Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Finest Shearling Coat

What does it take to create a shearling coat worthy of the name “World's Finest”? We start by handselecting the most sublime genuine merino shearling hides available. Our American craftsmen then painstakingly construct a coat so handsome, luxurious, and warm, you won't mind the arrival of cold weather one bit. Plus, our coat is cut long enough to wear over a sport coat, making this an indispensable addition to your cold-weather wardrobe. Contrasting oiled calfskin trim. Heavy, cut-brass, full-front zipper ensures years of trouble-free operation. Genuine water-buffalo-horn buttons. Two cozy exterior handwarmer pockets; two interior pockets. In brown. Genuine lambskin shearling. Professionally clean. Made in USA. Regular even sizes: 38-52. About 33" long in size 42.
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 42(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Review 1 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Leather & Shearling Coat,
November 14, 2014
By: Tony14
from Leesburg, VA
"I had shopped for leather coats for months and decided to buy this one from Orvis. I walked into the Leesburg, VA store and they helped me size it correctly. It arrived in 3 days. The Leesburg, Virginia staff was exceptionally helpful.
This is a phenomenal coat. The quality, craftsmanship, comfort and warmth are off the charts. It's timeless. Today, the temperature in northern VA dropped below freezing for the first time this fall. But with the World's Finest Shearling, I was perfectly comfortable. What's interesting is that you can wear this in warmer fall and spring weather as well. When the temperatures are in the 50's and low 60's it's still very comfortable. I would highly recommend this coat to anyone. The leather it classic. The shearling is very soft. The design and look are great. Some people may say it’s an expensive item but from where I sit, it is worth every penny."
Review 2 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 14, 2014
By: BabyItsColdOutside
from Midwest
"Like others, I was hesitant to pull the trigger on this purchase. However, after doing so, I couldn't be more please. The craftsmanship is excellent. It feels luxurious and is comfortably warm. Earned all 5 stars!"
Review 3 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't Be More Pleased,
November 8, 2014
By: Gail1
from Cape Girardeau, MO
"I recently ordered this jacket for my husband. The customer service rep was very helpful in answering our questions and she recommended the size to fit his measurements. It fits perfectly. After reading reviews, I was afraid the sleeves would be too long but they fit him. He wanted a warm coat and this fits the bill!"
Review 4 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Need a smaller size,
October 10, 2014
By: HiTekJeff
from IL, USA
"I would love to be able to review this product as an actual owner, but Orvis does not make it in a smaller size. Therefore, I am leaving a review based on giving it as a gift for a family member a while back. If it only came in a size SMALL 36, that would make me buy one for myself. PLEASE make your quality items like this in a Small, not everyone wears a Medium or greater size. I would order more quality items like this from Orvis if they did come in a Small - hint, hint!"
Review 5 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This thing feels great.,
September 27, 2014
By: FFoghorn
from Dallas, TX
"I have a tiny bit of buyer's remorse... because it is 90 degrees outside and I can't wear this beautiful coat!
No one can argue that the coat is expensive, but it feels expensive, rugged, comfortable and classic. Our local Orvis was kind enough to order one for my evaluation (I guess it isn't necessarily stocked in warmer locations or so early in the fall), and I kind of fell in love with it and bit the bullet. I think it fits pretty true-to-size and although it is definitely a winter coat, it doesn't feel too heavy or stiff. The zipper is brass, I think, and is very solid and works well, which is always important to me. Also, the buttons made of horn are beautiful.
The guys at this store (especially Clayton) are so professional and helpful -- no pressure and infinite patience. I think they had been closed for maybe an hour and no one even mentioned it to me. That kind of customer service is rare these days.
I do wonder if Lone Pine is a real company, however. I have read that they will do custom coats... but my coat had no website or telephone on the tag and I simply could not find a website on the internet. If they really do custom work, they might want to make their website easier to find. They sure make a great product, and supposedly in the USA."
