than the products we see here in the US.
The Sapper Jacket fits more like a traditional military field jacket and most importantly, came in a size XXL, which fits those of us in the L-XL range here in the States.
Bottom line: order up a size or two.
There's lots of room to layer up with a sweater or fleece. It has the classic four-pocket style with the added bonus of a zip-front chest pocket for cellphone, plane tickets or passport. This could certainly work as a three-season jacket. It's not too bulky or heavy.
My only regret is with summer coming I won't be able to put it through its paces until the fall, but promise an update then.
Two quick notes: 1. The olive color is fairly dark, but still looks great.
2. Thanks again to the customer service at Orvis for taking the time to explain the finer points of this jacket when I was comparing it to others online
.
Fantastic as always!
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality assured.,
May 15, 2015
By: Squire54
from Winnipeg, Canada
"Good fit, room for layering. Chose size large for my 6',195lb frame was worried about my 35" arms but the sleeve length falls at wrist break. Great."
Review 4 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Coat,
April 27, 2015
By: Wanderer59
from Marion,Ohio
"It's a Very Nice Jacket. I'm pleased with my purchase. I just wish the sleeves were about an 1/2 to 3/4 in longer."
Review 5 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great look, feel and warmth,
April 14, 2015
By: PatagoniaBakerLodge
from Patagonia, Chile
"I own a Barbour Wassex Jacket in XL, bought this one in L. Sapper has longer sleeves than Wassex. Also fits better."
Review 6 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not what I was anticipating,
April 7, 2015
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"While this is a well-made and reliable jacket, it wasn't what I was expecting. I wanted a light jacket to wear in the spring on those mornings when there was a threat of rain. I thought it would be a little longer in the body, so I could wear it over a sport coat. The fit was true, and I like the color, but it wasn't what I needed for a coat to wear to the office."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket Ever,
April 6, 2015
By: AlvinC24
from Baltimore, MD
"Choosing between the Sapper and the Bedale jacket. I'm glad I chose the Sapper based also on the recommendation of the Orvis customer representative I chat with. I am 5'8, 180 lbs. the large size is too long for me on the sleeves but the medium is perfect. I would recommend it to anyone that is looking to purchase this jacket."
Review 8 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat for a Wet City,
March 31, 2015
By: GeoffInSeattle
from Bellevue, WA, USA
"Living in Seattle I deal with the weather a lot. Not usually freezing but cold and wet, wet, wet. The Sapper looks good and deflects rain nicely, and if you forget to wear a hat there's that little hood in the collar! It's come in handy more than once for me. I also love the polyester lining. I can slide this coat on even when wearing corduroy or wool. The fold up cuffs with the corduroy accents are classy and the same corduroy in the collar makes the coat nice and cozy.
Waxed cotton works well in this urban environment. I would not use this coat in the wilderness however, since, well it's still cotton. You should also note that the main zipper is set up on the opposite side of men's coats in the USA, a bit of a throwback to the days when British aristocracy were dressed by their minions. Quaint but you have to get used to it.
The fit is nice. The Orvis sizing guide is relevent to us Yanks. I like the extra room for layering and it still looks good with the waist cord. I noticed that the British sizing guide on the Barbour UK site recommends a size down from what's recommended on the Orvis site. That will work if you like a truly slim fit, but not if you plan to layer up occasionally."
Review 9 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy jacket!!,
March 31, 2015
By: nlora
from Elon College, NC
"Excellent construction and materials.
It conveys the brand recognition and prestige of a Rolex watch or an LV piece of luggage in the outdoor garment world.
"
Review 10 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket - one suggestion,
March 31, 2015
By: kxreynolds
from New York
"I only wish the lining could zip out so I could wear it all year long. Otherwise a great all purpose jacket and a superior value."
Review 11 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Winning Barbour!,
March 13, 2015
By: 690MBCOMMANDO
"I have a number of Barbours over the years and this one is one of my favorites as it can be versatile for many occasions and have the built in insulation eliminating the need for a separate liner like my Bedale and others. I'm 5'11" and 180 and the size Large is perfect. Got the Black since my Bedale is Olive. Both colors look awesome!"
Review 12 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Jacket,
March 5, 2015
By: Gumdrop
"I have several Barbour jackets and all are of excellent quality and value. This item is up to that standard. I look forward to years of wear. The jacket is comfortable, stylish and utilitarian."
Review 13 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis/Barbour are TOP NOTCH,
February 26, 2015
By: KKKKK
"On Orvis: Through the purchase of the Barbour Sapper Jacket I had the PLEASURE of interacting with Orvis Customer Service/Sales people through online Chat, over the phone to their toll free CS and with Orvis Salesmen at the Memphis, TN store & want to THANK Orvis for having such, professional, knowledgeable, & courteous employees! CS like this is what gets repeat customers.
On the Barbour Sapper Jacket: Nearly impossible to decide on which color. Both looked SO good I wish I could afford both! The jacket is exceptional so far. The only hangup (literally) is that the zipper is a bugger to get started. Hopefully, that will "break in" soon. Will buy Barbour from Orvis again in the future.
"
Review 14 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unexpected warmth,
February 19, 2015
By: Davehough49
from Bethesda Md
"I purchased this Barbour expecting to use in spring and fall. I was pleasantly surprised it kept me warm in the middle of winter with just a light sweater. The customer service was phenomenal. They promised a seven day delivery and I received the jacket in three days."
Review 15 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the reviews,
February 15, 2015
By: MrMike123
from Bakersfield California
"I want to start by addressing one of my main concerns prior to purchasing the Barbour Sapper, size. The Orvis people were a huge help here I talked to them on the phone and based on the cut of the Sapper we decided on a xxl. I am 6'3" tall and 265 lbs the jacket still has a little room to layer but fits well. The quality of this jacket is excellent the waist draw it actually a bit above the waist but it is meant to be there."
Review 16 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yep, you'll really love this one!,
February 13, 2015
By: Fishinguy
from Black Creek, B.C.
"After a bit of an online ordering nightmare I opted for this jacket, which was much more than I'd originally planned to spend with Orvis. However, as soon as I put this jacket on, I knew I was going to keep it! Wow! Talk about cozy, stylin' and warm! I live on the west coast of Canada and I won't be cold again! My only comment would be to echo many of the previous reviewers who had suggested to go with the larger size. I did just that and it fits perfectly. Also, It is not just a shell...it's warm!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top class jacket,
February 13, 2015
By: Pree8700
"Great jacket good snug fit practical for any weather well pleased wear it most days"
Review 18 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I bought this,
February 13, 2015
By: Jummers1954
from Guernsey
"I had been putting off buying this coat as it is quite expensive but I am so glad I did get it, The quality is excellent, as you would expect from Barbour. It is really warm and even my wife commented on how nice it looks. So we are all happy!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love Jacket - But Threads Unravel,
February 12, 2015
By: Aggie2013
from Dallas, TX
"I love this jacket. It does run large, so I had to exchange my Large for a Medium.
I also had issues with the stitching on the inside quilting coming unraveled. Not a terrible problem since Orvis will replace anything within a week if there is an issue with it no questions asked, but it was disappointing that a high quality brand like Barbour would produce a jacket with pour stitching.
"
Review 20 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
February 12, 2015
By: JordanK1234
from Lexington, KY
"I am 6' 215lbs, athletic build and ordered a Large. I was delighted to find that it fit perfectly and was exactly what I was looking for. I am a bit concerned about the care instructions, since you can't machine wash OR dry clean it, but we'll deal with that as it comes. For now, it's my favorite jacket I've owned and is quite warm, but light enough to wear through the spring here in Kentucky."