Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Sapper Jacket

A multifeatured army-style jacket built in medium weight 6-oz. Sylkoil waxed cotton. Polyester insulation for warmth. Two-way front zip with studded front flap. Corduroy inner collar and cuffs. Stowaway hood in the collar. Four patch flap pockets on the front and an inner zip pocket. Inner-waist drawcord. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge. No soap. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32½" long in size large. Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.748 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
101 of 103(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis/Barbour are TOP NOTCH,
February 26, 2015
By: KKKKK
"On Orvis: Through the purchase of the Barbour Sapper Jacket I had the PLEASURE of interacting with Orvis Customer Service/Sales people through online Chat, over the phone to their toll free CS and with Orvis Salesmen at the Memphis, TN store & want to THANK Orvis for having such, professional, knowledgeable, & courteous employees! CS like this is what gets repeat customers.
On the Barbour Sapper Jacket: Nearly impossible to decide on which color. Both looked SO good I wish I could afford both! The jacket is exceptional so far. The only hangup (literally) is that the zipper is a bugger to get started. Hopefully, that will "break in" soon. Will buy Barbour from Orvis again in the future.
"
Review 2 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unexpected warmth,
February 19, 2015
By: Davehough49
from Bethesda Md
"I purchased this Barbour expecting to use in spring and fall. I was pleasantly surprised it kept me warm in the middle of winter with just a light sweater. The customer service was phenomenal. They promised a seven day delivery and I received the jacket in three days."
Review 3 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the reviews,
February 15, 2015
By: MrMike123
from Bakersfield California
"I want to start by addressing one of my main concerns prior to purchasing the Barbour Sapper, size. The Orvis people were a huge help here I talked to them on the phone and based on the cut of the Sapper we decided on a xxl. I am 6'3" tall and 265 lbs the jacket still has a little room to layer but fits well. The quality of this jacket is excellent the waist draw it actually a bit above the waist but it is meant to be there."
Review 4 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yep, you'll really love this one!,
February 13, 2015
By: Fishinguy
from Black Creek, B.C.
"After a bit of an online ordering nightmare I opted for this jacket, which was much more than I'd originally planned to spend with Orvis. However, as soon as I put this jacket on, I knew I was going to keep it! Wow! Talk about cozy, stylin' and warm! I live on the west coast of Canada and I won't be cold again! My only comment would be to echo many of the previous reviewers who had suggested to go with the larger size. I did just that and it fits perfectly. Also, It is not just a shell...it's warm!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top class jacket,
February 13, 2015
By: Pree8700
"Great jacket good snug fit practical for any weather well pleased wear it most days"
Review 6 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I bought this,
February 13, 2015
By: Jummers1954
from Guernsey
"I had been putting off buying this coat as it is quite expensive but I am so glad I did get it, The quality is excellent, as you would expect from Barbour. It is really warm and even my wife commented on how nice it looks. So we are all happy!"
Review 7 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love Jacket - But Threads Unravel,
February 12, 2015
By: Aggie2013
from Dallas, TX
"I love this jacket. It does run large, so I had to exchange my Large for a Medium.
I also had issues with the stitching on the inside quilting coming unraveled. Not a terrible problem since Orvis will replace anything within a week if there is an issue with it no questions asked, but it was disappointing that a high quality brand like Barbour would produce a jacket with pour stitching.
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
February 12, 2015
By: JordanK1234
from Lexington, KY
"I am 6' 215lbs, athletic build and ordered a Large. I was delighted to find that it fit perfectly and was exactly what I was looking for. I am a bit concerned about the care instructions, since you can't machine wash OR dry clean it, but we'll deal with that as it comes. For now, it's my favorite jacket I've owned and is quite warm, but light enough to wear through the spring here in Kentucky."
Review 9 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great winter jacket,
February 2, 2015
By: Amanda82
"I got this for my fiancé for Xmas after buying the quilted jacket (which looked bad). The sizing was a bit weird (in my opinion). The XL was a little too big and am the L a little too small. I convinced him the XL was a better choice. It looks a lot nicer on him than the quilted one and its a classic that he can wear for years, so worth the money."
