Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wet-Weather Upland Shell

A revolutionary minimal upland soft shell perfect for wearing under a strap vest. We tested three top fabrics on dog vests and sent the dogs hunting in rugged cover for five days straight. We chose the toughest fabric for our jacket. The fabric stands up best to brush, but stays breathable and water resistant. Inside, the shell's lightweight, soft fleece liner insulates and comforts. Blaze accents increase safety afield. The jacket's gusseted and adjustable cuffs keep out the wind. Its underarm, ventilating zips aid circulation. Jacket includes adjustable bungee waist. In tan/blaze. Polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
39 of 44(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Review 1 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Dry,
October 14, 2014
By: BrianC32
"I am new to upland hunting and purchased this as my outer shell for the 2014 season. It rained steady the first two days and I was kept completely dry and without any briars sticking to me. I was shocked at how warm it kept me to the point where I was glad it had the vents under the arms. (temp outside was around 35 deg F with rain)"
Review 2 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
May 12, 2014
By: willowcreekkennels
from Little Falls, MN
"We have used this upland shell from Saskatchewan to Texas and are very impressed with its comfort and durability. This is one of the best upland jackets we have owned. Thank you Orvis for your quality apparel.
Chad Hines
Willow Creek Kennels
"
Review 3 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Defective sleeve snaps,
January 7, 2014
By: spinonejay
"I love the coat, actually, except for a fatal design flaw. The snap on the sleeve breaks very easily. My snap broke after only 8 or 9 uses of the jacket. My friend who has the same jacket and recommended it to me also has a broken snap on one of his sleeves. I hope this is why the jacket is out of stock until July. Orvis stood behind the product and gave me a full refund. (Dear Uncle Orvis -- send me a gift certificate for the new one!)"
Review 4 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket BUT,
November 30, 2013
By: OutdoorsSkip
from Hendersonville, North Carolina
"This is a great jacket. It preforms well in the field, BUT; The first time I wore it, a snap on the sleeve broke (they are cheap plastic rather than metal). I contacted Orvis and they sent me a replacement jacket. Even sent it express delivery because I was leaving on a trip in a few days. Great customer service, BUT; the first day I wore the new jacket, a snap on the sleeve broke. I didn't bother contacting Orvis again because all they could do would be to send me another jacket with the same cheap plastic snaps. I replaced the snaps on the sleeves with solid metal ones and now everything is fine. NOTICE TO ORVIS BUYER, Why in the world would you specify cheap plastic snaps on a hunting coat that is ment for hard wear in the field? Having a product made in China may be OK, but it is up to Orvis to specify correctly so they get a top quality item. This is a great jacket, and you will love it, but to avoid problems in the field, replace the snaps on the sleeves as soon as you get it."
Review 5 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pockets,
November 24, 2013
By: wyohunter
from wyoming
"This shell could use another pocket either a inside pocket or a chest pocket on the outside, both would be nice. It's not very warm so you will to layer it over a warm sweater. It has a good fit offering ease of movement."
Review 6 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Only jacket needed for Upland,
November 4, 2013
By: CanadianDD
from Ontario, Canada
"My friends and I have always been looking for a braze orange jacket that is wind and waterproof that we could wear with a strap vest. I was the last of four friends to pick one of these up. I just returned from 5 days of hunting in North Dakota where the winds were as low as 5 mph and as high as 40 mph and the temperatures ranged from 20 to 46F and the only thing that I changed from day to day was the long underwear I started out with in the morning. On the days where it was a little warmer or when I was pushing hard to keep up with the dogs, I just unzipped the underarms and front zippers. You will not be disappointed with this jacket!!"
Review 7 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Decent Purchase,
November 1, 2013
By: Coveyhunter
from Ligonier, PA
"Does not provide much relief of briars in grouse woods. Better for pheasant or quail hunting."
Review 8 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 21, 2013
By: 05051955
"I purchased the Wet Weather Shell and was able to use this past weekend in cool overcast conditions. The Shell did a great job and my hunting partner ordered one the following Monday."
