Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sparkle Soft Hackle

Soft hackle wet flies are just amazing in their productivity. The theory is that the wet flies pulsate so well as they move through the water. Whatever the reason is, these flies work remarkably well and you should have a box dedicated to soft hackles in every way shape and form. This particular soft hackle wet fly is an excellent pattern with a bit of flash added to make it that much more attractive. Sizes: 14, 16.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Review 1 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soft hackle fly review,
June 26, 2014
By: rivercaptain
from Evergreen, CO
"I have loved soft-hackles since I started fly fishing in 1961 w/ my Dad. This is a great selection that fills out the proper sizes and colors, with a bit of flash, to boot. Great filler in my wet fly box, and will be my go-to set for the months."
Review 2 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rainbow first cast,
May 20, 2014
By: Jklmnop4
from Rhode Island
"This fly is fantastic! Landed a fat rainbow on my first cast with this soft hackle, when nothing else was working."
Review 3 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fly,
May 14, 2014
By: flytron
from pittsburgh PA
"High quality wet fly as always from Orvis. Good movement in the water. It attracts fish. Get one. Get two."
Review 4 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deadly Fly!,
December 16, 2013
By: MarkMonc
from Minneapolis, MN
"When Sylvester Nemes wrote his book all those years back on the Soft Hackled Wet fly and pronounced it as simply "deadly" I couldn't resist not giving them a try here in the Midwest. THEY ARE DEADLY! While there are many copies of the fly available, the overall quality and consistency of materials used makes this version the best I know of and will continue using them until my days end!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality,
October 10, 2013
By: Supervisor
"The craftsmanship on these fly's was substandard. The hackle was not spun completely around the eye and was too sparse. The size was incorrect as well, way smaller than the size specified. Got a size 18 or smaller? when I ordered a 16."
Review 6 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hackle,
June 22, 2013
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"The best soft hackle to use at south holston if nothing else is working this is my so to fly !!!!"
Review 7 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monsters,
June 17, 2013
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Want to bust a big one use this great fly Orvis !!!!!"
Review 8 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not satisfied,
December 19, 2012
By: tookie
from Downingtown Pa
"Purchased these flys and was not satisfied with the quality. The hackle was not tied well, very messy."
Review 9 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for native trout,
August 28, 2012
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"I fish these in smaller streams I cast across the steam and just let the water carry them along I like green and yellow ones would like to see more colors in these"
Review 10 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bst backcountry fly...,
January 2, 2011
By: backcountryfool96
from Appalachian Mtns, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I picked up this fly along with a couple of other patterns with the free dozen flies deal that Orvis offered a while back. A few weeks later I packed up and headed to a small stream that is very close to my house, and which lies along a very popular hiking trail. Despite this, the creek is almost never fished. Now, this being the first time that I had ever fished this stream, I really didn't expect to catch anything, but was pleasently surprised when on my second cast, a beautiful little wild rainbow took this fly. It was only about 6 inches, but beautiful nonetheless. I have since then used this fly only in green with great results!"
Review 11 for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!!!,
August 31, 2007
By: Guillepescador
"I love abstraction to fish. This fly is one of the best I ever cast at patagonian rivers."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sparkle Soft Hackle
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4