Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster

Holsters like these were common on quail plantations in the early 1900s, and are just as functional today. We took the original's classic design and quality craftsmanship to create a version distinctively Orvis. Full distressed-leather construction, protective flaps with rolled leather keepers, and brass hardware on the adjustable belt. Holsters slide on the belt so you can find the most comfortable position. Holds 100 rounds of 12-gauge shells. Sizes: M/L(36-42), L/XL(42-50).
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Review 1 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shell Bags - below average belt,
October 8, 2014
By: NautiBuoy
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"Have purchase several pieces of Bullhide luggage (and love them) & thought this would be similar in quality, I was wrong. Belt is far too big, had to punch 8 more holes to get to fit 40" waist. Should of ordered a Med/Large (my error). As pointed out in several reviews, the belt curls under the weight of shells. I would of paid another $50 to get a more sturdy belt. Pouches are great, stand up well and will last forever. Will need to buy a 1 3/4" - 2" belt and suspect a wading belt will be best option. Bottom line, would recommend to a friend but advise to expect to buy a more sturdy belt."
Review 2 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Half of It Is Great...,
October 21, 2013
By: Schatzman
from New Hampshire
"Like everyone else has stated, the bags themselves are fantastic but the belt is simply terrible. I purchased these at the Manchester store and noticed right away how terrible the belt was. So I knew what I was getting myself into. I swapped the belt out and I have no major complaints. I use them for trap shooting mostly. One pouch can hold a box of 25 easily. By box I mean i put the actual box in there. I use the second for my empties. Orvis should put these pouches on their higher quality belt."
Review 3 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Disappointing product/service,
September 14, 2013
By: BigEd101
from N Ireland
"I had had many issues simply ordering the holster. HAving spoken to Orvis in both America and England I was able to place the order. I had several issues. Reviews stated that the belt was poor and lightweight for the job it was required to do. I found this also to be the case. A representative suggested that reviews are mostly negative anyway until I pointed out that in fact the overall ratings were good but there were minor issues. I asked if Orvis had payed heed to the reviews and she felt that it take quite a long time for Orvis to respond to genuine criticism. Secondly issues with ordering on line and cost. Because the web page would not let me order I spoke with Orvis UK. I placed the order and discussed size. I was advised that my waist size, 40, would require an XL. This was way too big and one of the reasons I returned the product. I was also charged extra for the larger size. I thought the extra cost for for embossing which I did not want but not the case. I wonder how the charging works as embossing is charged for? I was also promised a phone call to discuss the price but I never receive the call. Orvis claim that I was unavailable. Because I ordered the XL, on advice, I had to return the item as well as the poor quality belt. I was charged postage which Orvis is refunding but only because I complained.
The product has great potential but if Orvis is not prepared to listen to its customers, some of whom have been faithful to the company here and abroad for years, then other companies are as keen to sell their products to people like me who are looking for a good honest product.
"
Review 4 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice shell bag and belt,
November 29, 2012
By: weewa
from houston tx
"It is hard to find such a nice shell bag without breaking the bank."
Review 5 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice bags, first class,
November 8, 2012
By: Todd2
from San Diego, Ca.
"The Gokey Heirloom leather shell bags are really nice quality bags. They'll last a life time. I wish the belt that the bags came with was the same quality though, the belt needs to be a little larger in diameter, when carrying full bags of shells the belt starts to fold. Overall the product of the bag is great, wish I had bought them earlier in life."
Review 6 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift,
October 29, 2012
By: rjc58
from fredericksburg, VA
"I ordered this leather shell holster for my brother as a gift. He is an avid shooter and appreciates quality accessories when goes to the range. He called me shortly after he received it since he put it right to use and loved everything about it. I'm looking forward to the next time we get to shoot together to see his big smile."
Review 7 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gokey bag,
September 3, 2012
By: UplandFlyFisherman
from Pittsford, NY
"bag is nice and sturdy but the belt is thin and stretches under weight of 50 shells. especially the holes.
plan on replacing the belt with your own."
Review 8 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shell abs for bird hunting,
August 19, 2012
By: Oldbirdhntr
from Piedmont North Carolina
"These are exceptionally well made shell bags and I have used them for years. Like others, I found the belt a little light, replaced it with an adjustable Orvis belt, and added a waxed cotton game bag. Normally I carry 28 or .410 shells in the left bag still in their box, which eliminates spillage. I rarely spill any shells from the right bag even though I carry them loose and leave the flap unbuttoned. These bags are classic and a pleasure to use."
Review 9 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shell holders, okay belt,
April 18, 2012
By: Mudmutt
from OH
"I am very happy with the shell holders and the quality of the monogramming. I would definately recommend them over many of the other brands I've seen/owned. This immediately has the feel of quality "broken in" leather.
However the belt is less study than I would have expected. It' doesn't have the stiff feel I would expect from a good leather belt and therefore doesn't hold it's "shape" as well as I'd like. It tends to sit more of a C shape than lay flat."
Review 10 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful and quality,
March 14, 2012
By: Goldysruletheworld
from South Australia
"Great product to use instead of a vest for smashing clays.
Agree with Gatsby81 re colour.
Suggestion: Belt could be sturdier, but good length.
"
Review 11 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shocking Quality...,
February 23, 2012
By: Gatsby81
from Long Island, NY
"This shell holster belt is the best I've ever seen. When I received I was shocked how beautifully made it was. The photos do not do it justice at all, it's truly a work of art. Belt fit is generous, and leather is stiff and tough, looking forward to breaking it in! Be aware that the leather is a good bit browner than in photo which looked almost green. Spring for the embossing because you will have this forever, make it yours! This is worth twice the price. Orvis has done it again!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
February 21, 2012
By: billyl
from Columbia, Alabama
"Very well made shell bag. Could have been just a little larger or deeper but overall a great product well made and is excellent for warm weather hunting where a vest is too hot."
Review 13 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Belt Too Large,
October 18, 2011
By: Judson
from Jacksonville, FL
"The leather is high quality but the belt is much too large for a guy with a 34" waist.. Make the belt smaller and provide a decent keeper for the excess; or, in the alternative, offer the belt as an option, with a clear indication of its length in the description."
Review 14 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful heirloom,
October 8, 2010
By: ChesterCatfish
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great product quality and ability to pass along to those you shoot with and make memories with..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I expected and more,
December 27, 2009
By: laddie
from Jacksonville, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I use for sporting clays and find the quality of the product to be excellent. Hands are kept free, no bags to carry easy access to shells. Flaps close easily after a few uses. hook belt around waist above pants belt and it stays secure."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good idea poorly executed,
October 21, 2008
By: Anonymous
from Midlands, England
"I bought this product a year ago and have therefore had a full shooting season to try it out.
The idea is a good one as I don't like carrying a cartridge bag over my shoulder as it is easily gets in the way and puts you off balance if you take a shot.
The obvious fault with this product is the the flap does not cover the sides properly and cartridges fall out. Also, if you carry more than 25 cartridges in each bag the weight is so great that it pulls your trousers down.
The answer is to use just one bag in combination with a cartridge belt and load it only half way full. You then have 25 cartridges in the belt and another 25 in the bag.
The bags are well made and are quality leather.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gokey Heirloom Leather Shell Holster
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2