Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves

Waterproof, breathable protection against the elements with deerskin leather palms and trim, a microfiber shell, and warm synthetic Primaloft® insulation. Moisture-wicking brushed tricot lining. Hidden stretch fleece cuff keeps out the cold. In olive/brown. Imported.Sizes S(8½), M(9), L(9½), XL(10).
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Review 1 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gloves,
February 15, 2014
By: MatthewArnold
from NYC
"This is my second pair of these fine gloves....after many years of constant winter wear walking my dogs the first pair were a bit tired but still useable. Good for cold weather--freezing and below. Solidly water resistant."
Review 2 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fit,
February 13, 2014
By: JeanW8n2
from Minnesota
"The gloves fit well but I was hoping they'd be warmer in the subzero temps."
Review 3 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great gloves,
February 7, 2014
By: Dan68
"These gloves are exceptionally warm and appear to be of high quality. They are a bit bulky on the fingers but for shoveling snow or driving they are perfect."
Review 4 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SMKLexington,
January 28, 2014
By: SMKLexington
from Lexington, MA
"Truly first-rate gloves: warm, pliable, and very well made."
Review 5 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gloves,
January 22, 2014
By: KathyLands
from Peekskill, NY
"Bought these for my husband so his hands would stay warm this winter. He loves them, and they absolutely work great, especially when he is using the snowblower!"
Review 6 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Satisfied,
December 23, 2013
By: JPPCRTT
from New England
"I have had these gloves for about 3 years now. As others have noted they are very warm and dry. I only need to wear them when it is in the 20’s or below (in the Boston area) so they have not gotten daily use but appear to be standing up well.
I like the looks but would suggest adding Navy Blue as an additional color option for the fabric portion. (I’ll take a pair of them in XL please!)
"
Review 7 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not quite right,
December 9, 2013
By: infonet
"gloves werent quite up to snuff - too round and bunchy at the fingertips, sent them back for a refund"
Review 8 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm comfortable gloves,
December 7, 2013
By: Lakeswim
from New England
"These gloves were bought for walking dogs on cold days in the snow belt area of upstate NY. They have a warm fleece liner with a external glove of supple leather palms and an upper hand of an attractive material. They were bought as a gift and I think the recipient will enjoy them but wish they were offered in women's sizes. I bought the medium and the fingers are long on me - I usually wear a 7-1/2 to 8 glove."
Review 9 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great features but.....,
September 14, 2013
By: sanlee
from Buffalo New York
"I have been impressed enough with these gloves to be ordering another pair. The warmth, light weight and dexterity are great. Now for the 'but' - they have lasted me two seasons. The stitching on the left index finger has broken, and created about a one inch open seam. The primaloft has flattened on the palm side of the fingers. At the end of last season, I could feel the cold creeping in. I wear these every day to walk the dog and these are the only gloves that have kept my hands warm when the temps are below 25 degrees- I usually have to get the mittens out then. So because I've gotten used to the dexterity and the light weight of these, I'm wiling to buy another pair."
Review 10 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase Ever,
February 21, 2013
By: DeVMaal
from New York City
"I can not add more of the good things that others have said without just repeating.
A few years ago I lost these gloves on the train.
My reorder could not come quick enough. Still have them now and they are as worm as ever."
Review 11 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gloves!,
March 10, 2012
By: ChangeAgency
from St. Paul, MN
"I bought these gloves for my drives to Duluth in the winter time. Temperatures can be seriously below zero with significant wind chills. Very warm but very light weight. Snug fitting with nicely fitted fingers. Good neutral colors."
Review 12 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good, very warm gloves,
February 11, 2012
By: EnglishSpringerowner
from Detroit, MI
"Today, for the first time this winter, I had opportunity to give a fairly good test of this glove's warmth since it was only 14F this morning - and, yes, as noted in other reviews the glove is a very warm glove. I was out for about a 25 minute walk with my dog on both a cold and windy day, not just a quick walk to the car, and my hands and fingers remained warm for the duration.
I've only had the gloves for about a week and they also seem to be well made. I would prefer a single color glove w/o the contrasting olive/tan colors (thus, the 4 stars), but it's tastefully done in a sporty style and, again, very warm - the most important criterion for winter dog walks."
Review 13 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish it was winter all year long,
December 3, 2011
By: JBServ
from Culver City, CA
"Comfortable, warm, unique looking...couldn't be any happier. Inner cuff helps seal out cold and snow while outer glove extends over sleeve. Not too snug, not too loose...just right."
Review 14 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made and functional,
January 2, 2011
By: maxies
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These gloves were a gift. They loved the sturdiness and well made glove, besides the warmth. The person workds outside on ships and found it to be very warm and comfortable."
Review 15 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Outstanding Gloves,
March 10, 2010
By: JFK927
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These gloves are outstanding!! I can snow blow in -30 degree weather and my hands will be completely warm, plus they don't take on moisture which definitely works well for this activity.
My wife used to run "new" gloves out to me when she noticed me trying to warm my hands while snow blowing, but with these gloves she no longer needs to.
I bought these on sale for around $49 and that is well worth the money, but at full price - I never would have bought them."
Review 16 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good and not so good,
February 28, 2010
By: hman
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Gloves are warm and handsome looking. But they are bulky and tight fitting particularly in the cuff area.
The wrist strap is too short and I finally had to cut them off. I think they might be undersized by the manufacturer. I would recommend this glove but only to people with small hands.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 6, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments about these gloves on to our product developers for review and future product refinements. We want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases—and that's why we offer our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Anything you purchase can be exchanged or returned for a full refund if it fails to meet your expectations.
Review 17 for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big and Warm,
February 17, 2010
By: Quanah
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These gloves look fabulous. The craftsmanship is excellent; materials are very good. The gloves are fairly bulky; it's not easy to do tasks while wearing these. But they are warm, warm, warm."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Deerskin Primaloft® Gloves
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1