Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe

Completely updated and improved to give you all the support and stability of the latest long-distance hiking boots, plus greater comfort than any wading shoe available. The flow-through tongue, foot bed, and arch construction keep debris out and drain the boot incredibly fast. Our exclusive speed-lacing system with one-pull lace locks holds your laces fast in place, so they stay snug and save you the time and hassle of tightening laces throughout the day. The most rugged, non-shrink materials hold up to the hardest fishing use and keep their fit and shape. The best wading shoe money can buy. In tan. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
4
28 of 40(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Review 1 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sturdy, flexible,
June 15, 2011
By: joc664
"Good sturdy shoe, but with enough flexibility to feel the bottom contour/rocks as you move. Great when you are walking a ways."
Review 2 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mine Are Holding Up,
May 14, 2011
By: JohnJA
from California
"I just started my second season with these boots. They are lightweight, very comfortable and provide very good support.
Every other pair of boots I have used had a continuos felt from the toe to the heel. These have a different material under the arch. I believe this design difference makes them a tad more flexible in a good way and makes footing more secure. The felt soles end flush with the plastic parts of the sole. The sole under the arch has an edge that I use to grip logs, and the edges of boulders.
They are lighter yet more supportive than the patagonia' s that I had been using previously. The mesh sides drain quickly, and I find the lace locks very convenient, and I do not see any signs of premature wear on the laces. I have read most of the other reviews. it's hard to believe that everyone is talking about the same boots. I took another look at mine. The uppers show no sign of delaminating (like my patagonia's did) and the laces look fine."
Review 3 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wading Boot on the Planet,
April 30, 2011
By: BoiseStateBronco
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have owned this boot for nearly 6 years now and I am going to order several pairs as a backup. This boot has exceeded my expectations as I have not been kind to them. They see harsh winter conditions and have been with me to Alaska several times. After 6 years, the felt is just now beginning to come off. Thank you for building such an awesome wading boot Orvis!"
Review 4 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor construction,
March 15, 2011
By: Backwoods54
from Parkesburg, PA
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"These are my second pair of Henry Forks and they are as poorly constructed as the first pair. I exchanged the first pair after the felt came off the bottom and the boot material deteriorated after one year. I returned the boots for a new pair and a year later the felt is coming off again. I love Orvis products but not the boots. They look great but if you fish a lot these boots will not hold up. I need boots that will not come apart after one year of heavy fishing."
Review 5 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Boots,
April 19, 2010
By: AshevilleTroutBum
from Asheville, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought these boots last year (Oct. '09) and they have worked very well. They have excellent support and grip slippery rocks very well. They also drain quickly.
I have not had any of the problems noted in a few of the other posts (fabric peeling or worn-out laces). I'm not crazy about the lace-locks, but it's not that big of a deal - if the laces do wear, then I'll just get some more.
I also bought some rubber slip-on ice-cleats to protect the felt when I hike in to a spot, or walk along a road. I removed the metal studs, leaving only the rubber bottom to protect the felt soles."
Review 6 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
February 8, 2010
By: Anonymous
from White Plains, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great shoe, so comfortable and warm in cold water.
Really feels amazing and supports you ankles very well. No more pain to my ankles when walking trought rocks and woods.
"
Review 7 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
November 21, 2009
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchsed these boots to go with the Pro Guide Waders. I am only fortunate enough to be able to get on the river a half of dozen or so times a year, so I can attest to the longevity of these boots, but I can say unequivocally that they are confortable and provide excellent footing in the water. After one full season, they are holding up well with no problems whatsoever."
Review 8 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
henry fork wading boots,
November 10, 2009
By: tfolarry
from Germantown,Tn.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I have been fishing wearing these boots for a year or so and are pleased with the comfort and durability. We have had no problems and do expect some normal wear and tear to eventually occur. We are pleased with our purchase."
Review 9 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's the fuss?,
October 26, 2009
By: Calcasieu1
from SW LA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've read a lot of negative reviews on this boot, while trying to buy a second pair for when I stack up the wool socks. I wade for miles in Louisiana saltwater over razor sharp oyster beds, then walk back through the marsh along the bank to the boat that's littered with hurricane debris. I haven't had the first problem with mine??? Although, I will have to let the Orvis reps know that the reviews have given me some serious reservations on that new pair. I'll probably go with a Simms now that Orvis doesn't offer anything in a rubber sole. The felt just tracks mud into my boat after each wade. Definitely not catering to the massive Gulf Coast wading crowd. However, the pair of Henry's Forks I do have, are great!"
Review 10 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
October 18, 2009
By: DonT
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I owned a pair of Orvis Clearwaters and after about three months the stitching started to come out. No problem, they weren't all that expensive and I could use them for back ups. I went back to my Orvis shop and decided on the Henrys Fork II with studded felt because it looked liked it would hold up to some rugged conditions.
The boot did prove to be very comfortable during long days on the stream.
The first thing I noticed was the wear on the laces. The guides are sharp and several pair of laces have been purchased and I always carry extra to the stream.
After about 8 months the webbing for water drainage was shot. Sand and small gravel would enter the shoe.
Shortly after this the felt soles started to separate from the bottom of the boot.
Most of my equipment is Orvis and I am very happy with that equipment. However, this boot has proven to be very disappointing. I am now in the process of researching other boots before winter steelheading.
I recommended these boots to a friend who bought a pair in PA. last year. He is now experiencing the same problems.
Photos attached."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wayyy overpriced, underperforms,
October 7, 2009
By: TANGLER
from Boulder, CO
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I got about 9 months of hard use before having to bail on them.
