Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2 5/8 oz. 10', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 5-wt. line. We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best. Whether using sophisticated Czech nymphing techniques or mending long lines across multiple currents, the Helios 10-foot 5-weight Tip Flex is easily one of the most effective rods you will use for tough, specialized presentations. That extra foot gives you the ability to reach out, and the leverage to pick up line on the water and move it unlike any previous 10-foot model. The extreme lightweight Helios graphite makes it easy to handle all day and will significantly reduce the strain on your arms when reaching, high sticking, and mending hour after hour. This is a spectacular rod for float tubers and pontoon anglers as it keeps the back cast high and off the water. As a 5-weight rod, it can easily handle even the largest trout and is a must-have rod for big water trout anglers and even light steelheaders.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all-around rod,
March 12, 2012
By: YakGuide
"When fishing water in the Northwest like the Yakima River, you need a versatile, "go-anywhere" rod for changing conditions—big wind, big flies, and big water. The Helios 10-foot 5-weight Tip Flex is my go-to rod in the west. From roll-casting long leaders with large stonefly nymphs to perfect tight loops, accurate delivery of foamy dries, and swinging wet flies, this is the one rod that you need. The additional foot in length and the fast action make picking up line an easy task—also key when high-sticking through narrow slots as well as performing a reach cast. If you fish the Northwest and need one rod for the changing conditions, this is my professional recommendation.
-Derek Young
Professional Guide, 2011 Endorsed Fly Fishing Guide of the Year, Emerging River Guide Services, Washington
"
Review 2 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Big River Helios,
April 19, 2012
By: UpNorthFlyCastings
from Aroostook County, Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"So after years of hesitation I finally made the move of a lifetime and purchased my first Helios. A family member and well respected Maine guide suggested I opt for the 5wt 10ft tip flex, and I couldn't be more happy that he made the suggestion. I paired it with the new 5wt Hydros 3D trout line, and simply can't get over how much line this rod throws using so little effort. With the wind, against the wind, in the absence of wind, it really doesn't matter--this Helios is a rocket launcher. The extra foot makes mending a breeze, and coming from someone who has very little experience casting heavy sink tips, it employs more than enough power to turn over heavy streamer rigs at great distances. My first fish using this helios was a landlocked salmon of nearly 4lbs, and this rod gave me the power and leverage needed to get the fish to the boat and released quickly. This will be my primary rod fishing the big rivers of northern Maine for years to come. It can go the distance and reach out to fish at distances I never would have even attempted to reach previously. I've even done some substantial trolling and the Helios impressed me with how solid it felt dragging multiple streamers in and out of heavy currents. I fish 100+ days a year, and this Helios will be my go-to rod for my than 95+ of those days. Truly an amazing fly rod, worth every penny."
Review 3 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of My Prize Possessions,
January 16, 2012
By: GreenbackCuthroats
from NYC
"Really love this rod. Casts great. Weighs nothing. Very sensitive. Lets even me deliver a dry perfectly. Not sure any rod is worth $800 but if anyone is this is the one. Broke the rod last year and Orvis promptly replaced. Love their customer service. If the rod is in your budget its a no brainer decision."
Review 4 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best nymphing rod ever,
September 4, 2011
By: Donn
from I fish all over but love to trout fish in Utah.
"I bought my ZG Helios 105-4 Tip Flex shortly after they were introduced and I have used it for years for tail water nymp fishing. Absolutely fantastic for distance and presentation. This rod can throw dry flys and heavily weighted nymphs. Full disclosure: when the hatch is on I go to my 3-wt. But for nymphing this is the rod for me! Unfortunately, I broke this rod this last summer doing something stupid trying to dislodge a snag. Orvis replaced it within a week! Talk about service."
Review 5 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE Big Stream Rod,
August 22, 2011
By: Thom
from Buffalo
"I began to fish a larger stream this year in a different part of the state, my recent retirement freeing me for more travels and adventures.
The fish in this stream are all wild, and notoriously picky fish. The currents are complex and reach and line mends are important. After a couple of trips, I felt I needed a longer rod, and bought the 10 ft 5 wt Helios.
I instantly noticed the difference in distance and ability to mend line and get better and longer floats. You will not believe the distance that the 10 ft adds to your casting if you are used to a 9 ft. I was very impressed with the rod.