Review 9 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't make it out the door......,
October 14, 2013
By: Mickeyboy
from North Dakota
"It's the 3rd day of pheasant season here in N.D. and it's raining so I thought I would try this jacket I bought last winter and had never used. As I was putting it on I noticed the cuff snap on the left sleeve was open. Upon closer inspection the snap had broken off from the jacket. The only other time I had tried this jacket on was when it came in the mail last winter. Brand new! Cheap Cheap! Cmon Orvis get it together...put on metal snaps not plastic!"
Review 10 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wet weather upland shell,
October 8, 2013
By: CKD446
from Doylestown, PA.
"I wore this jacket a few days ago on an upland hunt, in the Adirondaks. The day time highs where in the mid 60's. the zipper under the arms was a very nice feature on warm days. The zippered pockets where sufficient size to hold my e-collar transmitter and plenty of shells. I pushed through many thickets with thorns and the jacket came though unscathed."
Review 11 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased,
August 26, 2013
By: HighlandShooter
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"Bought this item on sale, and after receiving it I know that this jacket is worth the full price. Well made, wind and water-proof, light material. I look forward to many upland hunts in this jacket!"
Review 12 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Baggy,
March 7, 2013
By: Drahthaar
from Western NJ
"I like the style and function of the Wet-Weather Upland Shell however it does have a very baggy fit through the body. This does cause a bit of bunching under a strap vest. Not totally bothersome but something to be aware of especially if the buyer is on the "thin" side"
Review 13 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lightweight wind protection, good ventilation,
February 16, 2013
By: llewellen
from Lake Orion MI
"I agree with others that this coat costs a lot for what you get. I bought it for the fabric and ventilation and both work well. My biggest complaint is the way the inner fleece clings to most fabrics, wish it had a light nylon lining in the sleeves. I have to wear a smooth polyester as an underlayer, wool shirts cling and restrict gun mounting. Could also use an inside pocket."
Review 14 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shell!,
December 28, 2012
By: JDC2
from Virginia
"Has a lot of features you normally see on more expensive shells. Stops the wind well. Comfortable."
Review 15 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana to New Mexico,
November 13, 2012
By: Randy
from Zebulon, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Simply the best. 8 deg and 25 mph wind, while pheasant hunting in ND last week, over a long sleeve cotton shirt and wool sweater. No problem! 2 years now and I will not pull out of the driveway without it."
Review 16 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought it Again,
November 7, 2012
By: Arthur0413
"I have owned this product in the past, and found it superior. I lost some weight and so had replace my hunting coat. I have several of the 'old' size - this was my unhesitating choice for the new size. I use the coat for hunting grouse in all weather and find it durable, waterproof, able to adjust to a range of temperatures and light. All good."
Review 17 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever,
October 29, 2012
By: Undbob
from Littleton, Colorado
"This is the best lightweight hunting jacket I have ever owned. It's the perfect weight for most upland hunting where you eventually work up a great deal of body heat and provides great ease of movement and totally waterproof yet breathable. I liked it so much that I recently bough the other color of this coat for wearing casually and wore it to a football game this weekend."
Review 18 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
September 3, 2012
By: SEC45
from TX
"Very nice/light waterproof shell. Very tough in brush country. Excellent for layering and wearing a strap vest over, or even a shell belt-the reason I bought it."
Review 19 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great buy,
April 25, 2012
By: huntfish
from ohio
"I definetly find this product worthy of what the company said it can do!!! I have tested this product hunting and fishing (olive color) . warm , cold,wet, and windy weather! No problems period!!! The size is exact to charts! No restrictions in movement , shouldering my 20ga or casing my #6 wieght fly rod! It is a little bit pricey!! that is main reason I didn't give it a 5 star!!"
Review 20 for Wet-Weather Upland Shell
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended,
February 21, 2012
By: BigEd101
from N Ireland
"I have always enjoyed the Orvis brand and this continues with an excellent garment named Wet Weather Upland Shell. The quality is great and the material has a terrific feel to it. Quality appears to be typical of Orvis and I am very happy that i made this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.