Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Braided Travel Bag

Already a best-selling style in our retail stores, this lightweight women's organizer handbag coordinates with just about everything. Fully lined with a zippered security pocket and a zip-close top. Gold-tone hardware. 8" strap drop. Paper/polypropylene/polyester handbag. In black/tan, black/white only. Imported.7½"H x 4"D x 11½"L.
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
28 of 37(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Braided Travel Bag
Review 1 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works fine.,
July 23, 2013
By: Fester
from Silver Spring, MD
"I needed an all-purpose bag for daily use. This seems a good size, and the black/tan tweed goes with everything. However, other than the one zippered side pocket inside there are no divisions, pockets, or key loops. So I have to rummage around a lot each time I open the bag. I would have happily paid $15 more for a more convenient bag."
Review 2 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Summer Bag,
July 19, 2013
By: AmyLouise
from Texas
"I needed a medium-sized shoulder bag in a neutral color for summer. This bag is excellent. It's very durable, it's just the right size, it's a great color (I got the gold but it's more of a tan) and it's easy to carry on my shoulder, under my arm. It appears to be well made. Orvis ordering and delivery was excellent, as always. The only thing I might change is to make the shoulder strap a couple inches longer, or make it adjustable, with a buckle."
Review 3 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I had bought this a year ago,
May 28, 2013
By: TheOtherEthel
"I bought this bag for my mother-in-law last spring and liked it every time I'd see her carry it - I decided to treat myself to one this year."
Review 4 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purse,
May 14, 2013
By: Goody7
"This purse is comfortable, light weight to wear. When wearing over the shoulder it hits in just the right spot. The color is great. I would prefer smaller or no studs on the bottom of the bag."
Review 5 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing color,
May 9, 2013
By: Mortoni
from Bennington VT
"This product appeared to be lighter colored (sand) and was a harsher gold"
Review 6 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUMMER PURSE,
April 5, 2013
By: shortbread
from Flat Rock, NC
"THIS PURSE IS EXACTLY WHAT I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR AS THE COLOR (BLACK/TAN) GOES WITH ALL MY CLOTHES. IT STANDS ALONE ON THE FLOOR. CAN BE WORN ON THE SHOULDER AND CARRIED IN THE HAND. IT IS A PERFECT SIZE, NOT TOO BIG NOR TOO SMALL. IT HAS THE APPEARANCE OF STRAW, WHICH I LOVE FOR SUMMER."
Review 7 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than Expected,
February 25, 2013
By: SouthernSue
from Beaufort, SC
"I purchased this bag for a friend's Birthday. When I received it I was very impressed at how much better it was than the photo. The black and tan color contrast made it a very fashionable bag. It had a zipper compartment and was also light in weight. My friend was thrilled with her gift."
Review 8 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty and practical,
January 13, 2013
By: Lotthene
from Aurora, IL
"What attracted my attention to this purse was the practicality of having a tan and black, light weight accessory that looks good with both black and neutral shoes. This feature alone makes it perfect for travel!"
Review 9 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive Bag,
May 23, 2012
By: ourgalsal
from Milford, NH
"This was advertised as a travel bag, but so far it has gone to church and out to lunch with me. It is a very good looking bag and goes with everything. However, it doesn't have enough pockets for it to be a good travel bag. For someone who doesn't require lots of pockets when traveling, this bag would be fine. I am very pleased with my purchase."
Review 10 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks great but the strap is too short,
May 17, 2012
By: Spto
"I love the look of the bag but I probably won't keep it. The bag is not as big as I'd like but I could probably make due with that. The strap seals my negatve review. The strap is far too short. I just didn't notice the dimensions when it was ordered."
Review 11 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as I expected.,
May 10, 2012
By: Pink2
from Washington State
"I should have paid attention to the reviews that I read before purchasing. The bag was poorly made - not a usual Orvis quality at all."
Review 12 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice and chic for this price,
April 19, 2012
By: Lechientigre
from Boulder ,Co
"It is a nice and fresh looking handbag for Spring. I do recommend."
Review 13 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Purse for Travel,
April 10, 2012
By: bigkay
from CA
"This purse will pack flat and look so nice with all the outfits I plan on wearing in Hawaii. You can't have a leather purse in Hawaii, it's just too heavy looking."
Review 14 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Returned the item,
April 3, 2012
By: Russkey
"I was not pleased with the access to the inside of the purse. I was not able to get things out of the purse like my billfold and sunglasses because the zipper opening was not large enough. I liked the fabric and quality and ordered the larger tote in the same fabric. I am very pleased with the larger item."
Review 15 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Favorite for Summer,
March 13, 2012
By: TeeShirtMaven
from Baton Rouge, LA
"At last a simple neutral colored summer handbag of a size that is suitable for the smaller woman and does look like something for a baggage handler. It holds everything I need, but I do wish it had a phone pocket in addition to the zippered compartment."
Review 16 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bag for all seasons,
January 14, 2012
By: mommabear
from NM
"Excellent size and classy style. Beautifully made with attention to sublte details. High end design."
Review 17 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrific gift,
November 4, 2011
By: flyway
from Arnold, Ne
"I purchased this Braided Travel Bag as a birthday gift for my wife.
Ha! She loves it--in fact she quickly switched contents to her new bag.
Later, she met her coffee friends and proudly displayed for all to see. Now it is her constant companion. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 18 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointed with Quality,
July 15, 2011
By: Geobear
from San Diego, CA
"The first time I wore the bag I noticed several of the stitches on the rough weave material had frayed and destroyed the new look of the bag. Never again will I order a bag from Orvis!"
Review 19 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Classic,
July 7, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Mississippi
"This purse , misnamed perhaps as a" travel bag", is a classic. It is the perfect size and weight for spring and summer, and the handle is just long enough to slip your arm through and wear on your shoulder, if you please. It looks perfectly proportional on someone 5'0 to 5'5" . Quite versatile, which adds to the value, it can dress up for Sunday or dress down to casual chic . The brass details, including 4-pt knobs on the bottom, are understated but convey the high quality / value , i.e. , it is not "cheap" looking. The color of the weave, both natural and black fibers , matches everything in one's wardrobe. The zippered closure works well and the one pocket inside is good for organization. This purse is ideal for the woman who wants to be well-dressed, even at the farmers market, carrying all her essentials , including a normal size wallet, separate checkbook, cell phone, and more, which all fit nicely. The price seems a bit high initially, but the value received quickly becomes apparent ."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Braided Travel Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too small for me,
July 3, 2011
By: gigglegirl
"Size too small for me but very nice material and quality"