Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat

Shield your face and head from the sun and the bugs with this handsome hat designed in classic adventurer's style. Fashioned of lightweight Nycott™, a quick-drying nylon with a soft peached hand, it has a wide flexible brim, elastic sweatband, and ventilation eyelets. Insect Shield® repellent provides long-lasting insect protection. Nylon. Washable. Men's insect repelling summer hats in olive brown. Do not dry clean. Imported. Sizes: S/M, L/XL.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Review 1 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
July 4, 2012
By: flyfishermankenny
from hudson nh
"After getting bad sunburn on two trips in a row i decided to purchase this hat to protect me from sun got added bonus of bug guard which works great. I even wear it in the garden."
Review 2 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband likes it!,
August 2, 2011
By: ChristinaS
from Ohio
"Bought it for me and lent it to my husband for a windsurfing event. He said it stayed on his head even when he fell in the water. The only problem was in the wind when the front part of the had folded down in his face. The price is a little high but comparable to other hats like it."
Review 3 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat !!,
July 21, 2011
By: metroliner
from Rice Lake, WI
"I was amazed how much this hat helped to keep the deer flies away, I did a test of coming out of the house with and without this hat and the difference was amazing, the only thing I would change would be to have it vented better, the hat is very warm but worth it to not cover myself in bug spray."
Review 4 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No More Gnats Hat,
July 20, 2011
By: MrsOwlLady
from Levittown, PA
"While working in the garden, I was constantly plagued by these annoying little gnats. They kept flying in my face. I would be swatting at them constantly.
Since my bug-repelling shirt was a successful purchase, I did the logical thing and added the hat.
No more gnats! I should have gotten it sooner."
Review 5 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
insect protection,
July 19, 2011
By: rambles
from great south bay long island New York
"I suffer from a great deal of skin cancer a hat is very important to me in addition I live near the water aqnd insects are quite bothersome this hat does what it's supposed to do however, \the fabric is much to lite a heaver fabric would improve it.............."
Review 6 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
August 6, 2009
By: Kareya
from New York, NY (hat went to the Amazon with me)
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This hat is featherweight, cool, comfortable, and really keeps the bugs away from my face. What an awesome product! Don't need a hat leash either, because it has a strap you can wear under your chin or under your hair to hold it on your head. Brim is wide enough to shade my face, but not so wide it flops down obstructing my view. Thanks for offering such a great product! It's a little expensive."
Review 7 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this hat,
June 2, 2009
By: packoffour
from Arlington, TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had this hat for over a year now. I train my dogs outdoors a lot and I am a mosquito magnet. No more flying insects around my face. It is also very cool, does not bother me in the Texas heat. I am a size 8 woman and I ordered the small/medium."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Works,
February 5, 2009
By: SimplyJane
"This hat has the perfect combination of sun shield (nice wide brim) and insect repellant. I wore this hat on a trip to Egypt and the Galapagos this year. In both places, my face, neck, and ears were protected. The brim is wide yet can be turned back in front (when using a camera with viewfinder or moving into or out of a Zodiac). The insect repellant was especially useful in Egypt, keeping small and annoying gnats and flies away from my face."
Ratings-Only Reviews for ExOffico® Insect Shield® Adventure Hat
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2