Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater

Layer for cooler fall weather with these handsome wool quarter-zip sweaters for men. We use the finest merino wool available to create a soft, warm jersey-knit sweater that doesn't add unnecessary weight or bulk. Rib-knit trim and genuine leather appointments for distinctive looks and long wear. Sweaters for men are made of pure merino wool. Personalization with embroidery up to 3 letters available for this item. Initials will be listed as first, last, middle with the last initial in larger font. Embroidery on left chest in Orvis green thread. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (250 reviews)
5 stars
201
4 stars
32
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
3
240 of 250(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sweater,
December 19, 2014
By: DavidMc6
from Kincardineshire
"Fine Sweater,easy care. So good I bought a second one."
Review 2 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Product,
December 18, 2014
By: windwardeight8
from Oxford, Ct
"This was a gift for our very particular son who has everything. He loved it!! Why? Because of the weight of the wool, it fit beautifully over his shirts and the detailing was masculine, yet sophisticated. Also, it is offered in a variety of excellent colors. I and he would purchase another."
Review 3 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & nice fitting sweater,
December 18, 2014
By: JLbassman1213
from Duluth, Mn
"This Merino wool sweater is dressy, stylish, comfortable & warm.
Not bulky like many sweaters are.
This is a well made product.
I would highly recommend this sweater.
"
Review 4 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
December 18, 2014
By: DebraB
"This is the second of these sweaters I have purchased for my 18 year old son. They are beautifully constructed with handsome detailing on the zipper. Can be worn with jeans or nice slacks. Reasonably priced, especially if you have a coupon. I would recommend this sweater for all ages."
Review 5 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cover boy,
December 18, 2014
By: Sink
from Thousand Oaks, CA
"Excellent product, well made. Makes
me look like the catalog cover.
Warm without bulk.
Received on day indicated.
Plastic bag with sweater was jammed
in mail box, but no apparent damage.
A box would be better.
"
Review 6 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 18, 2014
By: JC15
from Quebec, Canada
"Great product,warm & soft,I wear XLarge and that fit well . Overall it a very good garment."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought as a gift.,
December 17, 2014
By: Sandiapple
"It arrived on time. Was really well accepted. Person called to thank us immediately. Never ordered from Orvis before. Couldn't be more satisfied with the results. Thanks"
Review 8 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
December 17, 2014
By: Scott112
from Wisconsin
"This is now my favorite sweater. It is very light and thin so it's comfortable all day in the office without overheating. A very well made, sharp looking sweater."
Review 9 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 17, 2014
By: Axel1955
from Alberta, Canada
"I purchased my first Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater just over a year ago. I now have 3 for me and have purchased my son 4; and he asked for a couple from Santa this year. My son works in accounting and wears one to the office most winter days."
Review 10 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 17, 2014
By: ASTROBOB
from Crown Point IN
"They don't get any better than this sweater -- top notch styling, roomy, comfortable and good to go anywhere. Just had to buy another one. Might continue buying."
Review 11 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater Ever,
December 17, 2014
By: Willie30
from Ada, MI
"Love the color; is lightweight but very warm. Liked it so much, ordered a second."
Review 12 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 16, 2014
By: luvmylabzeke
from Columbia, SC
"Great sweater, not too heavy. Can be worn casual or dressed up."
Review 13 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Standout Among Many,
December 16, 2014
By: Onevolt
from Edmonds, Wa
"There are many zipneck sweaters now offered by many companies, but the texture of the wool, the leather accent at the zipper, and the vividness of the color (purple) make mine the clear winner!"
Review 14 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 16, 2014
By: lmws
"Bought as a gift for a very picky brother and he loves it!"
Review 15 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality,
December 16, 2014
By: Kenan
from Scranton, Pa
"This sweater is exceptional quality. The medium size for me fits perfect and allows free arm movement while maintaining its sleek look. My only hesitation on it is it is lighter weight than I had though for a wool sweater. It is however a perfect sweater for all occasions especially where a the attire required is more formal."
Review 16 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful wool sweater,
December 16, 2014
By: CarolF
from New Jersey
"I bought this sweater for each of the men in my life in different colors this Christmas. It is a tad pricey, but worth it. lovely softness, nice fit. quality construction. Perfect for winter weather. Haven't met an Orvis product yet I did not like!"
Review 17 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Sweater,
December 16, 2014
By: tmackey
from Alabama
"In my opinion these are perfect sweaters. I don't think there is anything that could be done to improve them."
Review 18 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good idea,
December 16, 2014
By: HALLIE7
from PA
"Wanted a birthday gift for my son who lives out of state. This sweater I found in store, so I could see the quality///1 My son loved it! He is early 40's.The salesman could not have been more helpful, and the Orvis system of ordering from catalog in store worked very well."
Review 19 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater!,
December 15, 2014
By: tlhssi
from Atlanta, GA
"Of all the sweaters I have bought for the men in my family, these are of top quality, and are always appreciated and worn. Perfect weight and quality. A very distinguished and classy look. Have bought 4 of them and will undoubtedly buy more as colors change."
Review 20 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Satisfied w/Orvis clothing!,
December 15, 2014
By: Llightdancer1
from Saint Louis, MO
"I have been purchasing men's clothing from Orvis for many years because of the quality of the clothing! Currently purchasing these Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweaters for my adult son, who just loves them and practically lives in them all winter. He loves their versatility because they can be dressed up for work or look equally great with jeans and a button down shirt or turtleneck. He has lost some weight and has requested some new sweaters for this winter."