Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Natural Bone Flatware

Use and enjoy this elegant, affordable stainless-steel flatware with natural bone handles every day. Service for eight contains knives, forks, tablespoons, teaspoons, and salad forks. For best results, hand wash. 40-piece set.
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Natural Bone Flatware
Review 1 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks Good But A disapointment,
June 15, 2014
By: CharlieG
from Pennsylvaina
"I love the look but after 6 months the bone handles started falling off about half the set.
Luckily I could epoxy them back on which lasted longer.
"
Review 2 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
silverware makes any meal an occasion,
May 2, 2014
By: wolfeborite
from Wolfeboro New Hampshire
"This silverware set is a joy to look at and a pleasure to use. This set will fit with all home decors."
Review 3 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for entertaining,
February 10, 2014
By: DrewP
from St. Louis
"My wife liked this flatware so much she bought another set."
Review 4 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
out door dining,
January 28, 2014
By: Busky
from Studley,Va
"Looked for rustic flatware for out door dining. Decides on the natural bone flatware from Orvis. We are vey pleased with the look and quality."
Review 5 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
January 17, 2014
By: DrewP
from St. Louis
"Product came just as described.
The flatware looks beautiful and will be nice to entertain with,
"
Review 6 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Complementary for a more rustic table setting,
December 27, 2013
By: luvtogarden
from Vancouver Island, BC
"I have fond memories of the bone cutlery settings as a child and so took a chance and ordered these. Nicely weighted and a more contemporary rustic look , can't wait to use."
Review 7 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value.,
December 26, 2013
By: Greencarp71
from Tallahassee, Florida
"I like this silverware; it has a good heft and balance in the hand that is hard to find. The bone inlaid handles looks fabulous. A good value."
Review 8 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distinctive,
December 23, 2013
By: MGDII
from Southport, CT
"This flatware is unique and handsome. Great style without being too formal."
Review 9 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did't last,
November 22, 2012
By: ElbertonHunter
from Elberton, Ga
"I am truly surprised to read all the good reviews. We bought our first set and the bone started falling apart within a couple of months. Orvis graciously exchanged them for a new set and said to hand wash them. The second set lasted a little longer but almost all of the handles have been glued. I don't see how anyone could use these for any period of time and not have a problem. They are great to look at but not practical."
Review 10 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pretty but poor quality,
August 22, 2011
By: DSInc
"We ordered a set for our cabin. We wanted something rustic and saw plenty of less expensive flatware other places.
We decided to spend a bit more and get something good..so we purchased these.
They functioned well for about 6 months until we noticed a goldish tint appearing where the handle meets the knife, fork or spoon portion. This tint increased as we continued to use the flatware.
It appears that the silver finish wearing off the pieces in this area.
We had had other flatware sets costing much less and lasting longer and looking better upon their retirement than this set does. (at just about 1.5 years old)
The bone is pretty and the heft is good, the finish is awful.
For $200 you can do much better elsewhere."
Review 11 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique and and natural,
April 21, 2011
By: Virginia
from Midlothian, VA.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have two sets of these. When I have dinner parties I always get compliments on them.
They allow me to have a nice table setting without bringing out the silver. The weight is perfect, not too heavy and the different colorations of the bone are really interesting. I use the dishwasher and hand wash these depending on how I feel. I never use the dry cycle on my dishwasher as I think it might dry out the bone.
If you like a natural, not fussy look to your flatware, these will do nicely.
"
Review 12 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful flatware,
January 8, 2011
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"These are really beautiful pieces with a nice weight to them. I haven't washed or used them yet as I just unwrapped them. The weld line is visible which surprised me. It should appear seamless. They have a beautiful shine and the bone is smooth and very handsome. I had to contact Orvis to replace a few pieces where the seam was defective but they were very quick to so do with no hassles. I had a high quality set of Oneida for 2 yrs that showed blemishes and rust that made them awful to use. Oneida wouldn't replace them since it was more than 1 piece per setting plus the receipt was long gone. I'll handwash these however in order to keep them longer than 2 yrs!"
Review 13 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not entirely happy,
December 26, 2010
By: hayman159
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"after a year of light use, the handles are de-laminating. beyond this failure, we have enjoyed design and handling"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 7, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the laminate has already coming off the handles of the flatware. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our home items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service forwarded the customer's feedback to our product developers for possible future improvements to the item. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 14 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
November 25, 2010
By: yrag
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We purchased this set of flatware about four years ago and were so pleased we purchased another set for our friends cabin table setting. Both us and our dear friends have been very pleased with this product and have had no problems to date, and yes we often wash them in the dishwasher even though I ask family members not to and to wash them by hand."
Review 15 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this flatware,
October 7, 2010
By: SKate
from Ellsworth, KS
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received a set of the improved (dishwasher-safe) flatware several years ago and have not had any problems with the pieces at all. I have always put them in the dishwasher and not one piece has fallen apart, though I think just to make sure they have a long life I will start handwashing. They are so beautiful, it's worth the extra effort to handwash, if necessary."
Review 16 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flatware,
December 20, 2009
By: Maggie46
"I purchased this bone handled flatware several years ago when it was offered in a 24 piece set. I always hand wash it and it has lasted pretty well. All except for 1 fork and 1 knife that the bone fell off the handles. I glued them back on but have to re-glue them almost every time I use them. I would like to replace these pieces but cannot afford the 40 piece set that is $249.00 to replace 2 pieces. I really do love the look and feel of them and would recommend them."
Review 17 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good to the Bone,
December 15, 2008
By: Gentleman
from NJ
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ok, I am in Orthopedics so I like bone! These are the best compromise between state dinner ware and casual. Wonderful long lasting looks actually change color with age so the old world look is there. Each piece is hand made which adds a bit of curiosity as well. Do not advise putting in dishwasher."
Review 18 for Natural Bone Flatware
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Necessity,
October 10, 2007
By: Julie
"I, recently, purchased the bone flatware, a service for eight. It is, absolutely, gorgeous! When I set the table with this flatware, NEVER, do I go without compliments on it. Even my husband, who would ordinarily not notice silverware, thinks it is beautiful. I was so pleasantly surprised when he told me he really liked the flatware, and he was glad that I purchased it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Natural Bone Flatware
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1