Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ooey Gooey Grub

Folks, it's a grub. Nothing fancy, these fly fishing nymphs are just a really good (almost too good) grub imitation. Fish love 'em. Color, Natural. Sizes: 10, 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooey Gooey Grub
Review 1 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of nymph,
March 10, 2013
By: Owenone1
from Hanover, PA.
"I am very pleased with the quality of these nymphs, they look so realistic that I cannot imagine that they will not provide numerous hookups with trout in our PA streams. The only reason that I did not give these nymphs top ratiing of a 5 star is that I have not use them in actual fishing and cannot wait to do so!"
Review 2 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around fly,
October 9, 2012
By: BeagleMike
from Mountains of WV
"I'm a novice fly fisherman and wanted a fly to catch many species in various conditions, enter the grub! This is a versatile fly to catch multiple species and holds up fish after fish, I just purchased some more!"
Review 3 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Pan Fish Magic,
February 14, 2012
By: GoneFishing24
from Greensburg, IN
"When spring breaks, I am sure this Grub will attract the Pan Fish which are so much fun on my Orvis Super-fine Fly Rod."
Review 4 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
January 18, 2012
By: prefect
from Scranton, PA
"The brownies in my local spot LOVE this fly. I just need to learn to tie it myself. ;)"
Review 5 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A true "natural".,
October 20, 2011
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
"I like this natural pattern very much. It is well made and has a natural feel. I would only recommend making it in white with a red or golden head."
Review 6 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good grub,
August 12, 2011
By: Austinz
from Western Pennsylvania
"This is a very good fly! The one type of trout that hits this more than others, is the brown trout. Another thing I like to point out that this fly is good for bluegill,sucker fish,smallmouth bass,sheepshead, and I even caught a 26 inch carp on my 5 wt using fly. Bottom line this is a versatile, good fly."
Review 7 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 3, 2011
By: 4wttrouten
from edison nj
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"First time I used this fly I caught a 24 inch brown on my second cast ended up not changing fly for the rest of the day ended up catching eight more, the water was high and off color will have to try in the clear water"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ooey Gooey Grub,
January 9, 2010
By: atroutbum
from Murrieta, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Used this fly for the first time last year. Fished a favorite stream and the first 3 casts produced 2 browns and a rainbow. Deadly fly! Bought 8 originally and gave a couple to buddies and they now swear by the ooey gooey. At first wasn't sure about the color. Darker then the internet pictured. Guess the fish hadn't looked at the internet picture because they attack the ooey gooey. My new secret weapon when all else fails. Just ordered another dozen for this years fishing."
Review 9 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ooey Gooey Grub,
September 14, 2008
By: StreamAngler
"I bought a few of these to take to the White River Chain with me at the end of the month. I was surprised to see that the color of the nymphs were not as they were seen on the web site. They are much darker in real life. Also, I think using a wire hook would work better for fish to hold on to the nymph. I gave this a low rating only because of the color issue."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 15, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the color not being the same as advertised. Orvis greatly appreciates the feedback of items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve the items. Orvis has also forwarded the customers request to the buyers of the product so they can be aware of the correct color. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 10 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
different fly,
April 6, 2008
By: Fisher
"I bought this fly recently and it doesn't look like the one on the internet. Mine has a red back to it. I've used and haven't caught anything with it. but from the way it looks it should be really good. I just dont' like that i bought it and it didn't look like the one i wanted, Guess thats what you get when you get it of the internet."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 2, 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or refund. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 11 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ooey Gooey Rocks,
February 21, 2008
By: Steeliecruncher
from Michigan
"Day in, day out- Ooey Gooey Grub gets 'em. Steelies, trout, bass, carp, you name it. I use this pattern religiously throughout the year. Give it a try and you'll never go back."
Review 12 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good enough to eat?,
February 21, 2008
By: flyfishingmack
from The Mountains, NC
"The fish sure do think so. Warm water, cold water, and still water it doesn't matter if there is some sort of grub or larva of an insect in the water this fly will cover it. Its a great fly for tricky sunfish in that farm pond behind the barn."
Review 13 for Ooey Gooey Grub
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of all Grub and Waxworm Patterns,
January 13, 2008
By: troutbum2
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This pattern is deadly in the winter for steelhead but is also quite effective for trout almost anywhere; especially in the smaller sizes."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ooey Gooey Grub
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3