Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Quilted Primaloft Jacket

Perfect for layering under your waterfowl or upland jacket in cold weather. Quilted with 4-oz. patented Primaloft® insulation that helps your body retain warmth and conserve energy, is as warm as down, compressible, and breathable. But, unlike down, Primaloft retains its insulating properties even when wet. The waxed shell fabric sheds light precipitation and gives the fabric a vintage, classic look. The jacket has rib-knit matching cuffs and collar. Snap front closure. Interior adjustable waist. Two tricot-lined handwarmer pockets; one interior pocket. Pre-curved sleeve for optimum fit. Jacket packs down into its own interior pocket. Locker loop. In pine. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Review 1 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
May 2, 2014
By: rmilner
"Good looking jacket. Fits well. True to size. Lightweight but quite warm."
Review 2 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Practical Jacket,
May 1, 2014
By: Fishguts
from Chicago Illinois
"This jacket fits me perfectly. I wear a size 44 Blazer and ordered the Large. It is a very comfortable and warm garment and I have used it as an under layer with rain gear for the perfect combination of warmth and waterproofness."
Review 3 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Purchase,
April 8, 2014
By: Bluetick77
from Madison, MS
"This is the most comfortable and versatile jacket that I have ever owned. When I first saw this and its companion vest in the catalog, I bought them both thinking I would return one or the other. The vest is still hanging in my closet, unworn with the tag on it. The jacket has served both purposes."
Review 4 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quilted Primaloft Jacket Review,
March 29, 2014
By: CharlesEdward
from Baltimore, MD
"At a Ravens game during the winter a friend of mine attended a game with me. It was freezing and all he was wearing was a Quilted Primaloft Jacket. I was skeptical about how warm it was but bought one from Orvis. I travel all over the US and that jacket is now my travel jacket. Freezing, really cold, cold or just a wind/rain breaker. It serves all purposes and weighs next to nothing. I going to order the Quilted Primaloft Vest. Thank you Orvis."
Review 5 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightweight, no bulk, warm,
January 30, 2014
By: Qball
from Shushan, NY
"I've had this jacket for 5 years now and love it. It's super light in weight, not bulkly and very warm due to the Primaloft insulation..It's versatile...I use it as a layering piece for Duck hunting on cold days under a camo shell, and as a lightweight outer layer throughout the Fall and Winter. The knit collar and cuff make this piece great, and are the authetic design details that came from the standard of the original quilted hunting jacket design."
Review 6 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
arrived as advertised,
January 30, 2014
By: rgidaho
from Laguna Niguel, CA
"A reasonable lightweight permaloft jacket or cold weather layer. Would like to have had a zipper."
Review 7 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent jacket,
January 25, 2014
By: DanJS
from Arlington, VA
"My new quilted jacket is light, warm, and well designed. What more could you ask for?"
Review 8 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket!,
January 17, 2014
By: AZHiker
"Great combination of high tech insulation and traditional styling. Works perfectly under my Barbour jacket and greatly increases its versatility."
Review 9 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Jacket,
January 15, 2014
By: EAO613
from Bossier City, Louisiana
"This is the perfect jacket for throwing on over PJs to get the paper or take the dog out then layer under a heavier jacket on a cold morning! It was a Christmas gift for my husband and he loves it. It is warm, lightweight, and crushable. I only wish there was a ladies' version!"
Review 10 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket,
January 14, 2014
By: McGrain
from Upstate NY
"Nice and light jacket to take the chill off. You can wear it under a outer jacket. Only wish the Orvis name on the front was black."
Review 11 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 14, 2014
By: COnative
"This jacket is lightweight, very warm, and looks great!"
Review 12 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice and warm,
January 9, 2014
By: Wolfman74
from Columbia, MO
"A good coat for Missouri weather, goes well over the the vest. Very warm"
Review 13 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had to get one for my wife,
August 26, 2013
By: Shooter60
"My wife borrowed my jacket to step outside one cold evening and I thought I'd never get it back. I finally ordered one for her in a smaller size. I now have mine back and we are both enjoyed these jackets for their comfort and versatility."
Review 14 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Asalmon fishers jacket in classic style.,
December 29, 2012
By: Salmonfisher
from Oslo Norway
"A very good jacket.Tested in minus 10 celsius here in Norway. Will be in use on the Dee in april , Tweed in november (for the autumn salmon run) and in my yearly salmonfishing in arctic Finnmark, where I have frozen many anight but got many god salmons."
Review 15 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great without the bulk,
December 29, 2012
By: roxyc
from Ottertail, MN
"My husband just had to have this jacket. It comes down in the behind and is not bulky, so riding in the car is a lot more comfortable and here in MN we could wear a lot of clothes."
Review 16 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What I've come to expect from Orvis,
December 26, 2012
By: clarkieclark
"Their product stylists are top notch, making everything look so well-made in the catalogs and online. However, as with a number of recent Orvis products, the real item has failed to live up to the quality represented in the product photography. This item is of average quality, the material around the cuffs took all of two days to become stretched out and no longer elastic. So, the sleeves now drop down over my hands, making this a very ineffective garment for outdoor activities. The Primaloft is very warm, no doubt, but the floppy sleeves just won't do..."
Review 17 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Medium jacket,
December 25, 2012
By: spectrespook
from Alexandria, VA
"Worn similar type garment while in military. Orvis has done a great job at building this jacket. Would not change a thing--keep the quality exactly as is. Well designed and thought out. Works great as advertised as a mid-layer under a waterproof shell."
Review 18 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Hunting we will go...,
November 24, 2012
By: TJ5599
from Kansas City, MO
"Looking for a light weight coat liner that could double as a jacket. This coat has proven to be very comfortable, warm and easy to wear all by itself. Didn't know what to expect knowing this was not a fleece product. Will definitely recommend to my hunting buddies."
Review 19 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Primaloft,
October 21, 2012
By: Trampus
from Northeast Montana
"This jacket is very light in weight and very warm. I use it alone as well as for layering in extreme cold weather. It fits easily under most outer shell jackets."
Review 20 for Quilted Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT JACKET!,
January 25, 2012
By: Dendraw
from Los Angeles, CA.
"I went back & forth between this jacket and a couple of others and read through the reviews to make sure I was making the right choice for me (if's a little pricey for a light weight jacket). However, I've gotta say that I am completely satisfied with this jacket. I made sure to get a size up and the fit is perfect! Yes the material is light, but the insulation really does keep your body nice and warm! One little surprise that I missed in the features is that it folds into it's own pocket/pouch! GREAT feature for traveling! The ONLY bad thing I can say is that NOW it's on sale!!! So get it now....it's a better price!"