Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tunghead Marabou Muddler

The classic muddler minnow fly made even better. The tunghead of this marabou muddler gets it down deeper than any other muddler streamer, a big plus when you're fishing faster or deeper water and want to swing streamer flies in front of trout. The peacock herl of this muddler also gives it a bit of flash and color. A great streamer for fishing deep runs or faster water. In black, yellow. Size 6.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Review 1 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnet Fly,
June 2, 2014
By: doxielh2
from Southbury,Ct . Pomperaug River
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This fly acted liked a magnet. I first caught a beautiful 16" Rainbow Trout only to be topped by a 19" Rainbow which I had to squeeze in my 18" net. Both fish were returned for another angler to enjoy."
Review 2 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marabou Muddler,
July 7, 2013
By: Smalltrout
"This fly is great. It is the first streamer I have used and it catches lots of fish. It works well in both rivers and lakes. I caught trout in the current and a very large chub in a lake. It is well built and attracts the fish. The cone head gives it a little shine and weight which helps it go down a little deeper than other flies. There are also shiny plastic strips tied on the fly that makes it have some flash in the sun. Overall, this is a great small streamer that is very effective."
Review 3 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works all the time!!,
January 10, 2013
By: Jomer
from San Marcos, CA
"I always have great luck fishing the TH Marabou Muddler in black. I am surprise that even with the weight of the TH cone, it almost always does not spook the fish even when I land it close to the fish."
Review 4 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too large,
May 25, 2012
By: scarletlady
"well made but a size 8 or 10 hook would be better for trolling for trout."
Review 5 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential,
April 1, 2012
By: STREAMAN
from Pocono PA
"A must for spring highwater and deep water. Great luck on big brook's and brown's with this one."
Review 6 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Very happy with this fly. Purchased multiple sizes"
Review 7 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun in Vermont,
July 20, 2011
By: BruceC
from Pittsfield, MA
"Bought this fly to expand my collection. Tried it in a lake in Vermont and caught so many small mouth bass, perch and pumpkin seed that it finally fell apart. The best action was just after sunset into the evening. I'm placing another order."
Review 8 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An effective go-to streamer pattern,
June 23, 2011
By: troutbum52
from Cenral Massachusetts
"Just yesterday, this pattern hooked me into a 17" brown on a major New England trout stream. Especially effective when used with sinking line.
A text book case: he took it on the swing, following a short pause after casting and before retrieving in jerks.
"
Review 9 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Never had luck with the marabou variation,
March 7, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The marabou pattern never produced. I fish mostly southern New England streams and had good luck with the traditional muddler minnows. I tried this fly several times and worked hard at it, but never had so much as a hit. Interestingly enough, with the same size tunghead traditional muddler in the same run, I caught a fish.
The price however for the materials in this fly is reasonable and I scored that accordingly."
Review 10 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great streamer,
October 5, 2010
By: troutdad
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have caught alot of trout on this streamer when they were available in size 8,10, 12. Please offer smaller sizes."
Review 11 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever for summer trout fishing,
September 20, 2010
By: Troutinator
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This fly is a killer on a hot lazy summer day when the water is low and the water temperature is high or when the Brown trout start spawning they will attack anything to stock up on food. I once caught a 22 inch brown trout on the white version of this fly. Thanks Orvis."
Review 12 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bass on a Muddler,
May 13, 2008
By: SeeBass
"This not only is a great fly for trout but it's a killer Bass fly. Last year I hooked on to my biggest largemouth of the year on a size 6 Tunghead Marrabou Muddler. It was a trophy size fish. The color and weight combination get the fly low in the water without sacrificing a great lively presentation. The fly also cast very well. Next time you are in Bass teritory try the Muddler and you will not be disappointed."
Review 13 for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
August 28, 2007
By: Anonymous
"Great flie for when the trout are hiding deep on those hot summer days. The conehead offers just enough glint and gets the flie right down where you need it. For darker days I would use a darker marabou and for sunnier days white and yellow marabou seem to work better."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tunghead Marabou Muddler
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1