Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater

Layer for cooler fall weather with these handsome wool quarter-zip sweaters for men. We use the finest merino wool available to create a soft, warm jersey-knit sweater that doesn't add unnecessary weight or bulk. Rib-knit trim and genuine leather appointments for distinctive looks and long wear. Sweaters for men are made of pure merino wool. Personalization with embroidery up to 3 letters available for this item. Initials will be listed as first, last, middle with the last initial in larger font. Embroidery on left chest in Orvis green thread. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (327 reviews)
5 stars
269
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
3
316 of 327(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best 1/4 Zip Out There,
January 30, 2015
By: MikeSkier
from Colorado
"Orvis' Merino Woll Zip Neck sweater stands alone as the best value, most masculine looking 1/4 zip on the market. The leather accents are subtle but effective in transforming the garemnt into a 'guys' zip neck sweater. The weight and feel of the wool is first rate. Color selection is spot-on. This is THE zip neck sweater choice."
Review 2 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
travel sweater,
January 30, 2015
By: TIGHT
from Oceanside, CA
"this is an attractive, light weight, yet warm sweater which is great for layering and travel use."
Review 3 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice!,
January 29, 2015
By: Sierra7
from Tunkhannock, Pa
"The Merlino Wool Zip Neck Sweaters is stylish and classy. Wears nicely over a shirt or tee shirt. One of my go to winter quarter zips."
Review 4 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
January 29, 2015
By: ThePoolMan
from Mtn. Lake Park, MD
"I got the sweater before we left for FL, so it came just in time. Thanks!
Manning Smith"
Review 5 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Satisfied,
January 29, 2015
By: Whiteoak1
"The fit was perfect. I am 6'4" and 260 and the XXL fits perfectly over a dress shirt. I am received numerous compliments on the sweater. I plan to buy one in another color."
Review 6 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color problem,
January 28, 2015
By: Elmo15
"Nice material and good fit. Unfortunately the Navy color looks almost black. I will be returning it."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
January 28, 2015
By: richardinmaine
"This product is cut too short in the body for a tall person and therefore I returned it. I would recommend that it be cut longer or that a TALL size be instituted."
Review 8 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater For All Seasons,
January 28, 2015
By: BINGS57
from Rochester,NY
"Neat sweater for use in any situation; over shirts, over T shirts ,or just an additional layer while traveling.
Highly recommend and would buy another if all colors were available"
Review 9 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable sweater!,
January 27, 2015
By: skbuilder
from Atlanta, GA
"The first day that I wore this sweater I got a compliment from a pretty woman about "how sharp I looked". That made my day. This sweater is very comfortable and is also quire warm."
Review 10 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater ever,
January 26, 2015
By: JoeH1
from Stroudsburg, PA
"My Merino Zip-Neck Sweater is by far the sharpest sweater in my collection."
Review 11 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfy,
January 26, 2015
By: EricNB
from Western Massachusetts
"Great for work or a day at home. Merino wool is soft and non-itchy, warm without being uncomfortable or cloying. Got the first one as a gift and ended up buying two more."
Review 12 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Definitely solid purchase,
January 23, 2015
By: Jreview
"Firstly, I'm not exactly the typical Orvis purchaser, from what I've seen. I'm a younger person, of more slight build than many products are cut for. However, this pullover works out nicely for me. The fabric is very soft (a little thinner than anticipated, but quite nice), and drapes pretty well. I'm 6'3", 175 lbs, and the large is only slightly bigger than I'd prefer. Worth noting that the collar is a bit untraditional- it's hard to describe, but it's not by any means a negative."
Review 13 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat customer,
January 23, 2015
By: Fabrizio
from New Jersey
"Received as a gift at Christmas and loved it so much ordered another. One. Great fit, not bulky , vey comfortable. And good price (especially when on sale!)"
Review 14 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good sweater,
January 22, 2015
By: WannabeOutdoorsyGuy
"I agree with the other reviewers that the sweater is extremely comfortable, warm and good looking. Every time I wear it, I receive positive comments and it gets noticed all day. While I normally wear a Medium, for Orvis sweaters I need to order Smalls to avoid swimming in them. Orvis does not always offer every sweater in Small - just noting."
Review 15 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit!,
January 20, 2015
By: BJDW
from Greenville, SC
"My husband wears a size small and this sweater was a perfect fit for him. We would have bought more colors if they had been available. The sweater is lightweight, but warm."
Review 16 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
January 15, 2015
By: McDRugby
from Latham, NY
"I received an Orvis Merino wool zip-neck sweater for Christmas and it was great right out of the box.
I've worn it several times, pairing it with various shirts and was complimented each time. I liked the sweater so much I ordered another one in dark green and my only regret is that I did not order it in navy before it sold out in my size.
I hope this is an Orvis staple for years to come.
"
Review 17 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Sweater,
January 14, 2015
By: FourXFive
from Asheville, NC
"These sweaters are just perfect. The quality, the softness, the weight are just great. I have four in different colors."
Review 18 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loved it.,
January 7, 2015
By: SEBC
"Fit very well. The material of this sweater was very soft. Will certainly make future purchases from Orvis. Was shipped in timely fashion."
Review 19 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Product,
January 6, 2015
By: Baxterpuppy1
from Richmond, VA
"Although I did not receive my sweater until after Christmas, I already consider it my favorite sweater. It is beautiful, soft, and quite comfortable. I wear it on every occasion I can."
Review 20 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made and functional,
January 5, 2015
By: Sealman
from Long Island, NY
"Saw them in the store and thought they were very nice quality. Decided to give as a gift for Christmas."