Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Canvas Rancher's Jacket

The jean jacket is documented back to 1905 and became an American classic in the '50s when James Dean's cool factor made it a must. Today it is still one of the most popular items in the American wardrobe and has a trim and fitted look. This washed-down canvas version is finished with washable leather trim on the collar, the rear tab adjustments, and the lining of the cuff for a great look when turned up. Orvis shank buttons and copper Orvis rivets finish it off. Two front chest pockets and two lower slash pockets. Men's cotton canvas jacket in light olive only. Pure cotton with leather trim. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XXL(50-52). About 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.025 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
32 of 40(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Review 1 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality control,
March 2, 2013
By: Gripandrip
from Massachussetts
"Ive never purchased anything from Orvis, but my old dept. store barn coat was at end of life. I figured on sale, let's go with Orvis quality. Item arrived, had someone's wine shopping and grocery list in pocket. Also missing a button on the front. It's packed fo return now, wine list and all! customer service rep I spoke to was not very pleasant either. Not sure I will ever buy from Orvis again."
Review 2 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 31, 2013
By: SeaWing
"Leather collar adds a nice touch. Even on sale it is an expensive jean jacket, but it is nicely made"
Review 3 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Somewhat disappointed,
January 1, 2013
By: foolish
"For nearly $200, I expected more. An inside pocket was expected at a minimum. There was none.
The garment ran true to size. It was the color I expected."
Review 4 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
December 24, 2012
By: Annabell
from Mail order
"Bought it for my husband after he admired it in the catalog and he has loved it. Wears it often. Very happy with the jacket. The color goes with everything. The leather collar and tabs are just enough to make look smart."
Review 5 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit,
October 31, 2012
By: Rab1959
from Ayrshire
"This rancher's jacket fits me perfectly- length, chest and sleeves. It looks and feels a notch above the ordinary. It was my first Orvis purchase and I was delighted when it arrived within 3 days of my ordering it."
Review 6 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
new jacket,
October 30, 2012
By: JohnEG
from Norwich
"a decent quality, well-finished casual jacket that stands out from lesser quality jackets of the same style."
Review 7 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only from Orvis,
October 29, 2012
By: Thepierrepoint
from Dorset
"I liked this so much I bought another. Where else can you buy products like this? They are still too new so looking forward to wearing them in and years of use. I did buy at sale price and would not have paid full price."
Review 8 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rachers jacket No.2,
September 17, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Dorset,UK
"Bought the Ranchers jacket in tan last year and when I saw the olive version was reduced on line AND had an extra 25% off I jumped at it!Very comfortable,hard wearing and both with good colour.The leather collar goes well with the design and the jacket is ideal when the weather is bright but a bit breazy.Could do with an inside patch pocket and I'm not sure I need the extra movement offered by the side "flaps" at the back---- though they would probably be of use if and when I have to ride across my ranch one day!!All in all, both jackets feel and fit great,and I've now got one for the winter and one for summer!Oh ,and delivery from Orvis is excellent.This jacket came within a few days and a previous order for some boots was delivered the next day!!"
Review 9 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
September 4, 2012
By: Hoos
"I am very pleased with the style and quality of this jacket."
Review 10 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 27, 2012
By: Chloe16
"Well constructed great casual jacket, very versatile"
Review 11 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
August 21, 2012
By: Dougiepc
from Uk
"Great looking item of outerwear for cooler days or nights especially when worn with jeans ."
Review 12 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine jacket, ageless style.,
August 20, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Devon. UK
"Had been looking at this jacket for ages but could not justify £179 normal price. Fortunately, a recent Tent Sale coupled with the special Olympic savings made it an extremely good value purchase for me.
Adds more style to the usual "jeans/rock'n'roll/rodeo jacket".
As usual the Orvis cut is generous and "oversized", so, check the actual garment dimensions with Customer Service,or, Chat Line, before you select size.
I bought a size M which after wearing I would rate at as L.
Because of the inclusion of rear shoulder concertina darts wearing too small a size could result in an unsightly (shoulder blade) bulge in the jacket. So, becareful not to sacrifice classic style with a snug fit with regards to the cut and size.
Could be improved by a peg loop for hanging, inside pockets, needs buttons, or, a brass snap on each top pocket and a small size should be introduced. please.
Hence, overall 4 stars because of these points.
Thank you Orvis for Tent Sales and Olympic calibre offers!!"
Review 13 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canvas Rancher Jacket,
August 6, 2012
By: SilverDave
from Salisbury UK
"I have been looking for a denim jacket.This one is perfect it is not fitted. Cloth quality and construction both top notch.May be a little over washed.But fit of XL is spot on for my 49.5 in chest.My new go to jacket."
Review 14 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Home on the Range,
July 13, 2012
By: Furflinger
from Hexham, Northumberland
"Great jacket for cool evenings. Comfortable to wear and so unfashionable that it became a talking point. Good pockets for a fly box . Tough buttons. An excellent if eccentric purchase. Well done."
Review 15 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very average,
July 10, 2012
By: Canadoz
from BC Canada
"The construction quality of the garment seems good however my main dissapointment is the sizing. I would normally go for a medium to large depending on the manufacturer and after reading other reviews leant towards the medium. After wearing it, I would have rated this size at extra large. The shoulders are too wide and the body of it hangs out like a tent. For men with a large girth it may be fine.
The only other problem I had was with confusion over the colour. I thought I was getting the other one. I bought this online from Canada so not easy to return it. If there was a store around the corner I would. I'm not upset just dissapointed.
"
Review 16 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casual but with an air of quality.,
July 3, 2012
By: Rednib
from Nottingham
"Just love this jacket - perfect fit and the usual Orvis quality, will last me for years."
Review 17 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A nice jacket....,
July 2, 2012
By: dadpage1
from Ashbourne,Derbyshire,England
"Had been lusting after this for ages ! Eventually managed to get an olive example in the Tent Sale, so well pleased on price.
Appearance almost exactly as per the Orvis photograph- sturdy canvas material, shank buttons, copper rivets, soft leather trim on collar, cuffs & waist adjusters.
Ordered the 'Large' & fit is fine over a sweater- I'm 6ft, 160lbs. Have not washed it yet, but feel the slightly loose cut should accommodate any possible shrinkage....
"
Review 18 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canvas Ranchers Jacket,
July 2, 2012
By: EasyStrider65
from West Country, UK
"This garment is proving well made, durable and eye-catching. It washes well and provokes positive enquiry whenever worn. A pleasant alternative to the ubiquitous blue denim jeans jacket.. Highly recommended."
Review 19 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice jackets!,
June 1, 2012
By: barnstorm
from Medina, NY
"I ended up getting both of them once I noticed how well the first one fit. I caught them on sale, would not have bought them otherwise. A locker room hook on the back would be a plus. Also I think a brass orvis snap would be great in the middle of each upper pocket. One or two inside pockets would be wonderful.
I get a lot of compliments!
"
Review 20 for Canvas Rancher's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for:,
May 22, 2012
By: Sossidge
from Somerset UK
"I was looking for a lightweight jacket heavier than a shirt, with pockets, for summer evenings out with friends - not scruffy but casual and understated. Orvis came up with the right garment and I am very pleased with it. A good design. The leather trim sets it apart from other casual wear. Comfortable and different without being too fashionable, and not out of place in the pub, out on the range or sports club. The price is high compared to similar style denim jackets but the look makes it stand apart.."