Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Heathered Twill Shirts

Rich plaids take on even more depth thanks to our heathered pure cotton yarns. This shirt—woven in an easy-wearing 3.8-oz. fabric—pairs well with jeans or with a sweater and khakis. Chest pocket. Adjustable cuff. Faux-horn buttons. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heathered Twill Shirts
Review 1 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Satisfied,
April 23, 2013
By: MartyR
from North Haven, CT
"Purchased two of these shirts in different colors. I like the soft fabric, great colors, and the fit is great.
Overall quality of Orvis clothing is tough to match. Been a long time customer and will remain so.
"
Review 2 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very good - not great - shirt,
April 22, 2013
By: Johna32
from Chicago Burbs IL
"Well tailored, accurately sized, but the coloration is very muted and appears washed out. Nonetheless it is a nice shirt for jeans, khakis."
Review 3 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very soft,
April 9, 2013
By: MikeCMN
"I was surprised and pleased how soft this shirt is. A great casual shirt that looks nice with jeans or khaki's. Another quality orvis shirt."
Review 4 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice shirt, weak buttons,
February 21, 2013
By: KentinAda
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I like the shirt a lot but the cuff button broke the 2nd time I wore it. Had a button on a pair of pants also break. Not sure where their buttons are coming from but I'd pick a different supplier."
Review 5 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully Soft Shirt,
December 28, 2012
By: huskeyman
from Michigan
"This shirt is extremely good looking and is soft beyond description. It looks great with jeans or kakis."
Review 6 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad shirt,
December 27, 2012
By: cjkn
"Received this shirt as a gift, and the thought was appreciated, but the shirt after washing was wrinkled and had some cotton piles on it. I do not see wrinkle free on shirt, but who would make and sell a shirt that was not wrinkle free now. Will give to goodwill, as this was an gift and do not have paperwork to return it, and not willing to pay for a return."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not a success,
September 25, 2012
By: silvermike
"bought the charcoal, like the color and texture, but the shirt wrinkles heavily and does not take to the iron very well. for the price, the fabric should be better."
Review 8 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
April 14, 2012
By: RWAG
from Florida
"Beautiful shirt... But very disappointed that such an apparently good quality shirt would not be colorfast. I wore it using RiteGuard deodorant and the color went from green to yellow... I've used the same deodorant for years with all my other shirts and they wern't harmed. An expensive shirt for wearing just once."
Review 9 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul's Birthday Shirt,
February 23, 2012
By: beebah
from Shaker Heights, OH
"My husband really likes the shirt. Very good quality."
Review 10 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shirt 'on' my back.,
December 3, 2011
By: witinthepinteum
from Near Yosemite in California
"Nice shirt. As usual, Orvis has the quality on which one can depend for nice materials, good fit and easy care. I like it so much I have put the plum colored one on my Christ-mas list."
Review 11 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wearing it now,
October 21, 2011
By: Jumper
from Baltimore
"This shirt looks better in person than in the catalog; I was pleasantly surprised. Warm enough for cool Fall days. Well-made."
Review 12 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My kingdom for a consistently good shirt,
October 21, 2011
By: GoodShirt
"I have other Orvis shirts I love but I recently ordered two heathered twill shirts. After washing the shirts (according to instructions) the shirts have problems. The button side of the placket is sewn so that is creates a fold that covers the the button holes the full length of the packet. It is the same on both shirts indicating a fundamental problem with its construction. This may be able to be ironed out before each wearing but this is not a bargain shirt that I am willing to make that kind of compromise for. Remember, these shirts list for $129 each! Orvis is not alone. Finding men's shirts that are consistently well made is becoming more and more of a problem these days."
Review 13 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wrong shirt!,
March 2, 2011
By: shopper4
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had ordered this shirt in dark navy for my husband and the shirt that I received was not the same shirt that was shown in the picture. I had called Orvis to report this. I did keep the "wrong shirt" and was told by the representative that this would be looked into. He suggested that I place the order again and that the correct shirt would be shipped. Not so. The same wrong shirt arrived. I am now waiting for my refund. I wondered why Orvis didn't look into this. They are still showing the same picture but sending the wrong shirt."
Review 14 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Color Blind,
February 17, 2011
By: Jimmyr
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered the CFO Signature Heather Twill Shirt. It is my 5th one that I own. They are extremely comfortable and the sizing (shirttail, sleeves) is great. I ordered the Dark Navy and expected to get the shirt on the website. Instead I got a different shirt - dark navy with a brown stripe. I reordered the shirt and was told that it would be like the one shown on the Website, but I got the same dark navy sihirt with the brown striping. I brought the shirts to the local Orvis store in Baton Rouge and they gladly exchanged and credited the shirts for one in the store. They were great and really handled it well. I like my new shirt and wore it to work that week. the signature heather twills and Orvis are really great!"
Review 15 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensational Comfort,
November 6, 2009
By: Snap
from National Capitol Area
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased both of the on sale offerings, but just got around to wearing one. I was surprised to find the shirt somewhat lighter in weight than the pattern might suggest. However––the feel or "hand" of this shirt is really incredible. It's the single most comfortable shirt I've ever worn. If that wasn't enough, I donned a sport coat and could instantly feel every inch of the sensuous silk lining. I enjoyed that sensation all evening. The shirt adds an unexpected dimension of luxury, without sacrificing warmth. The colors speak for themselves … luxurious as well. It's been said, you get what you pay for. That being said, for $59, the shirt is a real bargain. Although, I’m hoping Orvis might put a few of the other color selections on sale in time for the holidays."
Review 16 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tops in colour and design,
October 21, 2009
By: Holmesy
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a very fine shirt that I bought solely for the colours and fabic pattern. It is lighter weight than I expected but has a nice hand. It seems overpriced, but because I will wear it out, it could be considered good value."
Review 17 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 17, 2009
By: XDPO
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Excellent quality shirt with a nice feel. Well constructed and finished - so much so that at first I thought it did not have a pocket because the fabric was so well matched up! At full price I would not think of it as a bargain, but on sale at 1/2 price it certainly is!"
Review 18 for Heathered Twill Shirts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A design change? I hope not...,
October 5, 2009
By: CalBear
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this shirt on sale because I really loved the other twill shirts I have bought from Orvis. This one is a lighter fabric, better suited for summer wear. I do like both the fabric feel and the colors. I am not going to return it. However, all the other twill shirts, and indeed all the other Orvis shirts I have share two features: a button on the pocket (which I am indifferent to) and buttons on the sleeve plackets (which I think provides a finished high-quality look). This shirt had neither. As I indicated, I can do without the pocket button. However, the placket button is a nice functional feature that prevents the placket from opening and having a big gap. It is what I expect in a well-made high-quality shirt. I certainly hope that your future offerings in this category will restore this feature. It was also the first Orvis shirt I have bought that had multiple untrimmed threads coming from the seams. Perhaps the quality control inspector was having an off day. If I had paid the full $119 price for this shirt, my rating on the value would have been another star or two lower, and I quite possibly would have returned it."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Heathered Twill Shirts
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2