Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap

A handsome combination of weather resistance, classic looks, and thornproof durability. Also coordinates well with all Barbour jackets. Snap bill. Pure cotton. Cold sponge, no soap. Imported.Sizes: 6⅞, 7, 7⅛, 7¼, 7⅜, 7½, 7⅝.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Review 1 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cap,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"I am a huge fan of Barbour clothing and these caps are great for use with the waxed cotton jackets and the waterproof sweaters. Light and easy to pack, I think that they look much better than baseball caps on me."
Review 2 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for Rain,
September 30, 2014
By: Sceutch
"The fabric is water proof (or at least water resistant) and it matches other Barbour rain gear. The quality is good and so is the price. It's about as stylish as rain gear can be..."
Review 3 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
September 18, 2014
By: Posterfan
"The fit is first rate, it keeps out rain and is warm in winter. Unfortunately I had to buy another because I left my first one in a NYC taxi"
Review 4 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flat hat by Barbour,
February 20, 2014
By: Dgee
from Trenton, mi.
"Nicely constructed, light weight & water repellent. Good looks and fit. Recommended."
Review 5 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential replacement,
January 16, 2014
By: DennisRay
from Cape Cod, MA
"Great cap. I lost an earlier model during a business trip. I found this model on the Orvis website. It was delivered promptly and has become my favorite cap. I wear it whenever the weather is inclement and don't bother with an umbrella. The fit is perfect and it has a classic style. Even my wife likes it."
Review 6 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Cap,
December 21, 2013
By: TMike
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I purchased this cap to wear with my Orvis Soft Top Jacket, also navy blue. I wore both on a Rhine River cruise in late April early May. The cap was a perfect addition to the jacket and kept my bald head warm and dry."
Review 7 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with my purchase,
December 10, 2013
By: Roylee
from Bensalem, PA
"The fit for me is perfect. This is the ideal cap to wear casually or when there is moisture in the air. I remained dry and comfortable in the rain and have also ordered the waxed baseball cap."
Review 8 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best cap, Best Service!!,
December 8, 2013
By: Ladd
from Franklin, North Carolina
"First, the phone associate that assisted me in my purchase was excellent. I was not an easy customer. My computer ordering skills are zero and my hat size falls right in the middle of two listed so I was unsure, but she guided me to the right size. Second, the cap is great! It fits like a glove and the first day it proved itself in a winter storm in the N.C. Mtns.. It stayed dry and kept my head warm. What a cap!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Item,
October 18, 2013
By: UGA89
from Athens, GA
"I needed a new cap to go with a coat I purchased late last winter. Orvis had a special on shipping. The product is excellent and Orvis did an excellent job with the process of purchasing."
Review 10 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Put The Lid On It,
June 26, 2013
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"My wife has been encouraging me to get a flat cap. I guess she likes the way they look. I've been holding off to find one I really like and found this one on the Orvis site while looking at Barbour jackets. The size is spot on, as is the quality you expect from Orvis and Barbour. Great for both casual wear and upland hunting."
Review 11 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
May 1, 2013
By: actionjackson
from Lehigh Valley, PA
"Purchased hat to match my navy colored Barbour coat. I have folded it into a side pocket and used it during poor weather. It fit well and held up to the elements. I even put my hood over the hat for added neck protection during two heavy rain storms."
Review 12 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Iconic English cap outsourced.,
April 8, 2013
By: mostcasualguy
from Baton Rouge, LA
"I have had a couple of Barbour's snap brim caps over the years and loved them. I like the current offering but I don't love it. The cap is well made, the waxed cotton fabric seems the same and the staff at my local Orvis store could not be more helpful. What has changed is the fit. My old caps were generously sized (I bought a size smaller than my normal hat size) and deep, for a better purchase on my rather large head in the wind. The only explanation I can offer is that my previous caps were marked "Made in England" and my new one is made elsewhere. I would feel better about my new cap if the price reflected the lower costs of production."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solution To That Pesky Hood,
April 2, 2013
By: commart
from Hagerstown, Maryland
"Barbour got it right with the dark blue product color, essentially in the U.S. mid-Atlantic leveraging its line away from the hunter-green-and-white world of the barns and out on to the highways and cities with really one of the best cool season rain and travel technologies -- mid-weight "waxed" (oiled) cotton. Coat (mine's a Bedale) hood snaps may / should become zipper teeth, but while that chat rages somewhere in the design corner, the "Barbour Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap" in true sizing fits wonderfully!
Especially appreciated: the snap-brim that lets the back come down a bit for extra security.
Also worth a remark: this thing stuffs into a jacket pocket quite well, meaning for me that it goes where the jacket goes, and the jacket goes everywhere in cool season in cloudy to rainy conditions.
Also, for photographers who still use real cameras with viewfinders, turn the cap around. There's no better tool for working outdoor, keeping the head covered from sun or rain, and working."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Waxed Cotton Flat Cap,
March 25, 2013
By: FireFly2
"This is a must hat to wear while fly fishing. Have owned one of these hats for years, really enjoy the fine quality and style of Barbour."
Review 15 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A hat with character.,
December 29, 2012
By: MontanaSky
"A Barbour classic. Great fit and a classic look with any of the Barbour jackets -or with any jacket for that matter. Simply a great waxed-cotton flat cap."
Review 16 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A welcome Christmas Present,
December 27, 2012
By: Metromart
from Weymouth UK
"Well made, waterproof, comfortable and stylish. What more could you ask for?"
Review 17 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Righting the rain,
December 9, 2012
By: Malcontent
from Hudson, NY
"This cap is perfect for wet weather. it keeps your head warm and dry even in the worst weather.
Stylish and practical. It's a must for any outdoorsman.
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart and dry,
November 13, 2012
By: mjp1
"First day I wore this was a cool drizzley day in the field, it worked well as I do not like wearing jacket hoods. Only disappointing thing was it's made in China, too bad for a British icon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Great Cap at a Good Price,
October 2, 2012
By: Mac55
from Grafton, MA
"Barbour makes great products and this cap is no exception. It is lightweight, comfortable, and sheds rain very well. I really appreciate that it is available in true hat sizes; I take a 7 1/4 and this fits perfectly. Ordinarily a medium is just a bit small, and a large is just a bit, well, large. No such problems with this cap, even in a strong wind!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Waxed-Cotton Flat Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great alternative to a hood,
April 21, 2012
By: jsdme
from Bristol, UK
"After having a Barbour jacket with a hood for the last 22 years it was time to replace it.
Barbour was the first choice for it quality, performance and long lasting.
I had a hood with the last jacket but decided not to go for a hood with this one, mainly due to walking the dog my hood often Comes detached on one side and it's more awkward looking to the side and the head turns inside the hood so I opted for a cap as a change.
After an evening walk where the heavens opened I am pleased, I could see all around and the head stayed dry without the hat coming off at all.
Although I miss the protection a hood gives to the neck, I'm pleased with the cap so far and would buy again.
"