Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Freshwater Clouser

A lighter bead chain version of the famous Clouser minnow flies. These flies are excellent for bass and large panfish, or as a streamer for trout. Simple, timeless baitfish pattern that works. In sizes: 6, 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Freshwater Clouser
Review 1 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good streamer!,
October 27, 2014
By: Kensington
from New Hampshire
"I bought a few of these for small pond fishing. To date I've caught six black crappie, a small largemouth bass, two yellow perch and a chain pickerel and the flies have held up great. Will be acquiring more of these for sure. Use a six weight and strip them in slowly!"
Review 2 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis flies,
March 26, 2014
By: lappy1
from Wisconsin
"Orvis flies are always high quality and realistic patterns , theses clouser flies work very well on Smallmouth Bass and crppies here in Wisconsin ."
Review 3 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamer,
October 7, 2013
By: boya544
from Mammoth lakes,CA
"This is a very well made fly fished with it all day caught over 25 Browns in the Easter Sierras at Lake Crowley,CA . Even with it being chewed on it stil looks great and i know it will still catch fish.One of my favorite streamers by far"
Review 4 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fresh water clouser,
June 5, 2013
By: PINKSDU
from middleberg fla
"I REALLY like this fly. i have use on several outings and have caught fish
both the size 6 and the size 8.
it really looks like a small bait fish in the water. i would highly recomm this fly. i have used black and red
and also char and white both are really great colors. they really strip well thur the water. and all around great baitfish pattern.
"
Review 5 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smallmouth catching machine,
February 2, 2013
By: ActionontheJackson
from Southwest Virginia
"I love this fly in chartreuse and white for smallmouth, largemouth, bluegill, and almost anything else. I always have a selection of these. Last summer, while fishing with my brother in the New River in West Virginia, I pulled in 47 smallmouth in a 4 hour period. My brother (a spin fisherman), caught 13 in the same period. This fly was tore up, with barely a little chartreuse left and was still catching fish. I am not normally a "counter", but I sure do when fishing with him. My advice is to buy a ton and fish them hard."
Review 6 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite fly,
September 30, 2012
By: gottaflyrod
from woodlands, tx
"So far this is the best all around fly for me creek fishing. I've caught sunfish, Lmbass, spotted bass, channel cats, crappie, tilapia, and even grass carp. This is my go to fly for my local Houston area creeks(not about to give exact spots away), but don't hit the creek without one in olive that's my go to color."
Review 7 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good saltwater too,
November 10, 2011
By: BlueHeron2
from Pensacola FL
"Great light fly for shallow saltwater. I use them for mackerel bluefish and ladyfish along the beach when they feed on small baitfish Tiny fly on a 30 lb tippet but it works"
Review 8 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crappie Fly,
January 19, 2011
By: WVMTMAN
from West Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Only fly you need to catch Crappie. Hard for my live bait fishing buddies to keep up with me when I use this fly. Colors white, white,white,chartreuse did I mention white."
Review 9 for Freshwater Clouser
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Multiple Species Love this Fly,
April 4, 2009
By: drlgsideways
from Edmond, Ok
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This fly in chartreuse and white will catch just about anything in warm freshwater ponds and lakes. I have not caught a catfish on one....yet. The darker colors like olive and black have their days also. I often fish these with a smaller trailer like typical trout nymphs or light weight streamers like the Mickey Finn or Black Nose Dace. These are great prospecting rigs as the Clouser takes the trailer into deeper water quickly. The Clouser takes bass, big blue gills, crappies and the trailer sometimes catches the bigger panfish."