Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Batik-Print Swimdress

Our slimming swimdress has a built-in tummy control panel to ensure a smooth look. The Empire-waist swimsuit has a batik-style print and a decorative drawstring. In mint green. Nylon/Lycra. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes 8-16.
Average Customer Rating:
4.637 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
128 of 135(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Batik-Print Swimdress
Review 1 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
batik-print swimdress,
June 3, 2014
By: MissyT
from Nevada
"a swim suit is meant to be a little snug, it fit perfect. This is the second suit I've bought from Orvis and the quality is like no other, it's the best."
Review 2 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Swimsuit in a long, long time,
May 28, 2014
By: RosieIris17
from South Carolina
"They say it makes thighs look smaller. Well, it also helps if you are over-endowed. It seems to conceal all my figure flaws, plus it's so comfortable I could spend the day in it. Not to mention the Batik-print. The straps are adjustable which is great as I'm short. This is going to be a fun summer!"
Review 3 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is that me?!? ...Total turnaround,
May 21, 2014
By: RosieIris17
from South Carolina
"I'm 66 and going to a reunion. We're all women... so they are obviously critical. I haven't put on a bathing suit in 2 years. I ordered two suits. This one... and another from a reputable catalog. That one came first. "Oh, dear!" I waited a few more days and this suit came... "Oh, my! ...Is that me?" Total turnaround. I'd wear this to work if I had to. And it felt good ON. Also... I LOVE the Batik-Print! Beautiful!"
Review 4 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice suit,
May 19, 2014
By: Jhlehane
from Houston, TX
"This is a very nice, well made swimsuit/dress. I do need to shorten the dress because I'm only 5'5" and it's very long. Love the pattern."
Review 5 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty but long,
May 16, 2014
By: Linneasgrandma
from Boston, MA
"The suit seems much longer on me than on the model, making it look as though I'm hiding. It is a pretty suit, but would be more flattering if it were shorter."
Review 6 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first swimsuit in 30 years!,
May 14, 2014
By: jacklab
from Granby, CT
"Having recently lost a considerable amount of weight, I decided to try to find a swimsuit for the first time in 30 years. This swimdress is very comfortable and looks very appropriate on a woman past 40 years without being totally prudish."
Review 7 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful suit !,
May 14, 2014
By: DJGirl
from Binghamton, NY
"It IS true that the colors of this suit are brighter than pictured in the catalogue . That being said , it is such a high quality, wonderful suit that it really did not matter. Very slimming. I would say that the bust area runs a bit on the smallish side, so perhaps order up a size , even for average sizes. Love this suit!!"
Review 8 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Womenhappy,
May 14, 2014
By: Womenhappy
from Westerly, RI
"I have yet to swim in this new suit (New England is a bit cool lately) I would say the top is just a little smaller than I would like, but otherwise it’s a keeper. Fabric is really nice quality."
Review 9 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice swimsuit,
May 7, 2014
By: blackeyedpeas
from Jackson, MS
"I purchase precious few clothing items on line. But the suit looked good, reviews were generally good, & the price was good. So I took a chance. Glad I did. The colors are more intense than those in the picture. Liner snug but not too snug. Good fit & comfortable. Overall a very flattering suit for this grandma. Can't wait to take the grandkids to the pool this summer."
Review 10 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
March 31, 2014
By: Debbiedo
"I was a bit hesitant ordering a suit on line but when I received it and tried it on...wow! What a great fit and extremely comfortable swimdress! I am so glad I ordered it."
Review 11 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!!,
March 24, 2014
By: Liz1954
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"I so love this bathing suit, fits like a glove, very flattering..."
Review 12 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flattering,
March 21, 2014
By: Marquette
from Marquette, MI
"The batik print adds to the attractiveness of this swimdress, which I ordered to replace the exact same suit in a blue pattern. Both have a flattering fit, and my first suit has served me well for several months in aqua-aerobics classes. I lhope Orvis will continue the style."
Review 13 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
went back,
March 21, 2014
By: louisianagal
"Ok..first of all i loved the color of this suit in the picture, but it was so different when i got it. Green was darker and brown wasn't brown it was black. So even if I had liked it I would not have kept it for the color.
Secondly, the liner was not tight enough for me (i need a little help holding my tummy in) and the kind of material it is made of creates static electricity that makes the skirt stick to you. Looked really bad on me.
"
Review 14 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice bathing suit,
March 21, 2014
By: avidbuckeye
"The color is different than picture. It is more green and brown. Its still pretty and I will keep it. The fit is good."
Review 15 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It! Love It! Love It!,
March 20, 2014
By: ellee44
from Murray, KY
"I am so pleased with this bathing suit. The colors are beautiful and brighter than in the catalog. The materials is drapy and hangs perfectly. The fit is marvelous. It covers what is wanted covered and the length is perfect for my imperfect thighs. I guess, my biggest moment of happiness came in knowing I was not buying another BLACK suit this year!"
Review 16 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flattering suit,
March 13, 2014
By: Quilter119
from Delaware
"NIce swim suit. Fits well and very flattering. I am in good shape, but at 65 there are just some things I don't wish to display and this suit is youthful looking with style for a 'mature' lady."
Review 17 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Horrible purchase,
March 8, 2014
By: sandyswim
from South Lyon, MI 48178
"Do not buy this suit or the other similar style. The skirt does not stay down on the suit when you are in the water. It immediately comes to the surface and rides at your bust line and neck. I made the mistake of buying three. I am very, very disappointed. I tried sewing it down at the seam edge. That didn't work either."
Review 18 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this swimsuit,
March 2, 2014
By: Pat32Teach
from Westchester, NY
"True to size. The pattern and material are beautiful and of good quality .It is very well made. I plan to bring it to Florida this summer."
Review 19 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this suit!,
February 24, 2014
By: retiredjennie
from Eastern Virginia
"I have purchased these "Slender Thighs" by Suit Yourself before. I love the way they fit and flatter a body that may not be "perfect". When I went looking for a new suit, I was dismayed to see that they are now very difficult to find.
Fortunately, Orvis has the wonderful good taste to carry this brand!! Thank you, Orvis!
I purchased this suit, LOVED the fit, and liked it so much, I ordered a spare. (I hope the suite enjoys cruising the Caribbean).
"
Review 20 for Batik-Print Swimdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful suit,
February 18, 2014
By: Babs4sure
"Purchased this suit for a vacation and found it to be not only attractive but well made too"