Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Casual Wool Waistcoat

Relaxed and handsome, our pure wool waistcoat pairs well with jeans or chinos. Fully lined for an easy fit over any shirt. Two outside pockets. One inside pocket. 100% wool shell. 100% acetate lining. Dry clean.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 24" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (136 reviews)
5 stars
114
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
131 of 136(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Review 1 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vest.,
October 16, 2014
By: LL60
from Tropical Wisconsin
"A well made and classic wool vest, perfect with jeans or dressier pants. Really like this one."
Review 2 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Vest,
October 16, 2014
By: Jampa49
from Newburyport,MA
"I love this vest! It is stylish and comfortable.It works when I'm casual or dressed! It is an awesome purchase!"
Review 3 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
October 15, 2014
By: Bpapa
"Often have difficulty finding vests with large chest which are not able to be adequately adjusted at waist. The draw strap in the rear adjusts the waist taper nicely."
Review 4 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Vest.,
October 7, 2014
By: SeamusinAyr
from Ayr Michigan
"I love this vest. It has style. The materials are high quality as is the workmanship. Fit was very true to size. Very cozy garment. I may have to get it in each color.
My daughter has already demanded that I wear it every day. With the approach of Winter that is a welcome concept."
Review 5 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wool waist coat,
October 6, 2014
By: hornhead
"very well made. it is not a "vest" but a waist coat. the material goes completely around the back. I have gotten many compliments. I feel rather dapper when I wear it.
cheers
"
Review 6 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smashing combination!,
October 5, 2014
By: urizen
from Fredericton, NB, Canada
"Wear this vest with the houndstooth merino wool shirt featured AND the lambswool pants on the next page of the catalogue. The combination will get you rave reviews."
Review 7 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No Longer Vested,
October 3, 2014
By: Atlanta1
from Atlanta, GA
"Today I received my Casual Wool Vest via UPS. It looked nice coming out of the bag. I ordered a Large (42-44), since that is my standard size in a sport coat. So, I was disappointed to find that I swam in the vest. It was still too large even when tightened to the max in the back. Moreover, I don't care for how the vest rides up to the top of the collar rather than resting completely on the shoulders. The vest pictured online is true to look in that regard. Since it's wool and so close to the neck, you will find yourself itching. I'm returning it."
Review 8 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointment,
February 5, 2014
By: OldGuy1
"Actually, this vest is very, very nice EXCEPT the belt across the back is just odd. It is way too long and it hangs below the body of the vest. I could not adjust it to make it hang properly. I had to return it. It might be best without a belt."
Review 9 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
January 27, 2014
By: dbh53
from Naperville, IL
"Orvis provides the best selection and quality of men's waistcoats that I have found."
Review 10 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Wool Vest Is a Little Bit of Ireland,
January 16, 2014
By: DapperDan1
from Albany, NY
"I received this vest for Christmas. It is well made and the fabric quality it top notch. I've tried it on with a jacket and it looks very dapper. After visiting Ireland, I like the "Irish look." I've worn it with casual clothes and it is comfortable and looks really nice, especially with my Irish caps. In the spring, I'll wear it with my collarless shirts and my Irish caps. May get it in another color it it's available.
Very satisfied customer."
Review 11 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly Right,
January 15, 2014
By: dustydad
from New Mexico
"I wanted a tweed vest to dress up my long-sleeve shirts. Beautiful material, perfect fit, and a nice inside pocket for my glasses.
The vest gets lots of compliments.
"
Review 12 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Vest,
December 26, 2013
By: RodneyP
"This is a great vest. It is well made, lined, useful pockets, and dresses well with both jeans and cotton pants. I use it mostly in a more casual attire, like with blue jeans or khakis. Nice for a little core warmth without being bulky, and looking good doing it."
Review 13 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tweed,
December 25, 2013
By: Lizzie105
from Virginia
"This waistcoat will get you noticed in either a casual or a corporate environment whilst being comfortable and warm. The tweed also covers the back of the waistcoat for additional warmth. I would highly recommend the unsurpassed quality of Orvis."
Review 14 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casual Wool Vest,
December 18, 2013
By: WHATAGAL
from San Tana Row San Jose, CA
"Purchased this as a Christmas Gift for my Husband! I know he will absolutely love this! Can be worn well with Levis or Casual Dress Trousers! I would recommend Orvis Clothing to men or women. I have lots of item in Womens Clothing too. Great Tailoring and Fabrics! Love Love Love ORVIS! Thanks Jan"
Review 15 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
December 17, 2013
By: Lupita
from Paris
"High quality product, excellent fabric and classic design that fits perfectly."
Review 16 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vest,
December 16, 2013
By: trouthammer
from madison, wi
"Very sleek. Can easily dress this up or down. A bit pricey for me but I hope it lasts a lifetime which I think it will. Most orvis clothes to me seem a bit pricey but overall the quality is good and the customer servise is usually excellent. I like the style and color of this vest and plan on wearing it sept through early spring."
Review 17 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice piece,
December 16, 2013
By: Gardener007
from Surry, Maine
"but it was a bit less long than I would like. I have a long torso in general so if that's your case too, this might not be the best vest for you."
Review 18 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp vest,
December 14, 2013
By: MrTweedy
from Vancouver, BC
"I found this waistcoat both stylish and practical. The tailoring is good and the material quality likewise. It can be worn both casually, with denims, or with a sports jacket and trousers (don't forget the latter). I bought another one for my brother."
Review 19 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Snappy Look,
December 14, 2013
By: BigEasy
"Very sharp vest, get many compliments when paired with a red Xmas tie. Runs big, XL for me at 6'4" 215lbs not quite right, but still a great purchase."
Review 20 for Casual Wool Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Vest,
December 13, 2013
By: davetofan
from High Point, NC
"The quality is very high and the fit is exactly as promised. Excellent product to look dressed up, without overdoing it. The vest is also warm, but not too warm to where in an office. A great product."