Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Field Trialer Felt Hat

Protect yourself against the sun in this crushable and water-resistant hat. Made from pure wool, feels as soft as flannel, and always springs to life, even after being rolled in a suitcase. Leather hatband adds a distinctive touch. In dark brown. Pure wool. Spot clean. Adamstown, Pennslyvania. Sizes L(7¼-7⅜).
Average Customer Rating:
4.695 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 of 59(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Review 1 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice hat.,
February 1, 2015
By: Flyguy47
"Excellent quality, very comfortable, lightweight field hat. Looks great, I have received many compliments on this hat."
Review 2 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Husband Loves This Hat!,
January 14, 2015
By: PlainJane707
from Gainesville, GA
"I bought him 2 hats for Christmas. The other one is going back, but he's definitely keeping this one! He likes that its crushable, the crown is a little shorter, which is a good style for him, it fits well, and it has the quality we've come to expect from Orvis."
Review 3 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not up to snuff,
January 14, 2015
By: Yellahammer
from Gallatin, TN
"Surprised at the fit and feel being subpar to the Heathered Felt. No better than many of the cheaper hats available everywhere. Returned it for the brown Heathered Felt and am completely satisfied with it."
Review 4 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
feeling good,
January 13, 2015
By: gooodbeeer
from congers ny
"just recived my hat much to my surprise it felt and fit great love it thank you"
Review 5 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect fit!,
January 6, 2015
By: BjRobson
from SD,CA
"Love everything about it except for the staple holes in the hat band."
Review 6 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Hat,
January 5, 2015
By: KatCk
from Louisiana
"Excellent product, exactly what i was looking for and arrived just 3 days after ordering.
The felt feels fabulous. Hat sits on head well. Maintains its shape and very comfortable.
"
Review 7 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
January 2, 2015
By: JSpoon
from Dallas, TX
"Fits well, keeps my head warm and protected from the elements. Looking forward to seeing how it holds up after being packed for a trip."
Review 8 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,but...,
December 25, 2014
By: jroon
"nice quality hat.....sizing?? available as a medium and up...medium is the same size as my country gentleman felt large..keeping that in mind i'd highly recommend it"
Review 9 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perffect,
November 17, 2014
By: Hooahtown
from San Antonio, Texas
"Great fit and function. I'm 7 3/8 hat size and the large size fit well."
Review 10 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
November 3, 2014
By: DJoseph
from Manchester NH
"Excellent hat. Sizing was too big. Returned without any problem"
Review 11 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice hat,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"This is similar in brim size to the Heathered-felt hat but it sits a little bit flatter all round. It's very smart and light, and takes the rain a little better than the heathered hat. Both are great value for money in my opinion and this particular hat travels really well."
Review 12 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 16, 2014
By: Spikeereno
from Colorado
"Finally found a good hat- it fits great- and made in the USA."
Review 13 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style!,
September 3, 2014
By: CatM
from New Jersey
"My husband loves this hat so much. He wears it all the time & gets tons of compliments."
Review 14 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
August 21, 2014
By: DGPoh
from Ohio
"Reasonably priced great looking hat. Unfortunately I ordered an XL based on instructions from Orvis for a size 7 1/2. Should have ordered a L. They were very nice and refunded the full price and did not charge me for return shipping. Great customer service."
Review 15 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
August 6, 2014
By: streamone
"Great hat, I've been looking for a good looking hat and this is it."
Review 16 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hat,
March 14, 2014
By: ChathamJim
from Cape Cod,Ma.
"Excellent material, looks great. Runs a little bit large."
Review 17 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
March 6, 2014
By: sugarmoon
from Portland, Oregon
"This hat is very stylish and practical. It fits very well, travels well and handles weather well."
Review 18 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Hat,
March 3, 2014
By: CFLnSC
from Cola, SC
"I love this hat. It is exactly the product I wanted. The size is perfect and the color is as advertised."
Review 19 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable as an old friend,
February 15, 2014
By: JamminGeo
from Chattanooga, TN
"I really like this hat. No kidding. So much so that I bought one in each color. While I do agree these hats run a tad on the large side, it's not by much. Large sized hats usually fit me perfectly, and this is only a small-bit larger. I like to wear a bandanna under my hat, anyway, to help keep the hat clean and not-stinky. The first time I put one of these on my head it settled-in like an old friend I'd been wearing for years. Soft, comfy material and I love the "crushable" aspect. You needn't take the hat off while driving, because the brim is pliable and doesn't give you that irritating "brim bump" against the headrest. They really are very nice hats, and best of all, they are MADE IN THE USA."
Review 20 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
February 13, 2014
By: GRH923
from New Orleans
"Wasn't sure about the color but actually quite nice. Good fit and quality."