Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2 1/2 oz. 10' 4-piece Tip flex fly rod for-4 wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.If line control is important to your style of fishing, then the 10-foot rod offers an extra foot of reach for precise nymphing or greater mending capability with dries. In highly technical waters where the fish are picky and presentations need to be precise and absolute, the Helios 104-4 stands out as the best line control rod ever designed. This 10-foot fly rod is also the weapon of choice for float tubers and pontoon anglers, providing the extra length to keep the back cast up off the water. If you're looking for a rod to give you that extra edge, the Helios 104-4 offers the lightest most powerful rod in its class. It is a specialty rod, but one that is proving more and more popular with anglers looking for that little something extra in presentation. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A happy accident,
October 9, 2012
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"I actually meant to order a 10' 7 wt, but ordered this one by mistake. I tried it out on the lawn and decided to keep it. It is the best rod I own for roll casting. On small streams without a lot of overhang it is the perfect rod. I have used it with great success on the limestone streams of SW Wisconsin. The extra length makes it a good nymphing rod. I've had it for 3 years."
Review 2 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 4wt, great rod,
August 28, 2010
By: MaineBKT
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently invested in a Helios - 10ft, 4wt (I fish a lot from a tube or kayak).....very impressed. Smooth, powerful, and accurate - fabulous delivery - I am overweighting with a #5 line. Still like a different 4wt, medium action better for close in work, but the Helios is an outstanding rod for big dries at medium to long distance, and it can really drive the fly into the wind. Wish it cost less, but it is a great fly rod, and is going to get a lot of playing time."
Review 3 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Service - Great Company,
June 9, 2010
By: AZDON
from Phoenix, AZ
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased a 4wt 10' Helios to take on vacation. The first morning I was able to fish, I caught 6 smaller tout. The second morning the rod broke completely in two while reeling in the opening trout of the day (larger than any trout from the day before). I was greatly disheartened, but I called Orvis, explained the problem, and they sent a new rod to me overnight. This allowed me to continue fishing with the rod I intended to use while on my vacation. I still don't know the reason for the break, but I do know that Orvis provides exceptional customer service. This is my second Helios and there has been no problem with the first. Thank you Orvis for truly caring about your customers."
Review 4 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Nymphing Rod,
May 24, 2010
By: Hyde2003
from Raymond & Greenville, Maine
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have had this rod for just a couple of months. I matched the Helios with the Battenkill BBS. I set this rod up specifically to nymph fish. I managed to find a hole that was holding several 18" brookies. What a blast! Then 10' length with the tip flex allows me to put the fly anywhere I want on the river. The 4 wt line is very delicate on the water and get excellent drifts. The rod weighs a mere 2 1/2 ozs. So much fun! If you ever have a chance to try one, or buy one, don't pass it up!"
Review 5 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Fly Rod,
July 31, 2009
By: Redelf
from Long Beach, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I originally purchased this fly rod for Czech and High Stick Nymphing, but it turns out this rod can do much more than just nymph.
I used this rod exclusively during a 10 day trip to Montana and I would have to be dead in order for someone else to use it, they would have to pry it from my fingers. I fished the Madison at 3 dollar bridge, The Lamar in the park, Slough Creek and The Gallatin. As you can see this is a wide range of waters, small creeks to large rivers.
Czech and Hi Stick Nymphing really don’t require much of a cast, but I was able to cast 2 flies and some heavy weights with ease. My biggest fish was a nice 22” Cutthroat on the Lamar and this rod had incredible power and I was able to land large fish in heavy water with relative ease.
I had another spool loaded with a floating line and this is a dream dry fly rod. The rod cast so easily it is simply amazing. I have fallen in love with the 10’ rod and plan to purchase the 5 weight 10’ ASAP. The Battenkill Large Arbor reel is the perfect match to this rod, it is perfectly balanced.
I never thought a fly rod would improve my casting, but this rod easily added 10 to 20 feet to my casts and it is a dream to land fish on."
Review 6 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How to justify a $700 rod to your wife,
April 1, 2009
By: Dr2Trout
from Kingsport, TN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had been dreaming about the Helios ever since reading its first rave reviews. I've had Winston and Sage rods and have felt fairly competent at casting but some times even with these high quality rods, casting felt like work. The reviews seemed like this rod might be the answer, but how could I pull the trigger and explain the bill for yet another rod to my wife? Well, desire and a nagging feeling that casting should be easier got the better of me. When the Orvis box came I wisked it out to my truck before any questions could be asked. I could only get a few flicks in the back yard before I had to stash the rod away again, but even with that brief preview, I could tell that this rod was different. So light. So balanced. I could sense in my hand easily what the rod was doing throughout the stroke. Obviously the reviews were not just hype. I then had a few mouth watering days of anticipation before I could get out on the river. I felt again like a kid waiting for Christmas day, and when I finally hit the water, I was not disappointed. This rod is a dream! Casting is effortless. The rod truly becomes an extension of yourself and responds immediately to your every command. Whether roll casting out of tight lies, making huge mends or dropping a dry silently at 60ft, this rod does it all. I really don't recall catching any fish that first day, but finally experiencing the fly cast as it should be was pure joy. Since then I've caught many with the largest being a 27in rainbow, and there are no deficiencies with this rod in either being able to detect the subtlest of strikes or to bring that monster fighter in.
But then came the moment of truth: confession. I started by just nonchalantly mentioning that I had bought a new rod. "What?! You already have rods" was the obvious response. I then proceeded to explain as best as possible to a non-fisher what this rod had done for me. I could now experience the joy of fishing without any concerns or annoyances from my equipment. I could now focus on the most important aspects of fly fishing: the beauty of the river, the satisfaction of a well placed cast and every once in a while getting a willing trout into my net. The Helios truly took my experience to another level. Well, I'm not sure she could completely understand, but she saw my smile and I've not heard another word about it.
But now how do I justify another....
"
Review 7 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Dance,
February 21, 2009
By: Stratton
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fly fisher and his Helios stalked the fish that he knows -
Crossing immense snow covered valleys to where clear waters flow
The old trout is a Brown, it has eluded him for years -
It has broken his line twice nearly bringing him to tears
It was under a big spruce in the deep by the bank -
A beautiful fish rose up and than quickly it sank
With his new nine foot weapon the fisher took a knee -
Quickly surveying the stream he lets the fly go free
With minimal effort on a double-hall cast -
An olive Woolly is delivered soft, but fast
Within a few seconds there’s a slight twitch in the line -
The Helios is pulled back setting the hook in time
The water boiled and the reel began to scream -
The monster of a fish catapults upstream
The crazed trout explodes from the water thirty feet ahead -
The fisher prays the tippet holds and doesn’t break like thread
The rod clenched with hard charges wearing the fish out -
It danced with the brown, harmoniously but stout
The ardent battle with the big fish caused it to tire -
To land the trophy in the net was his one desire
Shortly there after his wishes came true -
The fish by his side the fighting was through
With a triumphant grin he pulled the fly out -
Releasing the big brown without any doubt
He kisses his rod, the catch was a thrill -
And off to the next fish to test his skill
"
Review 8 for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 10' 4#,
November 19, 2008
By: AC123
"Just recieved my new Helios 10' for a 4wt rod to day, had a quick play on my casting lawn, very light in the hand and feeling very balanced, while casting the rod, you can really feel whats going on, very nice.
Rivers all high in my area, but that wasn't going to stop me, only had half an hour but caught 4 fish and the rod played them well, all in all, so far very pleased.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Helios™ 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1