Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater

Layer for cooler fall weather with these handsome wool quarter-zip sweaters for men. We use the finest merino wool available to create a soft, warm jersey-knit sweater that doesn't add unnecessary weight or bulk. Rib-knit trim and genuine leather appointments for distinctive looks and long wear. Sweaters for men are made of pure merino wool. Personalization with embroidery up to 3 letters available for this item. Initials will be listed as first, last, middle with the last initial in larger font. Embroidery on left chest in Orvis green thread. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.715 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (355 reviews)
5 stars
287
4 stars
47
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
3
341 of 355(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT QUALITY,
April 17, 2015
By: Tigers68
from MI
"I was unsure of this sweater when I ordered it and was delighted when I first put it on. I did have to order a xx so be careful it runs small."
Review 2 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
April 1, 2015
By: Skuffy
from Middleton, MA
"Excellent product, service and delivery. A real pleasure doing business. Would always endorse Orvis."
Review 3 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an excellent mid-weight sweater,
March 31, 2015
By: dmgvaus
from Northern VA
"This sweater is a perfect weight for late fall and winter. The quality is what I have come to expect from Orvis and the Merino wool is perfect. It is the perfect choice for many occasions"
Review 4 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice,
March 31, 2015
By: Mc70
"Enjoy wearing this sweater...very warm and comfortable. Can wear with a T shirt or with a button down shirt underneath."
Review 5 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality,
March 10, 2015
By: JakeH
from Boca Raton, FL
"As all of the other items I have ordered from Orvis, you can tell quality craftsmanship comes first. The only thing about this sweater is that it is a little loose on the arms."
Review 6 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wool sweater,
February 26, 2015
By: Simpss01
from Warren, OR
"I purchased this sweater las year and immediately order another one of a differen color. When the same sweater went on sale this year I bought another color. The sweater is soft and warm, but not too warm. Very comfortable."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the new standard uniform,
February 25, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"I see this look everywhere during the cooler months, over a shirt and under a jacket or sport coat. Thought it might work for me, too. Bought the "autumn" color to go with all those tweeds and tattersalls in my closet. Made me look like The Great Pumpkin. Sadly, returned it. Really fine merino knit, light, with a nice finish, and good color. Well-made."
Review 8 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
average,
February 18, 2015
By: chino
from nj
"a little on the thin side; I expected it to be thicker & heavyer."
Review 9 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Sweater,
February 17, 2015
By: Jcw042
from Huntsville
"While this sweater does have its downfalls such as the unusual neck fit and the rather thin material, it still is super soft and comfortable. Not quite warm enough for cold weather but great for layering. Have not washed it yet but am curious about how it will react to being washed."
Review 10 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding,
February 16, 2015
By: JRRSOX
from Mechanicsburg, PA
"quality product! usual orvis craftsmanship and design. looks good dressed up or down comfort beyond compare!!"
Review 11 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
go green,
February 16, 2015
By: pmkeogh
from dedham, ma
"Ordered a sweater for my husband that he loves. Great green- ready for St. Patrick's Day!"
Review 12 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 16, 2015
By: bridgee
from saskatoon Canada
"Light, yet very warm.
Looks great with both jeans and dress slacks.
"
Review 13 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Merino Wool Sweater,
February 10, 2015
By: LeanOne
from Rochester Hills, MI
"The neck circumference seems to be a bit small and as a result the partially zipped appearance is somewhat awkward and the feel is uncomfortable. Zipping it up fully is also uncomfortable with the small neck size.
FYI, my neck size is 15 1/2 for a dress shirt.
"
Review 14 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best 1/4 Zip Sweater Out There,
February 10, 2015
By: MikeSkier
from Colorado
"This sweater is a great garment and a real value, The quality is top notch, fit is spot-on, and the look and feel of it is perfect. Color selection is really good-I bought three of them."
Review 15 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Four to Go,
February 9, 2015
By: ICastaFly45
from Oakland, Michigan
"Best sweater for under a sport coat or lite jacket. I now have 4 of these sweaters.
A Quality Value.
"
Review 16 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
February 6, 2015
By: Mike1948
"just the right about of warmth provided by this sweater"
Review 17 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
February 5, 2015
By: Whalestail
from Northwest
"I ordered this item about a year ago. Now I have it in three colors. Obviously I like the product."
Review 18 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful Gift,
February 5, 2015
By: NathanJ
from Clintonville, OH
"I received this sweater as a gift and liked it as soon as I unwrapped it Christmas morning. It's very soft and the color is very vibrant. It is light weight enough to layer over a button up shirt without being uncomfortably warm while indoors.
I am 5'11" 155lbs and the small fit me perfectly as I don't like my clothing to be baggy on me. I received a medium originally and where the sleeves join the body was just a little too baggy. I'm glad I sized down to a small.
The returns process was super easy and quick.
"
Review 19 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Inferior Quality,
February 5, 2015
By: MattWnyc
"The elastic on the bottom of the sweaters loses its elasticity after 2 wears. Material seems shoddy and cheap.
That explains the low cost! @ of my sweaters are being returned.
"
Review 20 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Repeat buyer,
February 4, 2015
By: Traveler17
from San Diego
"An ideal light sweater for SO CAL winters when our evening temps dip into the 50s F. XL sizing is generous for me at 6'2", 200 lbs."