Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat

Protect your floors from water damage and keep the area under your pet's feeding station clean with our thirsty indoor/outdoor Water Trapper dog placemat. Able to absorb up to a gallon of liquid per square foot, these superstrong commercial-grade polypropylene placemats trap water, crumbs, and dirt and are backed with sturdy rubber for traction so dog bowls and feeders will stay put. And because big dogs make big messes, we also offer a larger size with 65% more surface area. Easy care—just hose off to clean. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.836 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (225 reviews)
5 stars
201
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
218 of 225(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Review 1 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purpose fulfilled; floor is dry,
July 16, 2014
By: Vikilou
from San Francisco, CA
"The newly restored hard wood floor is safe now with the Personalized Water Trapper Pet Placemat. The big dog can splash all he wants with no moisture damage. Plus, he loves seeing his name in print."
Review 2 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp looking,
July 10, 2014
By: Rich52
from Arizona
"The mat is very stylish and received our King Charles spaniel's bark of approval. Does what is supposed to. Seems well made and the price is reasonable. A combination becoming more difficult to find in any product."
Review 3 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper,
June 27, 2014
By: Oakley13
from Blacksburg,VA
"Excellent! Soaked up spilled water bowl last night and dried by morning!"
Review 4 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floor Saver,
June 12, 2014
By: jackfinn
"LOVE this mat. Not only very attractive but helps us keep the floor clean and tidy."
Review 5 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not true to size,
June 2, 2014
By: Lovedogs1
"I was very disappointed to discover that my personalized pet mat is actually not true to size as you advertised. I ordered the 2X3 feet mat because it was going to be a perfect fit but when I laid it out I discovered it was really 35X22&1/4 inches. Having a large German Shepherd I need as much coverage as possible. Very disappointed"
Review 6 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Placemats,
May 30, 2014
By: CrazyChicken
from West Virginia
"I will never get any other. These are fantastic. I have recommended to someone and they let me know how much they appreciated the tip."
Review 7 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Dog Bowl Mat,
May 29, 2014
By: BrunoT
"Perfect size for a medium size dog.
Good absorption.
"
Review 8 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dinner Mat,
May 28, 2014
By: Sherry43
"Our dog spilled water all over the kitchen floor when she drank, so we got this mat -- it's great. Large enough to fit under her bowls and catch water as she spills it. It's also very attractive -- in a nice color shade and has her name on it. We're glad we bought it!"
Review 9 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Mats,
May 21, 2014
By: CrazyChicken
from West Virginia
"Love these. The water hog mats are the only ones that work for my dogs. I tried 5 other food mats and it was a waste of money. I recommended these to someone else who thanked me for telling him about them. All three of my dogs have their own mats - with their names of course."
Review 10 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As promised!,
May 12, 2014
By: TMills
from Florida
"This water trapper mat is the best I have tried to date! I have hard floors (terrazzo) and this mat keeps my dog's messy water habits under control. Other mats claim the same but ended up sticking to the floor or holding the water on the floor and encouraged mold/mildew. Orvis mat delivers as promised!"
Review 11 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love These Mats!,
April 24, 2014
By: Catahoula2
from McKinney, TX
"Ordered one for each of our dogs with their name one it in Medium Brown. Keeps the floor clean and dry! Worth the money when you have large breed dogs."
Review 12 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 17, 2014
By: RussInDC
from DC
"We've had these for our last three dogs. Being labs, they are sloppy drinkers, and this keeps the water off the floor. Easy to clean, too."
Review 13 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable,
April 12, 2014
By: Aud142
"Great durable mat that stays flat and absorbs water."
Review 14 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 11, 2014
By: curly56
from Somerville, AL
"This catches all of the drips off of my shih-tzu's (pronounced: sheed-zoo's) beards! I am thinking about getting another one."
Review 15 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Helps a lot,
March 25, 2014
By: jcelen242
"This mat really keeps my dogs feeding area nice and tidy. I keep his water bowl and his food bowl on it and after I finish feeding him, I just pick up the mat and shake it over he garbage can...."
Review 16 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality Placemat, Mediocre Personalization,
March 23, 2014
By: ShoeFiend
from Chicago, IL
"The placemat is high quality and looks very nice. I am disappointed in the personalization as it is not centered."
Response from Orvis:By Mark S.Customer ServiceMarch 27, 2014
We listen! An Orvis associate contacted this customer and immediately issued a replacement mat free of charge. We want to be sure that the quality of every item we sell exceeds your expectations. Every Orvis purchase is backed by our 100% satisfaction guarantee, just as it has been since 1856.
Review 17 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best quality,
March 20, 2014
By: Jeffreyoake
from Ansonia, CT
"My name is Jeffrey Oakes
Both bedding and personalized water trapper look so excellent. Febe loves both so much. I will order another one bedding for febe soon.
Also i will order personalized water trapper for my sister's puppy name is Teddy.
"
Review 18 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PRODUCT,
March 11, 2014
By: SandKey
from Clearwater, Fl
"What can I say, it is just a very good product. It really helps protect floor around his food and water dishes."
Review 19 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
February 13, 2014
By: JJ3116
from Minneapolis MN
"I'm very happy with this pet placemat. It keeps the area neat and tidy."
Review 20 for Personalized Water Trapper® Pet Placemat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
January 27, 2014
By: Finnepup
from Stafford, VA
"This mat is well made and works wonderfully for keeping the water from being splashed on the floor. I love how it can be cleaned by simply hosing off. I definitely recommend this product."