Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2 7/8 oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 7-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.The new patent pending Helios 7 weight is so innovative and, frankly, so far ahead of all other fly rods it skips generations in how fly rods should feel, cast, and fish. Our 7 weight is so sublimely light, incredibly responsive, deadly accurate, and just plain easy and enjoyable to cast that to compare it to other graphite rods is like comparing graphite to bamboo. There is no comparison. The 7 weight Helios fly fishing rods are that good. And everyone is noticing. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ideal streamer rod,
March 12, 2012
By: chawk
from Traverse City, MI
"I recently spent 20 days in Patagonia casting streamers to large trout. I used my favorite rod, a 9-foot 7-weight Helios Tip Flex. This rod will handle any fly, from a small Little Rascal to a size 2 rabbit leech. It delivers them all with ease and grace. At 58 years old, my body appreciates the lightness and the power that this rod brings to my game.
- Chuck Hawkins
Owner, Hawkins Outfitters, 2010 Orvis Endorsed Guide Service of the Year
"
Review 2 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third Helios I've owned,
May 22, 2012
By: Teflon
from Colorado
"I'm a typical gear nut and was looking for a second rod to take for 3 weeks of bonefishing this year on Crooked and Andros. Often it's nice to have a different fly rigged on a rod ready to go, and I found a 7 wt to complement my 8 wt Helios for a great price. I honestly can't tell the difference between the two rods, and neither could any of the other people that tried the rod, including for full days of fishing the flats. I used an 8 wt line since I'd already bought that with plans to buy another 8 wt Helios. Even the 7 wt handles big bones up to 8 pounds with ease. There have been some reports of the Helios breaking, and I in fact broke my 8 wt in two places on the last day of 3 weeks of fishing after catching 20+ bones. I can't necessarily blame the rod for the breakage though since I think the line wrapped around the reel and there wasn't any give for the rod. I was also trying to horse in about the 15th fish in a row to keep it away from sharks so there was a huge amount of strain on the rod. With the no questions asked replacement policy it's easy to get another rod. These rods are also so light they make fish feel about twice the size, so fighting an 8 pound bone is amazing fun!"
Review 3 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
May 16, 2011
By: Hyde2003
from Raymond & Greenville, Maine
"Who ever thought that Orvis would create a 7 weight rod with a 10.0 tip flex that weighs 2 7/8 ounces? I just got back from a trip to Roach River and I was WOWWED by the power of this rod. The Helios is my new go to rod for streamer fly fishing. I can't wait to use it this weekend on my next trip!"
Review 4 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go To Rod,
February 24, 2011
By: SouthFork
from Lost in Montana
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When I purchased this 7wt I really didn't think it would become my new go to rod as I thought a 7wt was a bit heavy. My preconceptions were tossed out the window as soon as I picked this rod up. In my last two years fishing in Alaska, it has become my number one rod for landing Coho Salmon, Rainbows and Dolly's. This past fall it became my new lake rod for hauling in some nice cutthroat and bows. And just recently I took it to NZ where it handled windy days with ease, and still had the action to present a long leader in the stiff breeze with delicacy. 7wts are usually heavy, but not this rod, its lightweight and casts beautifully, plus it has the backbone for turning the big fish when you need it."
Review 5 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great freaking rod,
January 5, 2011
By: 1c3man
from Montana
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Been lucky enough to fish a lot of 7 weight rods and the Helios tip flex makes your mouth water, you just can't fish any other rod for 10 hours straight throwing double bugs and enjoy yourself so much. I have fished all weights between 3-9 of the helios and I just can't say enough. I am not a guide and only get out about 50 days a year but my helios is alway with me, I own both the 7 and 8 weights and would not trade them for the world. I also own TFO and Winston BIIX and they don't even compare. Being in Montana we fish in a lot of wind and nothing cuts it like Helios Tip Flex not to mention the effort of casting big junk all day is soo much easier. If you can afford this rod you will not be sorry.
I will say if you fish in wind stick with the tip flex, mid is fine in small calm waters but you will want the tip action with any wind or long distance which you know you will get almost anywhere.
Tight lines
1c3man
"
Review 6 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you can, get it.,
May 22, 2010
By: Cardo
from Shendoah Valley, Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I picked this up for small and large mouth bass and some saltwater action around Virginia. For it's size and length it's lighter than others in its class. Paired it to a copper evolution lt. It throws big flies easily but is sensitive enough for the small stuff. Planning on getting a 4wt to replace existing rod."
Review 7 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delivers the Promise!,
June 9, 2009
By: JRJ1
from Melbourne, Australia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We've got a few Orvis Rods including a Zero Gravity 907-4, Tipflex 9.5 - which is a great rod, but after testing the Helios 907-4, Tipflex 10 at our recent trip to San Francisco, my wife and I decided to have this one too! It's incredible, the power and accuracy it delivers and the light weight of it. Matched with a LA IV Fly Reel it's the perfect outfit!
We also had the opportunity to fish the ZG and the Helios both as 8wt's afterwards in the Bahamas for Bonefish, great rods - it just confirmed the choice we've made re the Helios.
"
Review 8 for Helios™ 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavenly Helios!,
March 24, 2009
By: Gjorda1
from Baton Rouge, LA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When fly fishing the marshes of South Louisiana, most people would think you were crazy for using anything less than a 9-weight rod for twenty plus pound Redfish. Those people haven't cast a Helios. My Helios 7- weight has the power to cast big flies to big fish, and the backbone to handle fish normally reserved for a much heavier rod. Since the Helios is first and foremost an Orvis rod, I know that in the unlikely event I hook a fish that is too large for the 7-weight to handle, I have the 25-year warranty to give me peace of mind. The perfect blend of power and precision, combined with Orvis’ unparalleled level of service, is why I truly love my Helios!"