Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout

By Tom Rosenbauer-Thoroughly updated and bursting with full-color photographs and detailed illustrations, this is the book you need when fly fishing for trout when there is no specific hatch. Learn how trout live and feed and how to make them strike with this trout fishing book. Features expert advice on fishing with wet flies, dry flies, nymphs, and streamers. This guide is a must-have for any trout fisherman. The Lyons Press, 191 pages, paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Review 1 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful Guide to Trout Fishing,
September 21, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout introduced me to Tom’s concept of searching under conditions when fish are not apparently feeding. Packed with useful information that improved my trout fishing."
Review 2 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So insightful!,
May 21, 2013
By: Caddishack
"This book gives a trout's eye view of the world while being not only readable, but completely enjoyable. Full of insights, beautiful photos and illustrations, written with the easy wisdom I've come to expect from Tom as a huge fan of his podcasts."
Review 3 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great book !,
May 21, 2012
By: 7turns
"Love this book.
My only complaint is that the glossy shiny white pages are hard on the eyes."
Review 4 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great one,
June 21, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"Another great read from Tom Rosenbauer. I recommend this book for any novice to intermediate fly fisher. One of the most difficult parts of learning to fish is getting to a trout river/stream and figuring out what to do next. I reflect back to how often I would rush to the water and just start casting blindly. This guide will simply help you be a better fisherman and catch a lot more fish!"
Review 5 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book for Beginners,
April 26, 2011
By: WestMassChris
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am totally new to fly fishing but live near some small streams and rivers that are reported to hold some good size trout. I have never seen them rise and as a beginner needed a strong tutorial on how and where to refine my search for those elusive trout. This book did the trick!"
Review 6 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent book....,
February 7, 2011
By: cwhitaker
from Clackamas, OR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This book is very insightful and full of useful information that I am taking to the river with me."
Review 7 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Read for Fly Fishermen,
October 29, 2010
By: UncleSam
from Upstate Vermont
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I never realized how much I didn't know about fly fishing until I read this book. This is a must read for anyone who fishes for trout when bugs aren't hatching. Very informative and fun to read. It seems to cover all the important topics about fly fishing - reading rivers, casting, fly selection, techniques for fishing different types of flies, and more. Great for the novice or experienced fisherman."
Review 8 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Resource!,
September 22, 2010
By: TroutNut
from Central NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tom Rosenbauer's knowledge and insight are eloquently portrayed in this book. I will never looked at my favorite river the same way again. Now knowing what to look for, I have more fun and get more enjoyment out of successfully reading the water. An easy read and wonderful addition to my library."
Review 9 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book!,
January 1, 2010
By: Schmadsen
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tom Rosenbauer has done it again! This is a great book for anglers of all skill levels. I will never look at a steam the same again. The book's great photos and diagrams show you where the fish should be. I bought it for myself, but this would be a great gift for anyone interested in fly-fishing."
Review 10 for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great book, very informative!,
March 30, 2009
By: SWANK
from Hammond, LA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was given this book as a gift. It is very informative and I plan on using many of these tips this spring. Great photos, clearly written, easy reading!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2