Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Renzetti Traveler Vise

A classic, updated and improved to include clear anodization and a 7"-stem to give your bobbin more room to work. This sleek rotary vise weighs just 8 oz., but its lightweight portability doesn't mean sacrificing performance. Many experienced fly tiers use the Traveler as their primary vise. Handles hooks from 28 to 4/0 in its cam, hardened-steel jaws. Full rotary action with adjustable rotary tension. Fully adjustable bobbin cradle. Pedestal or C-clamp base. Specify right- or left-handed version. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Review 1 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vise,
December 31, 2012
By: bbqguy
from Texas
"Vise is easy to use and would benefit both experienced as well as those new to fly tying."
Review 2 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
December 2, 2012
By: WilcoRox
from Denver,CO
"I started tying flies yesterday. I bought this vise on the advice of spending good money on a vise to save frustration and disappointment later. Setup was easy, and intuitive. I find the size and weight ideal for working on my desk, I got the pedestal bottom. The vise doesn’t slip or slide at all. I’ve only tied a dozen flies but I know I made a good choice with this vise."
Review 3 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Travel Vise!,
November 20, 2012
By: Sloflyfishguy
from San Luis Obispo, CA
"At home, I do most of my tying on a Nor-Vise, with which I am very happy.
However, when I travel, even on business, I like to take a vice with me to to do some tying in the hotel at night, the Nor-Viceis a bit big and heavy, and that's why I got this vice.
As it turns out, it's excellent for everything I've asked it to do - haven't tried any saltwater hooks yet, but I think it will be fine.
My only issue was that the vertical shaft was a bit tough to tighten down, so as to prevent it from rotating while tying. This was solved in 5 minutes by filing a flat surface on the aluminum shaft, where the set screw meets the shaft.
All in all, I'm very satisfied and have already suggested the vice to other members of our fly fishing club. Good choice, Orvis!"
Review 4 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 20, 2012
By: myfly
"The pedestal base is stable - (weighted and nonslip). The full rotation is smooth and effortless. The precision allows you to tie even the smallest of flies."
Review 5 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic Vise,
January 4, 2012
By: TexasTrout
from Ohio
"I had a beginners vice and the change to this one has made fly tying even more enjoyable. The vice is easily adjustable and is well built; it is easy to quickly go from small to larger hook sizes and vice versa with minimal adjustments. The rotary function makes tying much faster and simpler! I would definately recommend this vice."
Review 6 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vise,
December 29, 2011
By: Jeashton
from Dallas, TX
"A great vise! The compact size does not sacrifice the function of this vise. The pedestal allows me to move the vise to any table as well as tie from the back of my truck's tailgate when I'm camping, fishing, and trying to match the hatch. The rotation function allows me to see the whole fly without disrupting where I am in the process of tying. I bought other vises that were less expensive and now wish I had started with this one."
Review 7 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT!,
October 17, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"My first decent vise and everything I could ask for. No sense spending $500 for a better one, this does the job and then some. Superb!!"
Review 8 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vise,
October 5, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"Many fly tying individuals start out like this: like the idea of fly tying, buy a kit/vise/combo, get a bite more serious, read more books/watch YouTube videos... and then go for a 'real' vise. (There are some people that jump straight to a 'real' vise out of the gate...)
No matter which way, this is a superb vise. At first, I had a basic kit vise. It was OK, but the jaws had some occasional issues and the overall 'feel' of the vise was subpar. This Renzetti Traveler Vise is far from just being a 'traveller' light vise. Many, may fly tiers use it as their main vise. I bought mine in the c-clamp version, and also purchased a separate pedestal base--now I have the best of both worlds.
The vise holds nearly all hook sizes imaginable for 95% of the fly tying needs. large SW hooks or very, very small midges (22 or smaller) might be an issue though. True rotary vise with bobbin holder works superbly. A+"
Review 9 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding rotary vice,
May 17, 2011
By: danonthefly
from Maryland
"I decided to purchase this vice based off the recommendation of my good friend. I have only been tying for a few months and I told him I wanted to upgrade my vice. This product is outstanding! The vice is very clean and simple to learn to use, and has all the features I wanted. I'd highly recommend Renzetti vices to anyone who wants to continue tying fly's on a regular basis."
Review 10 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Tying Vise I Ever Used,
February 12, 2011
By: Extonmac
from Exton, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I tied flies for 25 years using a cheap vise, and stopped tying for a decade after having kids. In getting back into it, I bought the Renzetti Traveler vise. The rotary feature simplifies tying by making all parts of the fly visible as you rotate it. Since my eyes are not what they used to be, this enables me to tie professional-looking flies, even at my age, and even though I haven't tied in years. This vise also handles all the fly sizes I'll ever tie, and can handle those too small for my ability (down to #28), and larger than I'll ever tie (up to 4/0)."
Review 11 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vice,
January 26, 2011
By: TroutGuy1
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great vice and I had no issues with it. I found it easy to use I would purchase it all over again."
Review 12 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vice!,
April 15, 2010
By: ScottH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used a number of stationary vices, but this is my first 'true rotary' and it is great! I can't imagine how I tied some of the more technical flies without it. No more walking around to the back of the fly to see if it looks proportionate. The thread rest is very helpful when applying multiple materials. I wish it came with a travel case for more versatility, but besides that it's everything I could want and at a very good price!"
Review 13 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice product,
March 20, 2010
By: roby
from PITTSBURGH; PA.
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"very satisfied with the jaw function(hook holding power) however , the rotary adjustment is difficult to operate. I own the pedestal model and overall I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT to other customers. The price is right!!"
Review 14 for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first rotary vise, perhaps my last!,
November 13, 2009
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I can't imagine needing anything more than this vice. I've been using it for about four years and it hasn't failed to satisfy any of my needs yet while tying trout flies. From #24 dries, through nymphs to #4 streamers this vice seems to handle everything well. Never slips. Very solid. I have the last version which has a 6" stem. The 7" stem on this new version is an improvement. I have the pedestal version."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Renzetti Traveler Vise
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2