After a couple of trips I went into the local fly shop at this stream that carries EVERYTHING. You name the line of rod, whether it be U.S. or England, and they have it. I was discussing rods with them and they voluntarily said, "the 10 ft. 5 wt. Helios is the rod for this stream." Later, I booked a float trip on this stream and noticed that my guide had a 10 ft. Helios in the boat. I asked him about it, and he had the same glowing recommendation.
For a bigger rod, I was impressed that I could use it all day, and not have shoulder aches. I will be 60 in a few weeks, and it was nice to be able to use the big rod, with no issues whatsoever. Great stick folks.
"
Review 6 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect nymph Rod,
May 12, 2011
By: justflyfishing
"I love everything about this rod. The extra length allows for long drag free drifts. Roll casting indicator rigs is a breeze. This rod is simply amazing it weighs next to nothing in hand and has all the backbone you could ever need for large trout and big smallmouth on the river."
Review 7 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
April 8, 2011
By: Babmm
from Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just fished this rod on the Pere Marquette in Michigan and it was fabulous. Indicator rigs cast like a dream and long, drag free floats helped me to hook four and land three. I can't wait to try conventional casting when the weather breaks (if ever)."
Review 8 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Nymph Rod,
March 25, 2011
By: Mikey2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After fishing with a good friend of mine who was using the 10’ 5wt rod and watching how easy he made it look I decided to buy one for my recent trip to the San Juan with Fishheads. What a great decision. I spent two days in a drift boat with some high winds in the afternoon. The 10’ rod vs. my 8’6” rod made a big difference in getting long drifts by being able to mend in a strong wind. An unexpected advantage of this rod is that when you get a strike with a slight movement you can lift a lot of line very quickly to set the hook."
Review 9 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream Come True,
June 2, 2009
By: flyfishingmack
from The Mountains, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recieved this rod as a gift for my Birthday recently and since i have been lusting over this rod since their release it is truly a dream come true. Not only does it cast and carry a long line really well, what ever line you cast out you can mend. A great rod for super long drifts and it is crazy light. I can't wait to hook into a carp or a steelie this winter just to see if it has as much back bone as it feels like it does. Kudos to Orvis this rod is amazing."
Review 10 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Every Penny,
February 18, 2009
By: BushPilotBrookie
from T8R9, Maine
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased the Helios 10" 5 wt expecting to drift some nymph rigs in the streams of Northern Maine, but when I got the chance to try this rod on the enormous rivers in Labrador, I got the shock of my life. This thing can throw line a mile. There was one spot in the river that looked perfect, but nobody could reach until I brought over the 10 footer. One cast with a 350 grain depth charge and a weighted zonker and I was hooked in on the ride of my life with a 9 lb Landlocked Salmon. Did I mention the 6 lb Brookie caught on the size 16 Yellow Humpy on the same rod? This rod can do heavy or light with ease. Longer and lighter than any rod I have owned, but with casting ability unmatched by any rod on the market. Worth every penny."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out of this world,
November 8, 2008
By: BigBrookie
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I expected for my 10´ five Helios to be used in the Malleo River in Junin de los Andes, where fish size and wind always can be a surprise. The rod is incredibly ligh with an amazing strengh and delicacy at the same time. The line cut the wind as a knife and presentation under the trees was exquisite as a superfine rod. The fishing sensation is the same with a 3 inches bow with tiny 18 size nymph and a 4 pound wild brown with large 2 size streamers.
;y new Helios has become my "only rod" for the environments I use to fish
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rod for nymphin Orvis ever made period,
October 27, 2008
By: Steeliegogether
from Reno, Nv
"Bought this rod for nymphing the truckee, sac, and etc. Easy to high stick with the extra length, I put a 6 wt steelhead taper line on it roll cast a mile and mends like a dream, but still can throw drys. I took this last week on the American River and landed half pounders with ease. rod also makes a great swing rod for half pounders. The extra length is great fishing out of a drift boat because keeps the line away from the boat and oars. only downside to this rod is dry fly fishing the extra length makes it cumbersome but not bad."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Nymphomaniacs Dream Rod...,
May 16, 2008
By: CJMantz
from Farmington River, CT
"This rod is my new #1. It can cast a large dry fly a mile and mend line like no other rod I've ever fished. Despite it's length it feels very light in hand. I matched it with a BKMA IV and a Power Taper 5 weight and it balances perfectly. I would recommend this rod to anyone who enjoys long line nymphing, extra long distance hook sets, super easy mends and general aggressive fishing on medium to large sized rivers."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Helios™ 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1