Orvis Ratings and Reviews

The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD

Wind the knots you need for successful fly fishing, easily, quickly, and precisely, every time. This innovative and practical fly-fishing tool ties nail knots, blood knots, surgeon's knot, Albright knots, improved clinch knots, and many more classic fishing knots, broken down in the easy-to-follow step-by-step DVD to make the patent-pending technology simple to use. Small and lightweight to keep on the water. Made in USA. Note to customers: As anglers, many of us would love nothing more than to have an automated knot-tying tool. Unfortunately, one has yet to be invented—which is why we recommend The Winder. It's designed to assist you with tying the most common fly-fishing knots, and as far as knot-tying tools go, it's one of the most thoughtful and versatile ones on the market. With a little practice, and some help from the DVD, The Winder is an extremely handy streamside gadget.
Average Customer Rating:
2.353 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 star
6
5 of 17(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Review 1 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Bad Bad,
January 19, 2014
By: Bassistross
from Austin, TX, USA
"This tool will not do much of what it claims. It wholly failed on blood knots and did not perform well on any other."
Review 2 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Difficult to use,
November 25, 2013
By: 1mudshark
from MArlton,NJ
"It's much easiier to tie knots by hand. Too complicated."
Review 3 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Winder Knot Tyer,
August 16, 2012
By: KBR1
from Porter Corners, NY
"This tool does come with a DVD and perhaps if I practiced each knot daily it might prove useful but who has time for that? I have to refer to the DVD every time I use the device and it still is problematic and complicated. Also, the device I have looks a bit different than the DVD but there is no explanation why. This pricey little number stays home - not recommended."
Review 4 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very Complex Tool to use,
June 5, 2012
By: waynea
from Evergreen, Co
"I am a beginning fly fisher and found this tool to be too complex to use. I cannot even imagine being out on the river and trying to remember all the knots! Great concept but, wow - will never use.
Found a great knot tying website and was able to learn the knots needed to be self sufficient on the river in a very short time.
"
Review 5 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tying knots,
January 1, 2012
By: Bobo24
"Excellent tutorial for basic fly fishing knots. Keeps you out of trouble an possible mishaps by not tying the right way"
Review 6 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Works good but easy to loose parts,
November 14, 2011
By: svango
from Finger Lakes Region, NY
"I had this tool for a few years and in that time period, I lost the screw on barrel three times. After extensive searching, the barrel was found the first two times but not so lucky the third time ... now the tool is worthless and too expensive to replace.
As far as actual operation, I found the tool to be a great knot tying tool.
"
Review 7 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Winder Knot -Tyer,
November 2, 2011
By: FIG123
"This tool is not all it's cracked up to be. It's over priced and does not preform as advertised. It will take you some time to get the hang of it, good luck if you do. There's cheaper tools out there that do job even better. Don't waste your money."
Review 8 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
really fast knots,
October 21, 2011
By: hunterbird
from MA
"Works well with a little practice. DVD is good but there should be written instruction, would be easier to follow. Just a little pricy."
Review 9 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Winder Knot Tyer,
July 10, 2011
By: FireFly2
"I've had this tool for over 6 months and have not got the hang of it yet. I thought it was just me. But after reading the reviews of others, they are correct. This tool is just to complicated to use on the water. There are better tools on the market to use."
Review 10 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice tool...but falls short,
June 23, 2011
By: joaxe
from Willow Grove, PA
"I picked up the Winder knot tying tool because I wanted to use it for joining tippets to leaders.
I was looking for a tool to help me tie the blood knot which appears to be stronger than other knots. However, I found the tool to be only slightly faster than me tying a blood knot by hand. I also found that using the tool to tie other knots was also "more complicated than it should be". Maybe if it was half-priced...but certainly not for $24.
I use the Tie-Fast knot tying tool and will just use the "nail knot splice" (a.k.a. double nail knot) to join tippets to leaders. Either that or I can hand tie a double Uni knot. Plus, using the Tie-Fast is WAY faster than using the Winder.
I returned the Winder to my local Orvis store."
Review 11 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sent it back,
February 20, 2011
By: CycleGirl
from Burlington, VT
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Too complicated. Unfortunately, I could not even master the simple nail knot using this tool. I really tried hard. I have small, nimble fingers too. The only instructions are in video format. I would prefer to have paper instructions because stopping and re-starting the video while trying to tie the knot was cumbersom. Also this tool has so many twists and turns in it, that remembering all the steps would be difficult without a paper "cheat sheet" to reference when out on the stream. I sent it back and Orvis promptly refunded my money."
Review 12 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why make things simple...,
December 11, 2010
By: jlb03457
from France
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I was also eager to discover the tool...until I watched the video. this is much too complicated to take streamside unless you have spent hours looking at the video and practicing in front of your screen. I have been using the Cinch Tie for over 12 years all over the map including on saltwater and love it. And it has a small booklet you can take along in case you forget a particular knot. I wish Orvis would put it back on the catalogue as mine is beginning to show its age."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 18, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the Knot-Tyer did not meet his expectations. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. We forwarded these comments to the product developer for review. Customer Service also offered to exchange this item or issue a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 13 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Making the simple complicated,
December 28, 2009
By: marcusw
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I thought this would be a great streamside tool for knot tying, and anxiously awaited its arrival. Having watched the instructional video several times I found I could tie my most used knots far more easily other ways, and some knots were hopelessly complicated, including the nail knot, which I can tie using a twig found on the bank if I am stuck. Also without constant use I couldn't fathom out the machinations required unless the video was playing. Ultimately I could find no good reason to carry this anywhere and don't. It is well made and looks great, and for that I can't fault it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Excellent tool,
December 13, 2009
By: Riverrat40
from Danbury NC
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This tool works well with all knots. With practice they are almost as good a hand tied. Makes it easier and faster to tie leaders."
Review 15 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as helpful as I had hoped,
December 8, 2009
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I had hoped for a tool that would really make it easy to tie a wide varity of knots. Although this tool, is well made, it just doesn't live up to my expectations. Although I don't have large fingers, I found it difficult to hold the line in the required positions at the very small tip of the tool. Although this tool may help for some knots, I found that for those knots that I typically use, it was faster and easier to do them by hand. For those knots like the nail knot that I can't tie without a mechanical aid, I found the specialized tool incorporated with my nippers worked just as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nifty tool,
February 8, 2009
By: ThousandflyHerman
from Charlotte, NC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a beautifully engineered brass and stainless steel set of pen-sized cylinders that fit together to help you secure leader materials or fly line for knot tying. It does make tying the double nail knot much easier; it is now a part of my streamside equipment."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Winder Knot-Tyer with DVD
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1