Review 10 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good all weather protection,
February 1, 2015
By: ecotraveler
from Northern Ohio
"Overall, I like the jacket. But the medium is a little snug; there won't be many layers underneath. I wanted a trim fit so bypassed the large. My short (33in) arms were another argument for the medium.
For the record, I have a 44in chest; 35 waist."
Review 11 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
January 26, 2015
By: Tdrisc
from KC Kansas
"One size up to fit layers underneath. Remember in the UK it is very damp and mildly cold. The built in liner is quilted and offers great protection without a lot of bulk. The Sapper is a very handsome jacket suitable for rugged wear or out on the town."
Review 12 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
January 23, 2015
By: Jreview
"I spent a lot of time trying to figure out which Barbour coat would work out for me (long arms and a slim torso didn't bode well), but I'm quite pleased with this one. It's warm, waterproof (just shoveled snow off the driveway in it, in fact), and the detailing is sharp. Typically, it seems to me that Barbour sleeves are pretty short- holds true with this coat. I got a large, and the sleeves are 33.5" inches or thereabouts. I wear a 35" dress shirt, but it works out anyway (despite being a little short). Very pleased with this coat- worth the investment, at least at this point."
Review 13 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality defined,
January 10, 2015
By: bigoldloser
"A great jacket. The fit is pretty good. I usually wear an XL (I'm 6'2" and 240) but due to reviews of other Barbour jackets I ordered XXL. It's got plenty of room to layer (maybe too much), but the sleeves are just right. They would probably be too short if I had ordered my correct size. Overall quality is excellent and it is warmer than I expected. It's a good looking jacket."
Review 14 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 29, 2014
By: TexanGuy
"Overall, this is a great jacket. Well made, warm and dry. Buy one."
Review 15 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Jacket,
December 9, 2014
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"I deliberated before purchasing this jacket due to the cost. No question about Barbour quality as I have enjoyed the Barbour Classic Durham Jacket. I did need a larger size in the Sapper for possible layering this winter. Bottom line, this Jacket provides excellent weather resistance in cold, wet, windy conditions. Wore it the first time in 38*F, rain w/ 15 knot North winds...kept me dry and warm in a cotton shirt. No regrets, outstanding Jacket!"
Review 16 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking jacket,
November 26, 2014
By: Jsdone
from Greensboro, NC
"In black it looks dignified and rather dressy. Nice and warm and not bulky for the warmth it provides. About the only critique I can mention is it is an exact fit and to add a bulky vest or sweater may make it a bit tight but other than that is is a wonderful jacket. The 2 way zipper really makes this jacket even more comfortable and versatile."
Review 17 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing,
November 6, 2014
By: Hank66
from Virginia
"5 stars with an exception. Wanted a Barbour jacket. Needed an XXL (50-52). Tried on this jacket, but it was too tight to zip. Tried on every Barbour in the store. While quality is unmatched, sizing is a problem. Same results. All too small. XXL is actually an L, at best, depending on where the jacket is made. However, discovered the Cowen Commando Sapper jacket in an XXL. That's the one with the Union Jack on the sleeve. This one is made in Bulgaria. Fits like a dream. Big enough to layer. I would recommend a Barbour to anyone, but be very careful of the sizing."
Review 18 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ready for winter in Aspen,
November 3, 2014
By: AmandaJane
from Aspen, CO.
"Let me start by saying the customer service Orvis provides goes above and beyond any retailer I've ever used. They were so prompt with my exchange, and even gave me a discount that left me with some extra Orvis credit for my next purchase. I bought my boyfriend the Barbour Sapper Jacket in preparation for our first winter in Aspen, CO. Pretty sure he hasn't taken it off yet. It's so warm and durable that there's no doubt we made the right decision purchasing this jacket! Highly recommended!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 25, 2014
By: MF2209
"The product is great although I regret having to order it from Orvis. I will only purchase from Orvis if I can't find the product anywhere else. Fortunately, I usually can. Once you have free shipping, like most companies, I will order more from your site."
Review 20 for Barbour® Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic and stylish,
February 24, 2014
By: Orvision
from New York
"Searched and searched for a men's jacket that is not blah - in black this is a handsome jacket with classic style. Debated about medium or large and in the end decided on the large even though the fit on the medium had a sharper appearance... just not quite perfect..only wish there was a half size in between."