Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Finest Shearling Coat

What does it take to create a shearling coat worthy of the name “World's Finest”? We start by handselecting the most sublime genuine merino shearling hides available. Our American craftsmen then painstakingly construct a coat so handsome, luxurious, and warm, you won't mind the arrival of cold weather one bit. Plus, our coat is cut long enough to wear over a sport coat, making this an indispensable addition to your cold-weather wardrobe. Contrasting oiled calfskin trim. Heavy, cut-brass, full-front zipper ensures years of trouble-free operation. Genuine water-buffalo-horn buttons. Two cozy exterior handwarmer pockets; two interior pockets. In brown. Genuine lambskin shearling. Professionally clean. Made in USA. Regular even sizes: 38-52. About 33" long in size 42.
Average Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
49 of 51(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Review 1 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
February 8, 2015
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"I would echo what the overwhelming majority of reviewers have already made mention of.
This is an incredibly beautiful, well made jacket. The leather is butter soft and a deep rich brown. This jacket would pair well with jeans, cords and dress pants, as well as tee shirts to dress shirts. The jacket is as warm as it is light, yet, in no way flimsy. It is sized large. I am a size 44, and initially bought a size 42, and that seemed too loose on me, so I tried a size 40 and like the fit better on the 40, rather than the 42. But that's also because I won't be wearing this jacket with a sport jacket underneath, maybe a light sweater at most. If I would be wearing a sport jacket underneath, I would have opted for a 42. Either way, the point is, this jacket is full fitting, not tight, tapered fitting.
I did hesitate for quite some time about purchasing such a high priced ticket item and when Orvis offered this at a steep discount, I pulled the plug and I'm glad I did. Highly recommended for anyone wanting an incredibly well made jacket that just may last a lifetime.
"
Review 2 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely amazing!,
January 25, 2015
By: bradtarga34
from Walton-on-Thames, Surrey, England
"I almost missed out on this coat as I am normally a 52 chest and having ordered it and had the order pending I received a letter to say it was out of stock... I had my eye on a Shearling coat for some time and when I spotted this one it immediately ticked all the boxes, although the price was quite scary. Having read reviews about the generous sizes and also the size description from Orvis I decided to give the next size down a try, which was the only available size. I think it was just meant to be as this was the perfect size, as I am not one for wearing more than a shirt underneath, but still loads of room to spare and I am 6'4" and about 130 kg. The quality and comfort is absolutely beyond reproach and already a lot of positive comments about the look and how this really is a coat for life. An expensive purchase, but you really do get an amazing coat and I am absolutely thrilled to bits with it, long may winter continue, the colder the better!"
Review 3 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT COAT!,
January 25, 2015
By: LLonghorn
"Great coat! Great fit! Great warmth! Beautiful leather! Beautiful interior! Warm! Well worth it at the SALE PRICE!"
Review 4 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is Exclusive - just like it's value.,
January 6, 2015
By: Trojan
from Aberdeen. XN
"Singularly refined and beyond reproach. A lifetime is entirely to be expected , as is the style time less."
Review 5 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best shearling ever,
January 5, 2015
By: docswife
from PGH PA
"bought this for my husband as a Christmas gife, he is always COLD. well all i can say is that even though the cost was slightly prohibitive at first, it was worth every penny!!! we live in the pittsburgh area, and it gets quite cold, HE LOVES IT, and believe me, he is not a man concerned about fashion or style! but he is warm, and gets compliments every day. the best part of the jacket to me (other than the fact that it is so warm) is that it is made in the USA. worth every penny. SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!"
Review 6 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rugged, but refined,
December 28, 2014
By: Marlboroughman
from Brooklyn. NY
"I don't usually respond to review requests, but I am making an exception in the case of this Shearling coat. It is quite special, it is rugged, but refined. I am going to enjoy developing the patina of use as I wear this coat. I was disappointed yesterday when the weather was too warm to wear the coat. I am very pleased with the purchase."
Review 7 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shearling oat,
December 24, 2014
By: NorthernHawkOwl
"Everything I expected and more. Perfect for a hard northern winter in style."
Review 8 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Winter Jacket Ever,
December 5, 2014
By: tommy852
from Nazareth, PA
"This is an expensive purchase, so before ordering I spoke to a customer service representative on line and called the Plymouth Meeting , PA store. i spoke with Joe for some time about 2 coats i was comparing. Not only was he most helpful in describing the details of both coats his recommendations were right on. I purchased the Shearling coat - what a great coat. Great fit, great looks and I expect it to last for a long time. Typical Orvis quality - outstanding. It is an expensive coat, BUT WELL WORTH THE MONEY!"
Review 9 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great leather jacket,
December 1, 2014
By: ajen
"The jacket is extremely soft and comfortable. I like to look and feel. However, I wish they had a short version. The sleeves are slightly long."
Review 10 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Leather & Shearling Coat,
November 14, 2014
By: Tony14
from Leesburg, VA
"I had shopped for leather coats for months and decided to buy this one from Orvis. I walked into the Leesburg, VA store and they helped me size it correctly. It arrived in 3 days. The Leesburg, Virginia staff was exceptionally helpful.