Firstly, the Orvis salesman told me that the split felt sole on the bottom would flex and effectively prevent snow from building up (a concern I voiced when purchasing). This turned out to be a false statement which put a very bitter taste in my mouth right off the bat.
Secondly, I have had a shoe lace bust on three occasions out in the middle of no where while hiking and fishing. It seems that something about the metal loops eats through laces. This is extremely frustrating and is not something I need to be worrying about out on the water.
Thirdly, the shoe just isn't made of tough materials. The thin black webbing on the instep became ripped and tattered pretty quickly.
I will say that the shoe is pretty comfortable, and the locking mechanism for the laces at the top is a good idea, but overall, the Henry's Fork II is simply overpriced and under performs."
Review 12 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wading Shoes,
September 29, 2009
By: Pose
from Dayton, Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These boots were on sale when I purchased my ProGuide 3's. I have a wide foot and these boots are extremely comfortable. I like the locked feature for the laces. They are sturdy and give me good support. What else can you ask for? The price was too good to be true."
Review 13 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a deal!,
September 16, 2009
By: mrweekend
from Bedford, Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought these boots to go with My new Pro Guide 3 waders. These boots made my old boots feel like clown shoes! Lots of support, good footing and great price. What more can I say?"
Review 14 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Worst Orvis Purchase Ever,
August 16, 2009
By: Steflaf
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My wife and I are fully equiped with Orvis product but thoose boots are the worst Purchase I ever did. Yes, they are confortable and good looking but the laces and the soles are very poor quality. After a couple of fishing trip booth were very worns.
I need to buy another pair of boots at the end of the season and I'm questionning myself !!!!
Sorry, but Orvis should retire this product."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical TeamSeptember 21, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the magnet was not strong enough to hold his net. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our items. Orvis passed these comments along to the developer of this product for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 15 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Think Twice Before Buying,
August 4, 2009
By: fishingguy
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Very poor quality boot. Quality so poor that Orvis is making a mistake by marketing them as their best. I was considering a Helios rod, but not now! Have had mine for one season and I don't fish more than 3 times a month. As others have noted....1. coating on upper material is coming off.....2. felt is peeling off the bottom of the boot....3. boots go through laces like crazy."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical TeamSeptember 21, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the multiple problems they experienced with these wading boots. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback and passed these comments along to the developer of this product for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 16 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than ever,
May 31, 2009
By: Teflon
from Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I still have a pair of the original Henry's Fork shoes that have lasted 8 years now of harsh use and the only real signs of wear are a couple of missing drain eyelets and worn laces. I bought a pair of these to have when those fail and started wearing them to break them in and they are better than ever. The support, comfort, and fit is what you'd expect in a good quality hiking boot and all this with waders on too! I hope they hold up as well as the old ones do and if so they will again prove to be an outstanding value."
Review 17 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laces,
May 25, 2009
By: Canes
from Jackson, Wy
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I used these boots quite a bit last summer and fall.
They are extremely comfortable (more so than the previous model). However the laces are an issue. They do not last long, maybe 15 days. The store I purchased these from (Jackson) gave me some extra laces. However, I have not heard anything from Orvis as to what can be done to improve the laces. For example we have another lace that will not shred. I don't think you should go out fishing and have to give a thought to "did I bring an extra pair of laces".
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with older boots,
May 16, 2009
By: MdSpringCreeks
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought a pair of these about 5 years ago, and have been very happy with them. I haven't had any of the quality problems reported in several of the more recent reviews. My original laces show no sign of wearing out. Orvis is known for its service above all else, so hopefully the problems have or will be worked out soon.
I was very happy to find decent boots that go up to 15, which is what I need. Not many other choices at that size. Also happy to see that they are still offered in 15; hoping they'll still be when these wear out (long way to go).
I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and am not steady on my feet. The good support and protection of these boots helps me greatly with these issues."
Review 19 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shreds laces,
May 12, 2009
By: FishOnJim
from Kirkland, WA
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"After only 3 times out fishing the laces where totally shredded on these boots. This looked to me like it was going to be an on-going problem as the eyelets seem to have sharp edges. I took these back to the local Orvis store, where I bought them to return them. I had to argue with the salesman to even except the return as he tried to convince me that this is normal. This experience has left me very disappointed in Orvis quality and customer service. I am however very happy with my new Simms boots."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 28, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the laces on his boots failed prematurely. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business and states that we will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Orvis also apologized that this customer’s return was not handled properly and without question. We thanked the customer for this feedback, as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. Orvis Customer Service forwarded these comments on to the product developer for review.
Review 20 for Henry's Fork II Premium Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Top O' the Line?,
April 21, 2009
By: fishPgh
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I purchased Henrys Fork boots in the fall of 08. I figured I couldn't go wrong with top of the line Orvis. I don't get to fish often and since then I've worn them 8-9 times max. I don't have tons of disposable income and I've taken care of them, rinsing them with fresh water after each use. Gotta' say I'm less than thrilled. Whatever it is that coats the white base layer of the uppers is delaminating and cracking in spots, in addition to wearing off after not so serious abrasion in not so demanding wading. Additionally, there are now several loose threads floating around inside and truthfully I'm afraid to pull on them. Short story is they're not going to hold up as you'd expected top o' the line Orvis to do. The reason I didn't give them 1 star is beause they are comfortable and the insole filter to keep sand away from your waders was a stroke of genius. I was thinking I'd step up to an Orvis TLS this year but, regrettably, I'm going to rethink that now."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the Nubuck material is peeling off of the boots and for the loose threads in the boots. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our items. Orvis passed this feedback along to the developer of this product for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.