Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Kangaroo Upland Glove

The strongest leather in the lightest weight–plus a fine and handsome pebble grain–makes durable kangaroo leather the ultimate for your gunning glove. A classic shooting–glove fit gives you optimum grip and dexterity. Waterproof and breathable glove lining for comfort. Leather shooting gloves in brown. Not available in California. Imported.Sizes: M(8½-9"), L(9-9½"), XL(9½-10").
Average Customer Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Review 1 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Glad I made the purchase,
July 13, 2015
By: TimMcD
from Westwood, MA
"These kangaroo gloves are exceptionally well made; I did have some concern with a blind buy, as sizing on gloves can be tricky. These are perfect and the leather is smooth, soft and lined well. I (almost) can't wait for the cold to return"
Review 2 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Looking But Not Too Warm,
March 27, 2015
By: dearhubby
from NY
"Great looking gloves. Fit well. But not for cold weather."
Review 3 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not to the Orvis Standard!,
March 23, 2015
By: Safariman
"The overall fit and quality was sorely lacking. I ordered an XL and it didn't even come to my wrist. The fingers were uneven, some wide, some thin. The "waterproof" tag, as mentioned by another reviewer, is still on the outside. The leather and the lining felt inferior and just don't justify the cost, even with the discount."
Review 4 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nicely made, but too thick.,
March 23, 2015
By: Urbock
from the high desert
"These gloves are very nicely made, but I found them too thick for shooting purposes. I returned them under Orvis's convenient return policy."
Review 5 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not shooting gloves,
March 20, 2015
By: Flyfishcamera
from Chicago
"Nice warm gloves, well made. Marketed as shooting gloves; unfortunately the lining limits the tactile feeling. Great for cold weather driving, but limited as a shooting glove"
Review 6 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
'Roo gloves,
March 20, 2015
By: DanPaul
from Sonoma County, California
"Very nice gloves that fit well. Just right for a Northern California dog walking in the winter. Pricey but they feel like they will last forever."
Review 7 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicely made glove for shooting,
March 12, 2015
By: JBryan
from Kennesaw GA
"I bought a pair of kangaroo gloves from Orvis several years back for winter shooting but the fingers were so ridiculously long I could not use them for shooting - they hung up with double triggers. These are much better, not insulated but still warm and a good fit. The kangaroo is tough and when using hammerguns the thumb doesnt wear thru as quickly as deerskin from cocking the hammers."
Review 8 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality gloves,
December 30, 2014
By: KMich
from Salt Lake City, UT
"These gloves live up to the Orvis reputation for quality."
Review 9 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
November 24, 2014
By: Tomcat1
"Excellent product. Returned for size, Ran large, but will reorder!!"
Review 10 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Like them, don't love them,
November 14, 2013
By: giantbeagle
from Canandaigua, NY
"On the plus side, the leather is very nice, and these gloves allow for great flexibility in using your hands. On the minus side, they're not particularly warm, a trade-off for the flexibility I suppose.
What really irritates me is a black, artificial-fiber tag, sewn in the outside seam of each glove that says "WATERPROOF" in large, all caps letters. Why is this here? I don't need my clothing to announce its attributes. It makes them look cheap. I'm afraid to remove it because it would probably compromise the seam. The tag is strangely not visible in the photo on the webpage."
Review 11 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kangaroo gloves,
February 13, 2013
By: DoubleH
from north carolina
"Purchased the gloves on sale. I find them to be warm, stylish and comfortable. They fit my hand extremely well. I am inpressed with their durability. Wore them hunting and had no problem when encountering briars. They are equally nice in the woods or on the town."
Review 12 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not shooting gloves,
January 2, 2013
By: cottoncandy
"I purchased these gloves for shooting gloves. They are lined and to thick for shooting gloves. They are very nice dress gloves if you live in a colder climate."
Review 13 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't Wait to Use,
December 11, 2012
By: ABCDEbs
from Michigan
"These gloves have good dexterity, flexibility and durability. They will be perfect for December hunting. They look great so may even get some wear around town. However, the dogs don't care what I look like in the grouse woods."
Review 14 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered a third pair!,
January 27, 2012
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"This is the glove you never want to be without. Ordered a third pair to make sure I have a pair in every vest and/or shooting bag and they are on sale this month. Have yet to wear a pair out and the pair I wore for over 30 days this past fall I wear for cold weather dress gloves. I am far from wealthy, but I look rich in these gloves. Compared the Orvis Kangaroo gloves to the others I purchaseded from a national outdoor retailer. If you want them, I'll send them to you."
Review 15 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Made, Tough,
January 12, 2012
By: Woody63
from Colorado
"These gloves are extremely well made. I used them on a month long wing shooting trip to Montana and the Dakotas and they only look better. I use them day to day in the winter.
A bit on the small side so order up if in doubt.
Expensive, but I like to buy something once."
Review 16 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 31, 2011
By: Ameen
from Oregon
"Has a good feel kept my hands warm on a 30 degree hunt have used it a few times holding up well dose not interfere with shooting"
Review 17 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A bit over priced,
March 16, 2011
By: hdbenham
from Golden, CO
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The gloves are soft, look and feel good. I did read reviews about value and cost but purchased anyway because of kangaroo hide performance on hunting boots. Time will tell if the money spent was wise for longevity in the field..."
Review 18 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pricey but very nice,
January 11, 2010
By: lexidodson
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great gift idea, very good quality, great fit and comfort, verrrryyy expensive. couldn't find anything comparable that was in stock anywhere else online so purchased this ridiculously priced glove. pleased with product but a little overpriced."
Review 19 for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tough & Toasty,
November 29, 2009
By: LongWalks
from Milford, Ohio
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is one tough leather. The insulation and construction make this one durable and yet dapper glove. I only question the pricing/value compared to the many other options of gloves that are out there.
If price is no object, I think you'll be hard pressed to find a better looking, tough and toasty alternative. If they were a much lower price, you couldn't find a better glove, the question is, what is the perfect glove worth to you?"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer CostJanuary 5, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to explain that kangaroo leather items have become very popular for the rare combination of toughness and feather light feel they provide. The flip side, of course, is that the price of kangaroo leather is higher than products made of traditional leather. Most customers agree with you that the extra cost is worth it.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Kangaroo Upland Glove
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2