Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Chelsea Wool Duffle Coat

Take on the cold in a coat that's been keeping soldiers and civilians warm since World War I. Classic details include solid wood toggles with natural hemp anchors, an attached hood, and a full two-way front zip for added protection from the cold. Duffle coat has leather-trimmed patch pockets and a full satin lining. In dark navy. Wool/nylon. Dry clean. Made in USA. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 31⅛" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (3 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 of 3(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chelsea Wool Duffle Coat
Review 1 for Chelsea Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice coat, terrible fit,
December 13, 2014
By: 4x4ever
from Cleveland, Ohio
"The description of this coat should list it as a "slim fit". I could barely get my biceps through the sleeves and I'm just an average build. My chest is a 44 and I bought an XL meant for 46-48 chest. The chest fit was fine but the way the sleeves are sewn on really restricts your range of motion - raise your arms and the whole coat rises up. The fit through the armpits is terrible. Sleeve length was short - when extending your arms as if to drive a car, they became ~3" too short. This coat is too thin for winter use unless you layer with a thick sweater but the sleeves are probably too small for much layering."
Review 2 for Chelsea Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
winter coat review/ Schott blue,
November 19, 2014
By: petro26
from Glens Falls, NY
"Love the look, the fit, the warmth...only issue is how the rope that's used sheds onto the blue fabric and drives me crazy cleaning it"
Review 3 for Chelsea Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chelsea Duffle Coat,
November 8, 2013
By: 450400
"Very Disappointing
.
This coat is simply not heavy enough nor insulated to provide protection in the winter. It is inadequate as a winter coat for the Northeastern US.
Further, the size large that I ordered (I wear a 43 sport coat) was at least three inches too short in the sleezes for me.
The sleeves are cut so narrowly that it wouls be impossible to wear this over a sport coat or even a sweater.
It is an expensive coat and way overpriced for what is provided.
Poorly designed, poorly cut, poorly sized.
Simply not up to Orvis standards, or mine."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 5, 2013
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the coat did not meet his expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.