Review 6 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only winter coat you will need,
August 27, 2014
By: wearone
from uk
"excellent quality coat, super warm and lightweight. I would recommend this to anyone thinking of a winter coat. Sizing just right, with room for layers and a robust zip with buttons.
Ultimate seasonal coat only one you will ever need. Added advantage of two zipped internal pockets for security.
"
Review 7 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Fantasy,
June 6, 2014
By: EWF1
from New Jersey
"I have been looking for a good looking warm leather coat for several years. I also noticed this "Worlds Finest Shearling Coat" from Orvis, however was frozen in sticker shock when I saw the price.
After viewing this product and reading the reviews I decided to "see for myself" what "World Finest" meant and ordered it for a viewing.
As I received this winter coat in June I can't comment on its warmth, however it looks and feels like a keeper.. It fits well and communicates a rugged yet elegant quality that is hard to put into words. At this point I am not regretting this purchase and am looking forward to that type of weather that requires warm clothes that look good and are comfortable to ware.
Thank you Orvis for hanging in there with me.
"
Review 8 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome coat - I am in love,
March 3, 2014
By: johnsonbeagle
from Brewster, NY
"I didn't take "not in stock" as a no. I went to the Orvis website almost daily, and then one day, a size 42 emerged and I pulled the trigger. I have been drooling for this coat for 3 years or so and now have it! It is a little big for a 42, but I like it as I can wear sports jacked underneath it or a sweater. It is just a beautiful coat. Within an hour of getting it, I was outside walking the beagles in 10 degree weather and very comfortable. Looking forward to years of wearing enjoyment. The Orvis experience was just great. Thanks."
Review 9 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He loves it.,
January 17, 2014
By: Bethduchess
from Boston, MA
"My husband loves this coat. I first ordered the longer coat but returned it for the shorter version. He also was not fond of the suede on the first coat since he did not feel he could keep it clean. This coat was perfect!"
Review 10 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this coat!,
January 17, 2014
By: sarniabob
from Petoskey, MI
"I've been looking for a replacement for a brown jacket for over 4 years, and finally found this coat at Orvis. It's perfect! The quality, workmanship, fit, and look are awesome. It is the perfect length. Though it is expensive, this shearing coat is 'built to last'! Highly recommend it!"
Review 11 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
World's Finest Shearling Coat,
January 2, 2014
By: PETERCHIO
from ny
"I wear a large chest is ok sleeves way to long, warm fuzzy feeling coat
great quality too expensive rich feel though.
"
Review 12 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't Be Happier,
October 31, 2013
By: BigDub
from New York, New York
"I love this gorgeous jacket and I don't regret a thing. The leather is super supple... the shearling lining is luxurious yet rugged. Pricey? Darn right it is. Well worth the money."
Review 13 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spot on.,
October 23, 2013
By: Gregorian
from Northumberland
"I have been after a particular style and weight of shearling jacket for years. This is exactly what I was after. Fabulous. Light, tough and warm, and fit for any outing imaginable."
Review 14 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Coat,
March 19, 2013
By: OliverK
from Parlin, NJ
"When I got the jacket I saw it was a Lone Pine. I already had a Lone Pine Denver Jacket but needed something more substantial. Craftsmanship is excellent. Expensive, but worth the price. Just wished it had snap closures on the cuffs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best service, great coat,
February 10, 2013
By: Aloysius
"I wanted to see this coat when I was in NYC for a long weekend. It wasn't in stock. Dylan in the 5th avenue store found one in my size and had it overnighted for me. I got to try it on the next day at 9AM. It took some serious effort to make that happen. That effort's even more impressive considering that my interest was only casual. I came back twice over the next two days, and Dylan and the rest of the staff were attentive and helpful. There was never any pressure. It was clear that they wanted me to make the right decision, and they even entertained my family as I waffled back and forth for over an hour. When I left the store with this coat. I knew I had made the right decision. Thank you for one of the best customer experiences of my life. Above and beyond!
