Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Squirrel Brand® Mix

A favorite in our retail stores, this savory, spiced mixed nuts gift goes pretty quickly once a can is opened! Made just for Orvis, this exceptionally flavorful nut mix combines imported cashews, pepitas, California almonds, sunflower meats, and Virginia peanuts. The mix is kettle roasted and finished with our specially prepared sesame sticks and just the right blend of spices. Our spiced nut mix is ideal for bringing as a gift to cocktail parties or any holiday get-together. Whenever it's in the house, it gets eaten immediately! 36oz., 2½lbs. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Review 1 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift,
January 15, 2014
By: thewindowlady
from Commerce City,CO
"great product,fresh taste, described accuratly,fast shipping, fair pricing would recommend to friends"
Review 2 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No nuts in the nut mix,
June 28, 2013
By: Dianeg18
"Packaging was beautiful but the mix is only ~20% nuts. The rest is carby pieces of fried/ crouton-like nibbles."
Review 3 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nuts,
December 25, 2012
By: SaySay
from Spartanburg,SC
"My husband loves these. We get him a can every Christmas"
Review 4 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect - mix,
November 11, 2012
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"You will need a soup spoon as the combination is just right for snacking. Lightly salted and low on peanuts, thankfully. Not your standard party mix but tasty refinement."
Review 5 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Less Nuts, More Fillers,
December 29, 2011
By: kar3n
from Huffs Church, Pa
"I purchased 2 of these Squirrel Brands Mixes for gifts. My husband and nephew were disappointed, looking for more nuts and less fillers.
Although tasty, the product was high in fat , but more of a concern is the saturated fat content of 10%. So it was a tasty snack with nuts in it, it was not a healthy purchase. I should have done more research. I did call in with questions and feel I was misled or misguided.
"
Review 6 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent mix,
December 27, 2011
By: Tigger1
"One of the best snack mixes around. Quality ingredients."
Review 7 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just okay,
December 10, 2009
By: Betherann
from montana
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"These nuts were very salty, and not at all spiced. They did not taste bad, but they were not what I expected. I thought this would be a savory nut blend with spices, not just extra salt.
Also, the packaging leaves something to be desired. It's a massive can, and while it's attractive, it does not lend itself to keeping the nuts fresh. I removed the nuts to a sealing tupperware immediately and recycled the can. I much preferred the packaging on your Jack Daniels praline pecans, which wrapped the nuts in smaller groups to preserve freshness."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 21, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the customer's disappointment. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback, as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve. Customer Service forwarded the customer's suggestions to the buyers of the product for possible future improvements to the item.
Review 8 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tasty!,
November 13, 2009
By: Hawkman
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This isn't your regular "Gorp" with candies and such. The balance of sweet and salty was perfect for me...not too much of either. Good with a cold beer or a cup of coffee."
Review 9 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Addictive!,
May 16, 2009
By: Sandra
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This mix is awesome! You just can't stop eating it! I had to finally hide the container from my husband so he wouldn't eat it all!"
Review 10 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best snack ever,
February 9, 2008
By: bosco123
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"Spent Christmas 2007 in Vermont. We were gifted Orvis Squirrel Brand nut mix. Once you open that can it is hard to stop eating this awesome snack."
Review 11 for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Variety of Nuts Ever,
September 21, 2007
By: Skip
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"My wife and I purchased our first can about two years ago at the new store in Pigeon Forge Tenn. Since then we have at least two cans in the house at all times. If you like healthy snacks the Orvis Squirrel Brand Mix is the best you will ever eat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Squirrel Brand® Mix
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1