Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School

The Orvis South Carolina Fly Fishing School is held at Oldfield Club in Okatie, South Carolina in the heart of the Lowcountry. Nestled on the banks of the Okatie River, Oldfield Club is a private club community that features Lowcountry living at its best. Located halfway between Charleston, SC and Savannah, GA, and convenient to I-95 and the Hilton Head/Savannah International Airport, 20 minutes from Historic Beaufort, Oldfield Club is surrounded by miles of salt and brackish marsh, salt flats and oyster flats, some of the Lowcountry's finest fly fishing is literally right around the corner. Numerous stocked ponds in Oldfield provide fantastic fishing for bass and panfish and, kayaks are available to paddle alongside dolphins in the soothing waters of the Okatie. Other activities include 5 miles of nature and walking trails, a Greg Norman designed 18 hole golf course, golf clubhouse with full bar and dining, equestrian facilities, Sports Center with full workout, sauna, steam, and aerobic facilities, and waterfront dining at the scenic River House. The school covers everything from fly casting, choosing the right tackle, leaders and knots, to fly selection and how to safely release fish.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best ever,
April 8, 2014
By: wiscfisher
from Okatie SC
"all I can say is both Dave Murray and Dave Cargile were outstanding teachers-invaluable experience !!!"
Review 2 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Experience!,
April 23, 2013
By: vetfly187
from Okatie SC
"Capt. David Murray will have you casting like a veteran in a couple of days. He's a great teacher and the setting is beautiful. I was doubtful that we could see the progress that we made but Capt. Murray will get you there.Highly recommend."
Review 3 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okatie 2-day fly fishing school,
April 6, 2012
By: Saltfly
from Hilton Head, SC
"We had a fabulous experience with the Orvis school in Okatie. Dave Murray, the instructor, was methodical in his presentation of information so that you did not get overwhelmed. I am new to fly fishing and to be able to cast, shoot the line, haul and double haul in 2 days, was amazing. A good balance between classroom information and videos, and actual outside practice. Dave's expertise was salt water fly fishing, but his knowledge encompassed all types of fly fishing on all sorts of bodies of water, no matter where you live, the information was relevant. The school exceeded my expectations. Great instruction, wonderful lunch, and outstanding venue."
Review 4 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money well spent!,
April 6, 2012
By: FishermanRob
from Harrisburg, PA
"I don't normally write reviews, but after taking this class, I felt compelled to. As a freshwater fisherman who loves to visit the beach, I was not sure what to expect. I must say that Captain Dave had us learning everything we needed in a very short time. We learned knots, casting and even how to find and catch fish.
For the novice, it is great to learn about the tackle that can cost a large sum of money while at the school. For more experienced flyfisherman, learning how to correct bad behaviors are a must.... Dave did a great job at both... And more
If you think $470 is too much for what you get, you are wrong. The knowledge you take out if it (or atleast I did), was priceless. The experience will allow me to flyfish for years and I can't wait. I even traveled from Pennsylvania just to vacation and take the class."
Review 5 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Class,
March 20, 2012
By: Rookie1
from Okatie, SC
"For someone new to fly fishing there is really no better way to start than by taking this course. All the instructors were seasoned fly fishing captains for all the local species of fish as well as well excellent in freshwater fly fishing tactics. The low student to teacher ratio allowed for much individual one on one time to help prefect your casting techniques. All instructors were very patient with students who for the most part have never used a fly rod before.
Most all equipment used was Orvis' top of the line products so you were able to practice with the best. Although the class should be considered for beginners, I would suggest you learn a bit of the terminology dealing with the parts of the reel, line, leader, etc before you attend the class as some terms will be foreign if you are new to the sport.
Finally, I should state, after the class, it will still take some practice on your own to become proficient in longer cast, but you will be well on your way with the instruction and hands on experienced gained from the class."
Review 6 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Instruction and Facility,
March 17, 2012
By: Steve2334
"There were four of us at the recent fly fishing school held at the Oldfield Club in Okatie SC. Dave Cargile had us casting within an hour, then on to single and double hauling. Great instruction on knot tying, equipment, fish species etc. The facilities need to be seen to be believed. If you have a chance, this is the place to be and the school to attend."
Review 7 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
February 13, 2012
By: Tipdown
"Just completed the Orvis fly fishing school in Okatie SC. The facilities were great and the instructors were outstanding. Excellent fly casting instructions and knowledge of fly fishing. I came away with many new tips and have a much better understanding of fly fishing.
Definitely exceeded my exceptations.
."
Review 8 for Okatie, South Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
February 10, 2012
By: Tipdown
"Just attended the Orvis fly fishing school in Okatie, SC. The facilities were excellent, and the instructors Capt Tuck Scott, Dave Cargile, and Dave Murray were outstanding in their knowledge and presentation of fly fishing. The casting instructions and hands on aproach were excellent and made a tremendous difference in my fly casting ability. My overall experience with the program exceeded my expectations."