Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Living Damsel

During the summer when damselflies are darting across still water ponds and lakes, they can be a clue to some of the best fishing around. If you see them, never hesitate to use damselfly patterns whether dry or a nymph. This pattern is a great one for fishing just under the surface. Color, Dark Olive. Sizes: 10, 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living Damsel
Review 1 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carp candy,
April 27, 2015
By: mushrat
from Michigan
"carp in my local creek that borders a golf course love this fly. just have to watch out for errant golf balls."
Review 2 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ready for fishing,
April 20, 2015
By: Oldgray
from Bunkie,La.
"To much rain here in Louisiana have not used the Living Damsel yet.Loaded my zip lock bag that I label today with several flies from Orvis.I like that all the flies I have ordered from Orvis there is no paint In the eye of the hooks.this sounds trivial but it is a pain to open put the hook eye.Also I like that each lure comes in it's individual package that is labeled with the reorder number and size of the fly."
Review 3 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BUY THIS FLY.,
March 23, 2015
By: Ryan1024m
from spring, tx
"this fly has produced more fish for me then any other fly i have used in freshwater. I've caught large-mouth, crappie, bluegill, talapia, and even catfish on this fly. I was turned onto it by an orvis store rep and i am a complete believer in it now. you will always find my fly box stocked with them."
Review 4 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Candy,
April 8, 2014
By: CaptainBorinquen
from Puerto Rico
"This pattern is like Candy for panfish and smaller peacock bass. Wait and then slow retrieve for panfish, quick erratic action for peacock. Works everytime."
Review 5 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Damsel,
March 7, 2013
By: Taupo
from Tauranga, New Zealand
"Very good fly for New Zealand lakes
with the life like tail. Gives a real
swimming action. A must for lake
fishing. Will be back in New Zealand soon.
"
Review 6 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Productive Fly,
April 25, 2012
By: RSnow
from Washington DC
"This is by far the most productive fly I have ever fished. As a guide, I rely on this fly to put fish in the net day in and day out. When I fish on my own time, this is what I use. When I take my wife fishing, this is what I use.
The braided tail gives it some sort of irresistible action to the fish. I have caught well over 20 species from fresh and brackish to salt water.
I carry a box of nothing but these damsels. Buy them in bulk. Fish them often. Use them as a dropper off a big streamer or popper. This is the ultimate fly.
I'd love to hear the story on who created it, why, and when. Buy them. Buy lots of them. Can we get them in Chartreuse or white?"
Review 7 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great SE US panfish fly,
April 11, 2012
By: Av8tor74
from Wilmington, NC
"For some reason this fly looks like our local minnows that large blue gills & small large mouth bass just love to hit"
Review 8 for Living Damsel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
slams' 'em,
November 15, 2011
By: 1fishybutt
"used these when they were offered years ago with the 'eyes'. then again when offered w/o distinctive 'eyes'. now with the old pattern offered, they are a really good fly in high mountain lakes."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Living Damsel
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1