This is a phenomenal coat. The quality, craftsmanship, comfort and warmth are off the charts. It's timeless. Today, the temperature in northern VA dropped below freezing for the first time this fall. But with the World's Finest Shearling, I was perfectly comfortable. What's interesting is that you can wear this in warmer fall and spring weather as well. When the temperatures are in the 50's and low 60's it's still very comfortable. I would highly recommend this coat to anyone. The leather it classic. The shearling is very soft. The design and look are great. Some people may say it’s an expensive item but from where I sit, it is worth every penny."
Review 11 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 14, 2014
By: BabyItsColdOutside
from Midwest
"Like others, I was hesitant to pull the trigger on this purchase. However, after doing so, I couldn't be more please. The craftsmanship is excellent. It feels luxurious and is comfortably warm. Earned all 5 stars!"
Review 12 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't Be More Pleased,
November 8, 2014
By: Gail1
from Cape Girardeau, MO
"I recently ordered this jacket for my husband. The customer service rep was very helpful in answering our questions and she recommended the size to fit his measurements. It fits perfectly. After reading reviews, I was afraid the sleeves would be too long but they fit him. He wanted a warm coat and this fits the bill!"
Review 13 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Need a smaller size,
October 10, 2014
By: HiTekJeff
from IL, USA
"I would love to be able to review this product as an actual owner, but Orvis does not make it in a smaller size. Therefore, I am leaving a review based on giving it as a gift for a family member a while back. If it only came in a size SMALL 36, that would make me buy one for myself. PLEASE make your quality items like this in a Small, not everyone wears a Medium or greater size. I would order more quality items like this from Orvis if they did come in a Small - hint, hint!"
Review 14 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This thing feels great.,
September 27, 2014
By: FFoghorn
from Dallas, TX
"I have a tiny bit of buyer's remorse... because it is 90 degrees outside and I can't wear this beautiful coat!
No one can argue that the coat is expensive, but it feels expensive, rugged, comfortable and classic. Our local Orvis was kind enough to order one for my evaluation (I guess it isn't necessarily stocked in warmer locations or so early in the fall), and I kind of fell in love with it and bit the bullet. I think it fits pretty true-to-size and although it is definitely a winter coat, it doesn't feel too heavy or stiff. The zipper is brass, I think, and is very solid and works well, which is always important to me. Also, the buttons made of horn are beautiful.
The guys at this store (especially Clayton) are so professional and helpful -- no pressure and infinite patience. I think they had been closed for maybe an hour and no one even mentioned it to me. That kind of customer service is rare these days.
I do wonder if Lone Pine is a real company, however. I have read that they will do custom coats... but my coat had no website or telephone on the tag and I simply could not find a website on the internet. If they really do custom work, they might want to make their website easier to find. They sure make a great product, and supposedly in the USA."
Review 15 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only winter coat you will need,
August 27, 2014
By: wearone
from uk
"excellent quality coat, super warm and lightweight. I would recommend this to anyone thinking of a winter coat. Sizing just right, with room for layers and a robust zip with buttons.
Ultimate seasonal coat only one you will ever need. Added advantage of two zipped internal pockets for security.
"
Review 16 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Fantasy,
June 6, 2014
By: EWF1
from New Jersey
"I have been looking for a good looking warm leather coat for several years. I also noticed this "Worlds Finest Shearling Coat" from Orvis, however was frozen in sticker shock when I saw the price.
After viewing this product and reading the reviews I decided to "see for myself" what "World Finest" meant and ordered it for a viewing.
As I received this winter coat in June I can't comment on its warmth, however it looks and feels like a keeper.. It fits well and communicates a rugged yet elegant quality that is hard to put into words. At this point I am not regretting this purchase and am looking forward to that type of weather that requires warm clothes that look good and are comfortable to ware.
Thank you Orvis for hanging in there with me.
"
Review 17 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome coat - I am in love,
March 3, 2014
By: johnsonbeagle
from Brewster, NY
"I didn't take "not in stock" as a no. I went to the Orvis website almost daily, and then one day, a size 42 emerged and I pulled the trigger. I have been drooling for this coat for 3 years or so and now have it! It is a little big for a 42, but I like it as I can wear sports jacked underneath it or a sweater. It is just a beautiful coat. Within an hour of getting it, I was outside walking the beagles in 10 degree weather and very comfortable. Looking forward to years of wearing enjoyment. The Orvis experience was just great. Thanks."
Review 18 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He loves it.,
January 17, 2014
By: Bethduchess
from Boston, MA
"My husband loves this coat. I first ordered the longer coat but returned it for the shorter version. He also was not fond of the suede on the first coat since he did not feel he could keep it clean. This coat was perfect!"
Review 19 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this coat!,
January 17, 2014
By: sarniabob
from Petoskey, MI
"I've been looking for a replacement for a brown jacket for over 4 years, and finally found this coat at Orvis. It's perfect! The quality, workmanship, fit, and look are awesome. It is the perfect length. Though it is expensive, this shearing coat is 'built to last'! Highly recommend it!"
Review 20 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
World's Finest Shearling Coat,
January 2, 2014
By: PETERCHIO
from ny
"I wear a large chest is ok sleeves way to long, warm fuzzy feeling coat
great quality too expensive rich feel though.
"