Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe

Classic sneakers, redesigned as the ultimate lightweight road-trip shoe. These best selling men's canvas and leather shoes have a cool retro look and are an ongoing customer favorite for their unique style and comfort. Canvas-and-leather uppers joined with a synthetic sole combine support, comfort, and traction. Canvas and leather men's shoes in navy. Leather and man-made materials. Imported.Whole and half sizes: 7-11½, 12, 13.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
40 of 51(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Review 1 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice, but...,
March 20, 2013
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"I didn't really like the fit and the sides came up higher than I prefer on sneakers.To bad because I had wanted to try a pair for some time but sent them back due to lack of comfort. They insole didn't have enough support either.Seemed rather flat and hard to me."
Review 2 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feels like your barefoot with arch support",
February 7, 2013
By: BGlenn
from Lexington, MI
"Great shoe. Good looks, very comfortable, and a nice amount of arch support. You'll be hard pressed to find a more comfortable casual shoe. Fit was very good as well."
Review 3 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Shoes,
January 24, 2013
By: Geodal
from UK
"As usual the service from Orvis excellent and the shoes were even better than expected in both quality, comfort and appearance tho unlikely to make me dance any better!"
Review 4 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Outstanding shoe and distinctive look,
January 9, 2013
By: tulsa12
"These shoes are nice, friends and neighbors have commented how cool they look and they also are ordering a pair. Quite comfortable, wish as another view stated that there was some additional arch support in the foot. I wear with a pair of normal/running socks and are true to other brand name sizes. I will wear about two-three times a week and are doing well after several months. A layer of Scotchwear guard might be something to do, to protect the suede. I would buy another pair and very likely will. Please increase the arch support."
Review 5 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic response by "Customer Service" online.,
October 8, 2012
By: 2468
from Dallas, TX
"The product is what I expected; a unique and decent shoe for the price.
What was really fantastic is the Orvis-online customer service.
Thanks for the great treatment, and know I'm now your best walking advertisement in Texas."
Review 6 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable shoes I have ever had,
September 18, 2012
By: fordf150
from Manchester, VT
"These are really comfortable shoes I have the Navy, and Melon colored shoes. I have had a lot of people coment on them how nice they are. I refer to the Navy ones as my "Blue Suede Sneakers." The 2 different colors offer a lot of different color clothes combinations that I can wear that go well with these shoes."
Review 7 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
September 10, 2012
By: Conrad63
from Atlanta, ga
"These canvas and leather shoes are the greatest. I forgot how comfortable sneakers could be. After reading the reviews I was skepticle. But everyone's feet are different, and for a few these shoes might not work. There is some arch support, but not a lot. As far as a feel to a foot without socks, it could hurt. There are metal eyelets on the sides and they could be uncomfortable. But I wear socks with mine and the arch support is adequate for me. I think most people would find them comfortable as I did. Hope you enjoy your pair as well as I am."
Review 8 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Sneak,
August 10, 2012
By: Manfrom
from Williamsport, Pa
"Nice looking and well made sneaker. The leather trim really sets them off. They run true to size and provide plenty of width."
Review 9 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these shoes,
May 29, 2012
By: atm1
"These shoes get you excited about summer. Light and comfy, and fun and stylish without looking TOO young."
Review 10 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Shoes...But Uncomfortable,
May 8, 2012
By: IntuitiveJohn
from Tallahassee, FL
"Told I Need To Wear Socks
I bought these shoes because I liked the look...sophisticated but casual...very happy with that..
However...the shoes rub on the outside of my foot and I can't wear them to walk or use them as "real shoes"
When I contacted Orvis they were very helpful...but said the answer was "they suggest socks be worn with all shoes" (they were nice about it)
But I don't wear socks...I spend a lot of time outside...on the boat...at the beach house...at the beach...and socks are not part of my lifestyle (except when playing tennis)
So...I love the shoes...but will trade them back in t get something that fits better."
Review 11 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very poor quality,
March 29, 2012
By: Melflower
"interior of shoe is unlined and rough seam exposed rubs on side of foot tearing skin on toe. not good , thelook is good, the quality poor."
Review 12 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sharp, but not Great,
February 10, 2012
By: RySubaru
from Greenbow, AL
"Love the look. Get compliments all the time on the old school look. They are, however, very hard to slip on without a shoehorn. Also, they will occasionally develop the "squeaks." Glad I purchased the pair, though."
Review 13 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shoes of all time,
December 28, 2011
By: lottawoose
from Galva IL.
"I ordered a pair of Orvis Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoes 4 yrs ago and they are just showing ware .After many machine washes.I just ordered a backup pair.But I think the original will go 5 seasons!!"
Review 14 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sneakers,
July 27, 2011
By: Frapnoid
from Baltimore, MD
"The shoes are true to size. Most sneakers are a half size smaller than the actual shoe size. Order your actual size. The fit is loose and comfy. It is a little too loose for a narrow foot. My wife hates the look which makes them very fun to wear."
Review 15 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second purchase,
July 8, 2011
By: homersadvocate
from Magnolia, AR
"I'm Ordering my second pair, in "melon" instead of navy this time (just for variety). The shoes are comfortable, although I wouldn't make them first choice for a 5k walk. They get compliments wherever and whenever I wear them..
They're lightweight and very easy to wear.
I'm ordering a second pair because the first pair, after several years of service, were beginning to separate along that seam between the light and dark leathers along the lower portion of the shoe."
Review 16 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extreme coolness,
July 6, 2011
By: LarryB
from New York, NY
"I am a sneaker nut, to put it mildly. These are one of the coolest, most comfortable and stylish sneaks in the collection. They have a sort of retro look and feel to them, yet the combination of fabrics and oversized sole make them very unique looking. They are a good buy and a great addition to anyones shoe closet."
Review 17 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
inimalist Shoes,
July 2, 2011
By: joebaker
from Cary, NC
"My primary focus for footwear is comfort. These shoes provide comfort plus: light weight, adequate support, reasonable cost and as a bonus. Good Looks!"
Review 18 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minimalist shoe gives maximum style,
June 20, 2011
By: LandDG
from Kansas City
"I first purchased the leather version of the minimalist tennis shoe. I received comments all the time about how much people liked the look of the shoe. I then ordered the canvas (heather color). I continued to get comments while wearing those. The shoe is very comfortable, high quality. I finally ordered the navy color. That is what prompted this review. I wear them with jeans or casual slacks. I wear them all the time. I would recommend these casual shoes to anyone."
Review 19 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Color fading,
June 8, 2011
By: Teed
from Clearlake, Ca.
"I've had the canvas shoe for several years. I don't wear them often, so they've naturally held up well. This winter I wore them on a hiking trail and got them pretty dirty. I figured, no problem, throw them in the wash, since most of it is canvas. And, they cleaned up well. However they lost significant color, which is what makes the shoe so distinctive. The faded, motley color instantly made the shoe look old and beat-up, relegating it to the rank of 'work shoe' . I would have thought a better quality, longer lasting dye would have been used, given its cost. It was a comfortable shoe while it lasted, but I'd never buy them again given the cheap canvas coloring."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 12, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were disappointed to hear this Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe failed to meet expectations. We thanked him for his feedback and would suggest spot cleaning for this leather and canvas shoe. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations.
Review 20 for Canvas-and-Leather Minimalist® Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buying more!,
June 5, 2011
By: 1314
"Wonderful shoes which fit like gloves and have been much admired. I am buying pairs 3 and 4 in case they become unavailable!"