The coat is gorgeous. It is very light, but very warm. It fits and looks great over a suit going to the office, and equally great over jeans and a t-shirt. It has that unique quality of fine and finely crafted shearling where it is very warm in in the coldest freezing winds, yet doesn't overheat you when worn in warmer environs. Feels cool and comfortable even indoors. The coat is classy and understated and well thought out. The interior hanging pockets don't ruin the shape of the coat when you load them up.
Expensive? yes. But top quality is seldom cheap. I can see myself wearing this jacket for the next 30 years."
Review 16 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the price,
February 8, 2013
By: JoelS
from Philadelphia, PA
"This is what a shearling coat is supposed to be. Light in weight, soft and extremely flexible, but still the wamth of leather and natural sheep fur,,,not curly fleece. I like that there are only 2 buttons to deal with and 2 snaps. the 2 way zipper works great and the length is perfect for a car as well as your rear end. Orvis knows I've ordered and returned quite a few, but this one is a keeper. As an aside, for someone who has a bit of a 'beer belly' the fit is perfect. Not too tight in the waist area nor to enormous elsewhere. I will have to have the sleeves shortened, but not a problem. Thanks for your great products and service"
Review 17 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Purchase,
February 5, 2013
By: NJExecutive
from Basking Ridge, NJ
"This is without question the finest and warmest leather coat I have ever worn. It achieves this without being bulky or stiff. My wife thinks the coat is simply beautiful and she knows the price. I agree completely with the Reviewer who said that size 38 fits people who normally wear a 40. I have owned a couple of top of the line leather jackets for 30+ years. Based on its superb quality the World's Finest Shearling Coat will easily last that long - meaning it will cost less than $100 a year."
Review 18 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very fine indeed.,
December 28, 2012
By: JimMA
from Boston, MA
"I bought this coat after trying on many other shearling coats during a couple year search. I knew I wanted a coat long enough for wearing over a suit coat during the week and being able to dress down to go with jeans or khaki's on the weekends. The price was in the upper middle of the ones I tried on. The value will come after wearing this for the many years it is built to hold up to. It is light in weight and very soft and flexible to wear. I like that it doesn't have logos showing and I have recommended it to friends and family. It is my go-to coat on cold wintery days after just a couple months. I would be surprised if any wearer didn't enjoy the quality and wearability of this coat."
Review 19 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Quality at its Best",
November 4, 2012
By: john50
from Hampshire UK
"Being an avid collector of leather coats I had been looking at this Shealing Coat for some time on the Orvis site. Given the price it took me a fair while to make up my mind. When I took the plunge I certainly as not disappointed. This by far the best winter coat I have purchased . The quality and finish is second to none and will last my lifetime. There will not be many artic winds that cut thru this coat ."
Review 20 for World's Finest Shearling Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Endorsement from Cold Country,
October 31, 2012
By: Vytar
"I was fortunate to come across this coat when Orvis first offered it a few years ago. It was less expensive at that time and though the cost has gone up a bit, I would still consider it a great value as I have never come across a shearling coat of such incomparable style and function.
My life takes me all over the state from Barrow to Ketchikan. Most of the Central and Northern regions can be brutal in the dead of winter and this is the most functional and attractive, casual to semi-dress coat I have owned since coming to Alaska 30 plus years ago.
Combine this coat with a quarter zip, lined, Barbour Storm Sweater and a Viyella Shirt and you have probably the most bullet-proof and versitile combination for travel in the Bush or anywhere up here for that matter. It also works great with my Orvis Bandera Jacket as well.
The color and texture are rich beyond compare and I often get comments from ladies who I know are looking for a special gift for their husbands etc. I cannot imagine a more welcome gift to give or receive. It is so much more practical to maintain than your basic tan suede and white shearling (Marlboro Man) coat. It is virtually maintenance free, always feels great, keeps me toasty and always looks outstanding.
Most anyone I know would consider it a prized possession of heirloom quality."