Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2 3/8 oz. 8'6", 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 5-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.If there is a standard in fly rod length and line weight, the 8-foot 5-inch, 5-weight is it. It is easily the most versatile fly rod size out there in its ability to handle almost any situation from panfish and small stream trout to big western rivers, from tiny dry flies to big streamers. When asked we often recommend this configuration as the first fly rod. This new patent pending Helios version takes this standard and turns it to one of the best fly rods ever built. The incredible lightweight exaggerates the delicacy and feel needed for dry fly fishing and the strength of the Helios graphite can easily handle big weighted nymphs and streamers as well as the big fish they target. If there is only one fly rod in your arsenal, the Helios 865-4 is the only one you need consider. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST ROD EVER!,
May 1, 2012
By: MLeishy
from Mandeville, LA
"Thank the Lord! I have finally gotten my own HELIOS! Best rod ever!!! So lightweight, and casts like a dream! There's no other rod that compares to this one! It's a TREASURE!!! Get yours now!"
Review 2 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally worth the money!,
November 18, 2011
By: TYoung
from State College, Pa
"I have just received my fly rod back from getting repaired and took her out and landed a really nice bow with a streamer. It casts heavy flies like a dream"
Review 3 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great concept; Poor execution,
January 26, 2011
By: canceleer
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The rod works as advertised - I can fish it anywhere and be happy with the performance - the concept.
Because of the rod's design with flex guides, the wrap (it is really a glue or epoxy) around the base of the guides cracks and chips off. Every time I look at the rod it drives me nuts! Granted the flaws are small and not readily noticeable, but for a top-of-the-line rod from Orvis this is unacceptable. It's like having a Ferrari that will do 200mph as advertised but has a flaw in the paint.
The problem appears to be in the manufacturing of the rod - the execution. The wrap material is either too brittle or is applied too close to the portion of the base of the flex guide - possibly both are problems.
If you want an excellent fly rod, this is it as long as you can accept the cosmetic imperfections."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
January 15, 2011
By: dansst
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wish there was a way to give my helios 5 wt, more than 5 stars I would give it a 10. Be warned if you test cast this rod you will want to buy the rod. I nymph fish most of the time and I have never used a rod with so much power for long cast and the power to set a hook that is at the bottom of a pool that also has the ability to drop a dry fly gently on the water at a short distance. I let a freind use the rod and it cost him $775.00 which he gladly spent to get a Helios of his own."
Review 5 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effortless,
November 14, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Picked this rod up this past spring on the "buy a rod get a reel free deal" (by the way, the absolute best deal out there), and I love it. Fantastic action. Even with a tip flex, I can land my fly lightly on the surface. One day I spent 9 hours in a drift boat - just me an my go-to guide (Russel w/ Hawkins Outfitters) on the upper Manistee, and aside from a half-hour break for lunch, I was casting non-stop. This rod is so light, and cast so easily with minimal false casts, I never had to take a single break. Absolutely love this rod. Wish I had enough money to make every weight a helios."
Review 6 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Spectacular!,
July 12, 2009
By: charleigh
from Madison, AL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My new rod arrived just in time for my trip to Utah where I broke it in on Rainbow, Brown and Cutthroat Trout (plus a few Whitefish). The feel was simply perfect. The bonus of the Battenkill Mid Arbor reel was an unbeatable combination. By every measure it exceeded my expectations. I strongly recommend this rod (and reel) to anyone wanting to truly enjoy the sport."
Review 7 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
September 3, 2008
By: tarponman
from Onondaga, NY
"This is the best fly rod i have ever fished with. My passion is tarpon on a fly rod in Florida but when im home in NY i love trout and this si the only rod i use. AMAZING"
Review 8 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
June 17, 2008
By: kbaer57
"I can review this new Helios rod with one word: WOW!"
Review 9 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios -- what a treat !!!,
May 12, 2008
By: Lochman
"Yesterday, I stopped by my local store, in response to an invitation to try out the new Helios fly rod. I probably have a dozen fly rods in my office, including several Orvis models. This new rod is truly amazing, and will soon be my "go to" rod. I was given the opportunity to cast the rod, and even in a stiff wind, it performed like a dream. It looks like Orvis has done it again !"
Review 10 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios lives up to accolades,
May 10, 2008
By: JB2008
"I purchased an 8wt Helios for inshore saltwater redfish. It is the finest casting flyrod in my arsenal. I often have to deal with windy conditions but it seems to handle it well. I believe everything written about this fly rod has not been exaggerated. I used my Orvis Mach 4 reel with it and it seems well balanced. I will be purchasing a 4 wt Helios for western freshwater trout in the future.
Orvis, you hit a home run with this one.
Thank you for keeping it affordable. I think it compares to rods costing much more.
"
Review 11 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Rod Orvis has made,
May 1, 2008
By: Grafton
"I own 12 orvis fly rods and this rod is by far my favorite, the weight and ease to cast is outstanding. I have fish with this rod over 20 times this spring and you forget your casting. The fish stike sensitivity is amazing. Great Job Orvis team, you hit a home run with this rod."
Review 12 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Fly Rod Development,
April 27, 2008
By: Zebb
"I am fishing a Helios 9' 5 WT tip flex. Not only does it weigh less than 2 1/2 ounces, it is by far the most responsive rod I've ever fished. I was a GLX addict. They are gone."
Review 13 for Helios™ 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
April 7, 2008
By: Jaxon
"Im a young starting fisher and I've used this rod it is amazingly light and great to cast"