Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Signature Field Watch

Read the time easily, even in the lowest light with these handsome field watches. Luminous hands and markers light the way. Classic design with leather band and separate second-hand window at six o'clock. Men's field watches have accurate quartz movement. Scratch-resistant mineral crystal and stainless–steel back. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
19 of 28(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Signature Field Watch
Review 1 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beware the band,
March 16, 2013
By: Minnieguy
from Minneapolis, MN
"I owned this watch (or an earlier version) about ten years ago. I loved the watch as a day-to-day timepiece. The watch did separate from the band at the pins once during the year I had it, but I didn't think much of it. However, while on vacation in Europe and leaving a plane, I swiped my luggage-laden wrist against a seat back. I didn't realize until we were out of the airport that the watch had again separated at the band pin(s) and the watch was lost. I thought this was simple misfortune, until I read all of the other reviews review identifying this problem. Until Orvis can assure customers this isn't an inherent flaw, I recommend not taking the risk. I have been very pleased with Orvis products over the years."
Review 2 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the one.,
May 21, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Yuba City, CA
"I have purchased several watches on-line only to be dissapointed by their poor quality and often times their apperance. This watch from ORVIS is at last what I've been looking for. It goes well with every style of clothing and looks much more expensive than what I paid for it. I would highly reccomend it to anyone."
Review 3 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Questionable Quality,
April 27, 2012
By: Sotexson
from Houston, TX
"I ordered this watch and was disappointed with its quality. While the watch itself seemed fine, the "leather" band was very cheap looking. In fact, I'm not positive it was actually leather. I returned the watch to the store."
Review 4 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
band and crystal,
March 7, 2012
By: Watchcollector
from columbia, sc
"I have bought three Orvis watches.
The drawbacks on this particular model are that the pins holding the band have a tendency to come loose.
The crystal has a cloudy appearance when in sunlight, almost as if there is a smudge on the crystal.
The pins holding the band have a tendency to come off. The crystal appears cloudy when looking at it in the sunlight."
Review 5 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Watch but Band Breaks,
October 23, 2011
By: TripletMom
"I gave this watch to my husband for Christmas. He likes it, the watch runs well and is good-looking, but as other reviewers have mentioned, there is a flaw in the design with the pin that holds the band on. It frequently gives way and is difficult to put back on the watch. What good is a watch that won't stay on?"
Review 6 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great watch,
August 22, 2011
By: outdoorsman1
"This is a great watch. It is very well made. It is perfect for everyday use, but it also looks great with formal wear."
Review 7 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BAD BATTERY,
July 25, 2011
By: JUGGLESS
"THE BATTERY WENT BAD IN 3 DAYS AFTER I GAVE IT AS A GIFT."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 29, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the item did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 8 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Watchband Falls Off,
July 20, 2011
By: DallasHunter
"This watch has a manufacturing flaw in that the pins that hold the watchband on to the bezel are not deep enough to keep the watchband in place. Even with the most careful of use, the pins come loose and the watch falls off. It is very frustrating to pay good money for a product that falls apart immediately."
Review 9 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
band constantly detaches,
July 3, 2011
By: phillyirish71
from New York, NY
"it's a shame, the watch would be great, great value, great price but the band constantly detaches! i've had it repaired many times- too many for me to recommend this watch, an obvious defect in manufacturing since other reviews say the same."
Review 10 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
band falling off ?,
April 16, 2011
By: tARKNIF
"LOVE this watch. so much that I have bought it twice. BUT I FIND THAT WHEN I CATCH IT ON MY POCKET, OR OTHER PLACES THE BAND UNHOOKS FROM THE WATCH AND IT FALLS OFF. i LOST ONE, BOUGHT ANOTHER...LOST THAT ONE BUT FOUND IT. SO FAR I STILL HAVE IT. ANY IDEAS ?"
Review 11 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected,
April 15, 2011
By: piney
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have over 100 watches this is one of my favorite classy looking and rugged looking all at the same time Good price too"
Review 12 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Case Dimensions,
June 28, 2010
By: Enyaw
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have very slim wrists, and I look for the 'smaller watches' ,,,Please, Please give the case dimensions on ALL watches. I have this piece and quite a few other Orvis watches, and I always get great comments on all of them, but I was disappointed when I received this one because I know I won't want to wear it as often as I would like."
Review 13 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
May 19, 2010
By: 3782
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have owned this watch for several months. It keeps accurate time, looks good, and the leather band is particularly comfortable. At this price what more could you ask for? Sure, you could have a date, but that's when I enjoy it the most when I'm outside on vacation - when the date doesn't matter."
Review 14 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 30, 2010
By: THERMO1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Best black faced watch I own. Very clean stylish design. Easy to read at a glance. Watch band could compliment the watch better though."
Review 15 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch!,
March 25, 2010
By: GZoghby
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is an excellent watch! It is very durable and good looking. I wear it everyday and get many compliments. I bought it on sale but the regular price is a great value also. Top quality. This is the second watch I have bought from Orvis. My other watch is the super slim roman numeral watch which I wear for dressier occasions. I recommend both."
Review 16 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
March 25, 2010
By: TimS
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am very happy with the purchase of this watch. The picture doesn't do it justice. Great look, great design, great feel. I bought it on sale for $59.99, plus S & H. I think it looks better than the other watches Orvis offers, and its price was much lower. Great value for the price, I highly recommend it."
Review 17 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
February 3, 2010
By: VaDuckhunter
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have a number of Orvis watches and shop regularly at Orvis. I have always been very satisfied with the service and quality of all orvis products. This watch is just the same. I like watches with contrasting dial and number colors. This dark dial with white hands and numbers fits the bill for me. Also the face isn't cluttered with day or date windows so I can better tell what time it is in low light conditions."
Review 18 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gave as Gift to Husband,
January 17, 2010
By: PBnJ
from Ohio
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The reason I ordered this particular Field Watch as a gift for my husband was due to the black face, light colored and illuminating larger numbers and a somewhat larger case without looking bulky on a somewhat slimmer wrist. I loved the watch when I received it. However, where my disappointment is, the illumination feature described in the sales material isn't meeting up to my expectations. I was expecting that the dials would be more pronounced in dimmer light so he could see the time better without having to "push" a button to light the face up. The watch is beautiful and looks great on him, but for anyone who thinks you will be able to read the time in a darker environment, not so."
Review 19 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Find!,
January 13, 2010
By: DixieTrad
from Brandon, MS
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just purchased the Signature Field Watch, and I could not be more pleased.The combination of a black face with a larger case makes it easy to read the time. I also like the combination of a black face with the light brown strap - very striking!. I have already received numerous compliments on the appearance of this watch."
Review 20 for Signature Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Failed to meet expectations,
January 6, 2010
By: Dognoir
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A nice looking watch that may in fact be pretty good. But it lacks the substance of the Orvis Field Watch I bought several years ago. It is much lighter in weight, and just feels cheaper. I sent it back after two weeks. I had no problems with it during that time."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 29, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We were disappointed to hear this watch did not meet his expectations. We welcome customer comments and suggestions, as we learn much from our customers—we have forwarded this review on to our product developers for consideration in future product refinements. Orvis will happily refund or exchange any purchase, as we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.