Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wet-Weather Upland Shell

A revolutionary minimal upland soft shell perfect for wearing under a strap vest. We tested three top fabrics on dog vests and sent the dogs hunting in rugged cover for five days straight. We chose the toughest fabric for our jacket. The fabric stands up best to brush, but stays breathable and water resistant. Inside, the shell's lightweight, soft fleece liner insulates and comforts. Blaze accents increase safety afield. The jacket's gusseted and adjustable cuffs keep out the wind. Its underarm, ventilating zips aid circulation. Jacket includes adjustable bungee waist. In tan/olive. Nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44).
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Review 1 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Upland Jacket,
October 14, 2013
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I have the blaze orange version of this jacket and have been wanting the more subdued version for quite some time. The sale pushed me over the edge. I'm a little more comfortable wearing these colors to town after a day of hunting than blaze orange. But the good part is the functional aspects of this jacket. It repels rain like crazy, wind too. It is a not too heavy and not too light layer for Fall upland hunting when it is 30 degrees or less in the morning, damp and windy. The zippered hand warmer pockets work and it has ventilation zippers under the arms. It's not fancy or overbuilt, just functional."
Review 2 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Months Later,
July 14, 2013
By: drew3287
from San Antonio, TX
"I originally planned on wearing this jacket as a casual and hunting jacket. I decided to return it because I plan on wearing something under my strap vest that has blaze orange. Also, for more casual/everyday use I found I didn't quite care for the extra material in the bicep/tricep area of the jacket (for hunting purposes this may be beneficial for layering, etc.). The ends of the bungee waist cords can also come out of their holding loop and and become visible by hanging below the jacket. Overall, for upland bird hunting I would probably recommend the blaze orange version for increased visibility/safety in the field."
Review 3 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm with comfort,
June 5, 2013
By: fastrack
from Northern, Ohio
"This is quickly becoming my go to jacket. The warmth & fit make sure that I reach for it when I head out to the woods or a nice restaurant. The pockets are roomy too.
Nice job Orvis!"
Review 4 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight, warm,
May 17, 2013
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"This is a nice shooting jacket for bird shooting. If the weather were on the colder side I would recommend a vest underneath but for most Fall weather this is ideal. It is a trim fit, quiet, and gun mounting is easy and unobstructed."
Review 5 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
April 4, 2013
By: Bumpus
from Asheville, NC
"Purchased to wear under a strap vest for Montana bird hunting. Very pleased with subdued colors, able to wear every day. Have worn this jacket over a fleece vest in drizzling cold weather and stayed warm and dry. Fit is perfectly true to size. Totally satisfied with Orvis product and transaction."
Review 6 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Like it!,
March 15, 2013
By: drew3287
from San Antonio, TX
"I had originally purchased the Dakota Softshell Jacket, and exchanged it for this jacket in the tan/olive color. I'm glad I did. This jacket allows doesn't feel tight in the shoulder area like the Dakota did for me. It's a little longer than the Dakota, but I'm happy with the fit of the large size (being 6'1" 175 lbs). I haven't hunted in it, but have worn it in San Antonio and like the color scheme/look of the jacket. It could definitely double as a casual and hunting/outdoors jacket in my opinion. The pit zips are also a feature I like on this jacket."
Review 7 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quail hunting,
March 5, 2013
By: quailman58
from The Woodlands, TX
"I purchased my wet-weather upland shell for quail hunting in OK and TX. The weather here is cool to cold so the shell works great as an outaide layer. It is roomy enough to swing a shotgun easily without binding. It is just the right weight, not too hot not too cold. Great jacket."
Review 8 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another GREAT Orvis Product,
March 3, 2013
By: TC50
from Ky
"Very, very good coat. Went hunting last weekend. Cold in the morning, warm mid-day. Because it breaths well, this coat works well when temps very dramatically during the day. Wasn't sure about it at first but after giving it a whirl decided it was a really, really good purchase.
Don't be fooled by light weight fabric, it held up well in the thickets!!"
Review 9 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worthy of Orvis Label,
February 27, 2013
By: Flemdog
from Nashville, Tn
"This product is worthy of the Orvis label. It is very comfortable and true to size. Inner, bilateral chest pockets to accommodate left and right handed shooters would be a great addition for small items such as cell phones."
Review 10 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent innovation,
September 1, 2011
By: Gentleman
from Horsham, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This jacket is well designed and very light weight. Taken for a few walks already and it cuts the wind and is warm."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice looking jacket,
August 31, 2011
By: troutchops
from Michigan
"Haven't taken it out in the grouse woods yet, but it looks like a nice jacket. We'll see how it holds up this season. Fits true to size."