Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Field Trialer Felt Hat

Protect yourself against the sun in this crushable and water-resistant hat. Made from pure wool, feels as soft as flannel, and always springs to life, even after being rolled in a suitcase. Leather hatband adds a distinctive touch. In dark brown. Pure wool. Spot clean. Adamstown, Pennslyvania. Sizes L(7¼-7⅜).
Average Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 47(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Review 1 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 16, 2014
By: Spikeereno
from Colorado
"Finally found a good hat- it fits great- and made in the USA."
Review 2 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style!,
September 3, 2014
By: CatM
from New Jersey
"My husband loves this hat so much. He wears it all the time & gets tons of compliments."
Review 3 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
August 21, 2014
By: DGPoh
from Ohio
"Reasonably priced great looking hat. Unfortunately I ordered an XL based on instructions from Orvis for a size 7 1/2. Should have ordered a L. They were very nice and refunded the full price and did not charge me for return shipping. Great customer service."
Review 4 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
August 6, 2014
By: streamone
"Great hat, I've been looking for a good looking hat and this is it."
Review 5 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hat,
March 14, 2014
By: ChathamJim
from Cape Cod,Ma.
"Excellent material, looks great. Runs a little bit large."
Review 6 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
March 6, 2014
By: sugarmoon
from Portland, Oregon
"This hat is very stylish and practical. It fits very well, travels well and handles weather well."
Review 7 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Hat,
March 3, 2014
By: CFLnSC
from Cola, SC
"I love this hat. It is exactly the product I wanted. The size is perfect and the color is as advertised."
Review 8 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable as an old friend,
February 15, 2014
By: JamminGeo
from Chattanooga, TN
"I really like this hat. No kidding. So much so that I bought one in each color. While I do agree these hats run a tad on the large side, it's not by much. Large sized hats usually fit me perfectly, and this is only a small-bit larger. I like to wear a bandanna under my hat, anyway, to help keep the hat clean and not-stinky. The first time I put one of these on my head it settled-in like an old friend I'd been wearing for years. Soft, comfy material and I love the "crushable" aspect. You needn't take the hat off while driving, because the brim is pliable and doesn't give you that irritating "brim bump" against the headrest. They really are very nice hats, and best of all, they are MADE IN THE USA."
Review 9 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
February 13, 2014
By: GRH923
from New Orleans
"Wasn't sure about the color but actually quite nice. Good fit and quality."
Review 10 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Crushable Fedora,
February 13, 2014
By: havanajack
from Chapel Hill, NC
"This is the best crushable fedora I have ever purchased. My hat size is 71/4 and it fits me perfectly. I am using it every day. It keeps my head warm and it looks good."
Review 11 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort w/Style!,
February 12, 2014
By: mrchips
from NW Connecticut
"I've been searching for this style hat for a long time and, bingo, there it was at Orvis. I ordered it right away and every time I wear it I get compliments....."great hat!" It's warm and comfortable too."
Review 12 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Hat for Looks & Quality,
February 9, 2014
By: Craddog
from Kentucky
"I have worn Orvis felt fedoras for over 10 years now, and have gotten compliments from both friends and strangers on every occasion I wear one. This particular version with its thin leather band is slightly different from the "lite felt" fedoras with a broader ribbon band that I've worn for years. Glad to find it on sale and to discover it's the same great quality & fit. You can't go wrong with this hat."
Review 13 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Choice,
February 9, 2014
By: mlro
"Excellent hat for the price. I purchased two, one of each color available."
Review 14 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
February 8, 2014
By: Josephjay
from Staten Island
"Nicely made and stylish in appearance.
Held up quite well in recent snow storm as well."
Review 15 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hat for the money,
February 8, 2014
By: Chase88
from Lake Geoge NY
"Very happy with the purchase. Looks and feels great. It does run big though so purchase accordingly."
Review 16 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
February 8, 2014
By: Oklatrio
from Oklahoma
"When I first ordered this hat going by the reviews saying the hat ran a little big I ordered the med. For me this was not the case. Orvis had no problem trading the hat for a large. Nice fit now. Also Orvis coustomer service was very helpful and the also waved the shipping. Love buying from Orvice."
Review 17 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat!,
January 31, 2014
By: JGalt2014
"Out the box - the quality and fit was what one would expect from Orvis near perfect. My wife said it looks good. Hat made my day."
Review 18 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Funny sizes,
January 25, 2014
By: Ramos
from San Francisco, CA
"This hat is very nice, good looks, good quality, good finishing, but the sizing is absolutetly crazy: I ordered a large size, just like the other two Orvis hats that I have, but it was way too large (I mean it), and I had to exchange it for a medium size, which fitted me perfectly. The hat is fine, but watch out for the size when you buy it!"
Review 19 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New hat,
January 25, 2014
By: Firsttimehatman
from NY
"Shipped very fast and right on time. From order to receiving I had it in a few days. Quality excellent as well as the service."
Review 20 for Field Trialer Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's My Hat!,
January 17, 2014
By: LoveThatOrvis
from Darien, CT
"I've been looking for just the right hat for at least a couple of years now, and then my wife found this wonderful, beautifully crafted, firm felt, "Indiana Jones" hat! The first hat that was under the Xmas tree, was actually too large. So we went back to the Orvis shop for the exchange, only to find out they didn't have my size. "No problem", says the friendly attendant, "we'll just send you one out directly to your home - no charge". Great, and six days later arrives my hat! With all the cold weather in the Northeast this winter, I've been wearing my new, wow so comfortable hat nearly every day - much to the accolades of friends and co-workers. It's really great and I love it! Thanks Orvis - again!"