Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gift-Boxed Brass Compass

Handcrafted of solid brass, this exquisite compass was inspired by an antique pocket model, once commonly used by geologists and engineers, and harkens back to the days when the instruments of exploration were works of art as well as survival tools. Beautifully presented in a handsome rosewood box, it is sure to be a well-received gift. This compass is functional but not scientifically calibrated for field use. Can be express shipped after personalization. Personalize the box lid with laser engraving, up to 20 letters. Imported. 1½"H x 3½"L x 3¼"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Review 1 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leadership Gift,
January 8, 2010
By: TraumaGuy
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased a compass for each of the individuals on my leadership team and had them engraved. They turned out absolutely beautiful. This is a great gift to help motivate an executive team to remember to plot their course and navigate through change. The reviews I received from everyone who received the compass as a gift were terrific.
As a side note the turn around time from the order of 11 compasses with engraved boxes was remarkably short, less than 10 days! Also, the woman who took my order over the phone was very detail oriented and careful to make sure all names were spelled correctly. She was top notch. Kudos Orvis!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Craftsmanship!,
April 17, 2014
By: Gone2india
from Alberta, Canada
"I recently purchased the Gift Boxed Solid Brass Compass for my son as a gradution gift.
He loves history and is in the process of navigating his way through law school. The fine attention to historical detail, exceptional quality (solid brass) and the personalized Rosewood Box made it the perfect gift and commemorative keepsake.
"
Review 3 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gift,
April 7, 2014
By: binoaw
from Laredo Texas
"It was a wonderful gift to my son. In Boy Scouts he just learned to use the compass."
Review 4 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Graduation gift,
February 14, 2014
By: SpookyCat
"I bought this as a graduation gift for my brother when he graduated from the University. I was extremely happy with how well it looked. A great gift."
Review 5 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
January 15, 2014
By: BrianV
from Colorado
"This compass makes an excellent gift! My father loved it and the personalized engraving made it special. The craftsmanship is solid and it does actually work, although it might take some time to figure out how to properly use it. It is made of wood and brass, no cheap plastic or anything of the sort at all! Also, the packaging used to ship it in ensured it arrived in perfect condition. It's a great item to keep in the family and pass down."
Review 6 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thoroughly Satisfied,
January 15, 2014
By: Irises
from Woodbridge, VA
"The quality of this compass captured my attention in my local Orvis store. The fact that I could have it personalized for my son had great appeal. He recently commissioned as an Army officer and was headed to a faraway post. I gave him this compass with this note: "So you can always find your way home." He loved the gift!"
Review 7 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recipient LOVED this!,
December 30, 2013
By: GramaGrama
from Rochester Hills, MI
"I got this for a friend who has everything. He thought it was an awesome gift. It is very unusual and a great conversation piece."
Review 8 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Military Retirement Gift,
December 22, 2013
By: WhoWillLead
"This exquisite compass is a great desk top momento of a career of service to country maintaining a consistent ethical heading. I have given 5 of these and each person has claimed it was the finest gift they have received. Putting a small brass plate on the box allows you to personalize"
Review 9 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Gift Idea,
December 9, 2013
By: NavyChief
from Plymouth Meeting, PA
"I purchased two of these compasses as gifts for my sponsors during my promotion to chief petty officer in the US NAVY. I found them to be ideal because of the classic look and use by seasoned navigators on old ships. Needless to say, my two sponsors were floored by the gifts, that I did have engraved with their ranks, rates, and names. I would recommend this to anyone as a great gift idea for anyone who collects classic nautical antiques and artifacts."
Review 10 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product, Great Service,
January 30, 2013
By: CompassGiver
"The compass is great. (Needs better instructions, but that's a nit) The quality is outstanding for a nice graduation gift.
The engraving was done wrong - twice, but Orvis stayed on it and expedited their reshipment each time so we were able to get in time. Courteous service that got the job done... Thanks!"
Review 11 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
February 16, 2011
By: Fastwalker
from Atlanta, Georgia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for my boss for Christmas 2010, and he was impressed. Other employees gave pens, the usual boss gifts, but my boss kept playing with this compass as other gifts were given to him. He is an engineer and I know he enjoyed playing with it. Of course it is not to be used for field use, but it is certainly something that goes on his desk and my name comes up every time someone asks about it. My suggestion is if you like your job and your boss likes to play, this is for you!"
Review 12 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
January 7, 2011
By: KevPT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Got this gift for my newborn son as a memory of his 1st Christmas. Very cool compass. Big and weighs a ton, so don't expect to take it camping. But should look nice on a desk or mantle."
Review 13 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 6, 2011
By: moondawg
from Georgia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I gave this to my husband for Christmas. He has had boats for the past 17 years, so I always try to get him something special that pertains to this. He loves it, and thinks it is great. Wonderful gift!"
Review 14 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Distinguished Gift,
January 3, 2011
By: JPB1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this compass as a gift for the best man in my wedding. He is an outdoorsman and frequent trekker himself, and I wanted to give him something more special than a traditional wedding gift. When I presented it to him, he was very impressed and very moved. The compass was beautiful, with excellent workmanship and a sturdy, timeless feel. And the engraved box makes it even more special. I plan on buying one for myself (and anyone else I may need a distinguished gift for)."
Review 15 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back in time,
January 2, 2011
By: Uher
from New Jersey
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The compass was an excellent value and quite well received as a gift. High quality, it looked and felt like an instrument from the 1800s, a bit of history in your hands. However the personalization was not centered when it was engraved on the box's lid. Close enough at a casual glance, but not exact. The receipient did not notice but having been in the construction trade I did. A minor flaw I wish wasn't there."
Review 16 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby's present,
January 1, 2011
By: nipp3r
from Point Edward, Ontario Canada
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Arrived promptly. Excellent packaging. The quality wa very good and best of all my husband loved it. Superior product.."
Review 17 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Uniqueness,
January 1, 2011
By: BuzzM
"Love many aspects of the Orvis products. From the entire Fly Fishing Line of products to the Men's clothing line. However, the unique products like the Brass Compass and others from Orvis, makes your company so special.
Love the product, love the company.
"
Review 18 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bottom of a wet boot,
January 1, 2011
By: Pouzo
from Boston, MA
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I was profoundly disapointed with this product as the brass was very tarnished to the point of rust. I spent 2 hours disassembling the box so I could polish the brass fittings and make it somewhat presentable as a gift. If I had more time, I would have returned this item, and made another selection for a Christmas gift to my brother. It appeared as though it may have been stored at the bottom of a wet boot."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 7, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit as they were so disappointed with the tarnish on the brass. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
November 29, 2010
By: Done
from Meridian, Idaho
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Better than expected. Heavy, quality built. Wish it had more instructions (with pictures) for use. A great piece to have."
Review 20 for Gift-Boxed Brass Compass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product,
June 16, 2010
By: JimV
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this item for an employee as a retirement gift. All the folks on our team love it! It's very high quality, engraving was perfect -- a great gift for anyone!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.