Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

The Gentleman's Chukka

You can see the quality of this boot from a distance. Put it on, and it's verified. With construction far beyond the normal chukka boot, this is a ruggedly handsome, three-eyelet ankle boot of the finest full-grain leather with heavy contrast stitching in the welt. Fully lined in soft glove leather; deeply cushioned insole. Lightweight Vibram® outsole. Leather chukka boots in brown. US whole and half sizes 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
41 of 49(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gentleman's Chukka
Review 1 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just as advertised,
July 22, 2013
By: wolfe
from Madisonville KY
"perfect fit & appears to be well made. look forward to years of wear!"
Review 2 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Newer not always better,
March 3, 2013
By: jwh508
"I had a pair of the old style of this boot. had a much pointed toe, which for some reason always ellicited great comments about this unique boot. Was wearing this pair out so ordered new pair. Not the same. Shape is much more predestrian. So, I had older pair resoled. Please consider original design. It was classy and unique like ORVIS should be."
Review 3 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor sizing,
February 12, 2013
By: Hendrickson
from New York
"Size 11M was really a size 12
It was also extra wide.
"
Review 4 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
January 24, 2013
By: Burkieburke
from Albany, NY
"Very comfortable and sturdy. They get better each time I wear them."
Review 5 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks cheap and too clunky!!,
January 9, 2013
By: ST6411
"Sent shoes back after I received them. Shoes looked really cheap. They run really big in size and looked too clunky."
Review 6 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality boot,
December 22, 2012
By: Dave47
from Indiana
"High quality product, very comfortable right out of the box. I have a pair of oil tanned chukka boots that I have had for a year and have been wearing almost daily. I usually wear a 9M but had to send those back and get a 10. I ordered these in a 9.5 and had to send them back for a 9. These boots are true to size as the oil tanned were not. Both high quality boots."
Review 7 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
October 30, 2012
By: blackfish6666
from Dartmoor. UK
"Quite the most comfortable shoes I have. Great Orvis quality."
Review 8 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wrong size,
October 9, 2012
By: Cascade
from Heathfield, East Sussex
"Having successfully ordered a pair of shoes previously - one size up from my UK size . I subsequently went ahead and ordered a pair of chukka boots again one size up, only to find they were far to big.Next
size down were still to big . Third time lucky ....I hope!
The service was fine.
"
Review 9 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality shoe,
October 3, 2012
By: inkabijou
from Newcastle, UK
"This shoe is excellent quality and even better value for money since it was in the Sale items. Unfortunately the size I would normally have ordered (I have other shoes from Orvis) was too small and so I had to return the goods. Refund followed immediately."
Review 10 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chukka Set #2,
September 23, 2012
By: FPPP
from Portland, OR
"I recieved the 2012 version of this product. I was surprised to see that they have cut the toe to a more rounded style. I prefered the old style, which had far dressier cut. The picture definitely is not representative of what you get, now.
They have put a new Vibram sole on, an improvement over the older one which broke apart. Hopefully, this will last longer than the first sole.
I hope they go back to the old cut but they are still a viable product. Just be advised that the picture is not the profile you will receive."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not what you are expecting@,
September 19, 2012
By: CaptainClaude
"Just FYI, I wore these for the first time today. Fit is great and I love the look, but it's nothing like the pix in the catalogue suggest. I was expecting something light, fairly thin soles and possibly appropriate for wear with a blaze. Not at all what these are. They are heavy, winter time boots. Thick soles (vibram) and very rounded toes. These suit me fine because I wear mostly jeans and khaki's, but if you expect these to be appropriate for semi-dress wear...think again. Fit great, look great with khaki's, but they are definitely not suit worthy. These are BOOTS. Make no mistake about it. I'm happy, but wanted to give a headsup to those who might think they are more dressy than they really are."
Review 12 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good boot,
June 8, 2012
By: Carnoch
from Inverness UK
"A good boot, but it's not in the same class as Red Wing.
Nice to look at, comfortable, but won't last the course.
I'd rather spend extra."
Review 13 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes!,
February 13, 2012
By: Gahunting
"Purchased these recently and I've enjoyed them. Not to heavy, very comfortable and look great."
Review 14 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
February 9, 2012
By: AnyRiver
from Berkeley, CA
"Liked the looks in the catalog, but loved them in person and wore them straight out of the box. Got compliments the first day. Comfortable and stylish - new favorite shoes."
Review 15 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Runs large,
February 7, 2012
By: Wall
from Williamsburg, VA
"Great looking shoe but runs a whole size large. Looks like a quality pair of shoes, but I had to return them. I have a smaller size on order, but have to wait until July before I see them. I'll write an in-depth review after I get the proper fit."
Review 16 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Khakis, Cords or Jeans,
February 6, 2012
By: uplandgun
from Charlotte, NC
"Great, well-made, comfortable chukkas with quality materials and workmanship"
Review 17 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Heel Cup Flaw?,
February 6, 2012
By: TreePlanter
"Absolutely LOVEd these boots in every way except for one deal breaker: There is a sewn seam that connects two pieces in the heel cup area, and the result is a small ridge that caused pain and blisters. Unfortunately, I had to return them. Wish it were not so."
Review 18 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality shoe,
February 3, 2012
By: Hughd51
from N Ireland
"These are quality goods that are supple yet supportive shoes that exude quality ."
Review 19 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely The Best,
January 17, 2012
By: Author923
from Aspen, Colorado
"This is the second pair I've purchased. The first I've been wearing for about two years. They are a fantastic pair of boots. I bought the second pair to save in case anything ever happens to the first pair. I was so happy to see that Orvis still carried them. I receive compliments about them when ever I wear them. They are very comfortable and look great. If you have the chance don't pass them up."
Review 20 for The Gentleman's Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor fit,
January 5, 2012
By: jenkins3
"I love the look of the shoe. Unfortunately, it is extremely tight across the top of the foot. Even though it was the right size for length and I ordered standard width, I couldn't even get my foot all the way into the boot. I had to return them. I'm curious if others have found the same problem."