Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod

Extra length with mid-flex power and touch make this an ideal travel fly rod. Use this fly rod to target reservoir trout.Fly rod details:Woven graphite reel insert, anodized aluminum hardware. High-strain, high-impact graphite for power and accuracy. New thermoplastic-enriched thermoset-resin/scrim matrix (same as T3) for power and durability.Proven TLS compound tapers. Durable aluminum oxide stripping guide, chrome snake guides and tip top. Durable protective finish. AA grade cork grip. Hard case covered in high denier nylon with nylon-lined internal dividers. Fly rod is made in Manchester, Vermont. 25-Year Guarantee. We'll repair or replace no matter the reason.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Review 1 for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All over the STEEL(The Go To),
June 25, 2010
By: Borg
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Where do I go? Set it up like a switch rod and blast. tryed the 6# Helios(at the Saimon River Spey Nation) switch 10'6" mistake. I think I need one????????????????($850) OUCH! Does it ever end????????????????"
Review 2 for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 4, 2009
By: minrr
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this rod in Sept 09 and have macthed it with a Guide Line shooting head system. This thing casts a mile with this and loads great. Have Orvis wonderline for the floating line. For the money I think that it is one of the best steelhead rods around that I have tried. Was comparing the Zero Gravity that was on sale at the store in Canada where I bought it and the Zero Gravity was only $100.00 more but I personally thought the Matrix was a nicer casting rod. Great fast action rod. The only thing that I would really like on this rod is some recoil guides for winter steelheading in Ontario off Lake Huron. Great product and would highly recommend it to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Steelhead Rod,
February 5, 2009
By: Bilbo
from Steelhead Alley NW Pennsylvania
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this rod as an backup for my Helios and as an emergency spare for my Sons. Had to try it out to make sure it could handle the beatings our wonderful Lake Erie chrome beauties can dish out. The rod feels absolutely sweet picks up and lays out line like a dream. Very light and responsive makes 40 - 60 ft cast without batting an eye lash loads like a dream. My first morning out I landed over 16 steelhead 3 of which were over 10 lbs and 2 were over 13 lbs. Nice Backbone handled the 13 lb Fish with ease. I would recommend this rod to anyone. The free mid arbor reel offer was a nice incentive. This rod will make a nice addition to my steelhead fishing arsenal."
Review 4 for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Orvis Please Try Again,
October 27, 2008
By: Steeliegogether
from Weaverville, Ca
"I bought this rod looking for a switch rod for fishing steelhead in northern cali and Oregon. This was the closes product to fit my needs made by Orvis. For 360 dollars it work OK but the fighting butt has fallen off a total of 3 times and counting. I have a few friends that guide on the trinity river that once owned this rod but because of the repeating problem of the fighting butt ended up giving them away or no longer put them to use on the water. Orvis needs to make true switch with the helios blank and a fighting butt that doesnt screw off, to fix this problem. If you looking in spending little money for a rod and dont care about feel this rod will do but it your looking for feel and a true switch rod look at the sage's, I just got one and no problems with it and landed many steelies already on it."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 4, 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 5 for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod, Great Value, Great Customer Service,
September 28, 2008
By: carey9er
"I bought this rod looking to up my game from the standard great lakes 9' 7/8 weight nymphing rig. The rod shoots sink tips and rolls out indy rigs with ease. I broke this rod fighting a big Atlantic Salmon this summer. It only took a couple of weeks to turn around and I'm back to fishing with it. I recomend this rod to anyone who's looking to keep cost down and likes great customer service."
Review 6 for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Steelhead Fishing Workhorse,
May 26, 2008
By: Wanderer
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My go to rod for dead drifting or swinging for steelhead in the great lakes. I usually single handed spey cast with it and I have found it performs best over-lined with the 8 weight orvis double taper fly line for my style of fishing. The extra long butt section is great when you need to use two hands to get that extra power for spey casts over 60 feet. Love the rod."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TLS Power Matrix 107-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice rod wouldnt buy again,
March 15, 2008
By: stellcharm
"Nice rod, cast great but its been broken three times. All on 10-15 pd steelies..."